9/24 Herman amps 61 +2 67 +4 52 +6 61 +7 61 +8 92 +12 52 stall, advice?

A little nervous about a +2 at 67. Not much wiggle room. Cancelled plans. If someone could chime in with wether I should be doing lc or mc I would really appreciate the input.

@Mandy & Rex (GA) @Angela & Cleo @Bandit's Mom
That +2 is flat with your AMPS. What did you feed to get the bump up if 88 @+1?
ECID. Cleo will usually surf on middle or higher end LC (8%) at 1tsp every hour. What does Herman usually do? What will make you feel more comfortable?
 
Flat low green from pre-amps to +3 is unchartered territory for me, usually he’d have bounced up by now. I know mid-cycle he can be controlled with 12%. I’ve not had a green pre onset yet. I guess today will be a good learning experience.
 
Flat low green from pre-amps to +3 is unchartered territory for me, usually he’d have bounced up by now. I know mid-cycle he can be controlled with 12%. I’ve not had a green pre onset yet. I guess today will be a good learning experience.
Lantus works best at keeping lower numbers low and typically there is less dramatic diving in greens. You cancelled your plans, you can monitor and feed to keep him safe!
 
Lantus works best at keeping lower numbers low and typically there is less dramatic diving in greens. You cancelled your plans, you can monitor and feed to keep him safe!
Yes. +4 is :eek: 52 (confirmed with 2 tests, first time I’ve ever gotten the exact same number twice in a row so I’m grateful for that certainty). He’s very hungry…trying not to let him have too much so I can keep bumping him up.:nailbiting:
 
:nailbiting:My lowest preshot… by far. :D Hope I did the right thing. Stalled 1 hour, after initial drop @+0.15 he seemed stable without food (but no significant rise which made me nervous). I reread the sticky’s…. He does tend to have a late nadir so it does say I need to learn to shoot low. :nailbiting:
You are my hero. I would have been scared to death!:nailbiting:
 
You are my hero. I would have been scared to death!:nailbiting:
Scared me too but I had to make a call and all I could do is refer to the sticky. I’m also desperate to turn around his neuropathy which is getting worse by the day. That said, hind sight is 20/20 and I’m not sure I made the right call. It’s going to be a long day.
 
Scared me too but I had to make a call and all I could do is refer to the sticky. I’m also desperate to turn around his neuropathy which is getting worse by the day. That said, hind sight is 20/20 and I’m not sure I made the right call. It’s going to be a long day.
That's what the stickies are for. Today will be a learning experience. Herman is full of surprises ... he might surprise you with a string of level numbers as a reward for canceling your plans!:cool: Whatever happens, I know you'll keep him safe.:cat::bighug:
 
I was thinking if he was heading back down again vs up (so under 4.4) I’d do 15% and if he was under 3.6 I’d do 25% as we are still a couple hours away from his typical nadir. Too carby?
Whoops forgot to convert :

I was thinking if he was heading back down again vs up (so under 79/4.4) I’d do 15% and if he was under 65/3.6 I’d do 25% as we are still a couple hours away from his typical nadir. Too carby?
 
Whoops forgot to convert :

I was thinking if he was heading back down again vs up (so under 79/4.4) I’d do 15% and if he was under 65/3.6 I’d do 25% as we are still a couple hours away from his typical nadir. Too carby?
You may or may not see substantial BG movement in 30mins from the last test. Every cycle is a learning experience. Not a criticism, I was just curious :)


ETA...all those numbers are still safe :cat:
 
You may or may not see substantial BG movement in 30mins from the last test. Every cycle is a learning experience. Not a criticism, I was just curious :)


ETA...all those numbers are still safe :cat:
He’s at 85 @+5 and fast asleep. I’ll leave him alone as I think he’s heading up, it’s been 1 hour since food. Will test in half hour/45 min or so and feed him then.
 
Excellent And Great Job! Is that next test for Herman or for you;)?
For me. I’m here, didn’t go anywhere :confused: so I’ll track him until usual nadir or he starts bouncing so that I can fill out the spreadsheet and reference it for out next green preshot. :p:D Also he had gotten hc at +4 I’m curious if that’s still artificially inflating his BG. Is there a standard amount of time a food bump influences a number after fed or is it another ecid.. :bookworm: I feel like a scientist.
 
I've been searching the stickies to find this answer but to no avail. I seem to remember ECID BUT generally HC wet lasts about 2 hours. Don't quote me. My memory isn't as sharp as it used to be lol.
 
I've been searching the stickies to find this answer but to no avail. I seem to remember ECID BUT generally HC wet lasts about 2 hours. Don't quote me. My memory isn't as sharp as it used to be lol.
It’s one of those things that I think I’ve read but can’t find for the life of me but his +6 is lower than +5 :eek:so I think it affected him about 1.5 hours. If it even works that way…his nadir is late so who knows what number he’d be at without mc and hc.
 
Look at it this way....its a GORGEOUS stretch of greens:D!
True :D:D:D:D, I am curious though, given today and the amount of intervention, would I shoot that low again? Or is it all circumstantial as in if I can do what I have been doing today and constantly monitor him, go ahead and shoot, otherwise no shoot?
 
True :D:D:D:D, I am curious though, given today and the amount of intervention, would I shoot that low again? Or is it all circumstantial as in if I can do what I have been doing today and constantly monitor him, go ahead and shoot, otherwise no shoot?
If I had to guess, that's exactly what I would do. Very curious to see what the experts say though!

@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
72 @ +6.5 not a huge bump from the 15%. If he drops further at +7 I think I’ll do 15|25% mix (did not feed @+6.5)
 
True :D:D:D:D, I am curious though, given today and the amount of intervention, would I shoot that low again? Or is it all circumstantial as in if I can do what I have been doing today and constantly monitor him, go ahead and shoot, otherwise no shoot?

Long Stretches of Green are ideal! Safe and HEALING numbers are 50-80 on a human meter. Interesting question you ask about shooting low again.
TR Protocol (proven over and over again to be safe and effective at getting kitties regulated, aid in the healing of neuropathy and more) says shoot over 50.

I think that the real questions are (1)how comfortable are you with Herman in greens? (2) What green number has you panicking for the MC/HC? (3) How comfortable are YOU with him earning a reduction by dropping under 50 per TR?

ECID. The general rule of thumb that I've seen posted before and use for myself is:
"Here's my handy dandy cheat sheet for feeding the curve and testing during low numbers:
60 or higher: LC (0-10% carb) + test in an hour
50-59 : MC (11-15% carb) + test every 30 minutes
49 or below: HC (>16% carb) + test every 15-20 minutes and then for two hours after the lowest number appeared until they start going up"

I'm very curious what the more experienced members think about feeding the curve. @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
 
Long Stretches of Green are ideal! Safe and HEALING numbers are 50-80 on a human meter. Interesting question you ask about shooting low again.
TR Protocol (proven over and over again to be safe and effective at getting kitties regulated, aid in the healing of neuropathy and more) says shoot over 50.

I think that the real questions are (1)how comfortable are you with Herman in greens? (2) What green number has you panicking for the MC/HC? (3) How comfortable are YOU with him earning a reduction by dropping under 50 per TR?

ECID. The general rule of thumb that I've seen posted before and use for myself is:
"Here's my handy dandy cheat sheet for feeding the curve and testing during low numbers:
60 or higher: LC (0-10% carb) + test in an hour
50-59 : MC (11-15% carb) + test every 30 minutes
49 or below: HC (>16% carb) + test every 15-20 minutes and then for two hours after the lowest number appeared until they start going up"

I'm very curious what the more experienced members think about feeding the curve. @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
That is SO useful. Ima gonna stick it in my spreadsheet. Thanks.
I feel like I’m actively preventing limes. There have been a few days at this dose that took stretches of 5-6 hours of bumping him up with hourly mc. Am I supposed to ease off on the mc and ‘wait and see” if he goes lime, because maybe he won’t? Or do I keep intervening to keep him at this dose as long as possible.
 
I'm in the car right now but I'll be back at home in about a half hour and I'll be around for you. :bighug:
Stall don't feed and retest. In the meantime think about what is your confidence and comfort shooting number?
Thanks Angela. I’ll test again in 20 minutes, I’m probably not comfortable shooting unless it’s gone up a fair bit closer to 80. I had fed him 3 small purebites while I tested never dreaming he’d still be this low hopefully that’s not a huge impact…
 
Also ….i see people talk about a reduced dose, but can’t find the info in any sticky. Is that an option? Or is that not an option for TR on Lantus. I want to be brave but it took a lot of intervention to keep him out of limes today and this is entirely new territory for me (full day green) I hope an experienced member is along soon who has seen this in various cats and can offer insight.
 
He might drop without food. Get another test now. You can shoot a reduced dose but it will likely still be an active cycle. Looks like he might earn a reduction unless he bounces.
 
He might drop without food. Get another test now. You can shoot a reduced dose but it will likely still be an active cycle. Looks like he might earn a reduction unless he bounces.
Ok so I’ll test now. You are leaning towards a skip or reduce? Do I understand? I’ll reply in a minute with result.
 
Back
Top