My lowest preshot… by far. 
Oh I know. His timing is impeccableCongratulations on shooting your first!
Part of you had to know Herman was going to do something, you have plans today lol.![]()
That +2 is flat with your AMPS. What did you feed to get the bump up if 88 @+1?A little nervous about a +2 at 67. Not much wiggle room. Cancelled plans. If someone could chime in with wether I should be doing lc or mc I would really appreciate the input.
@Mandy & Rex (GA) @Angela & Cleo @Bandit's Mom
Lantus works best at keeping lower numbers low and typically there is less dramatic diving in greens. You cancelled your plans, you can monitor and feed to keep him safe!Flat low green from pre-amps to +3 is unchartered territory for me, usually he’d have bounced up by now. I know mid-cycle he can be controlled with 12%. I’ve not had a green pre onset yet. I guess today will be a good learning experience.
Yes. +4 isLantus works best at keeping lower numbers low and typically there is less dramatic diving in greens. You cancelled your plans, you can monitor and feed to keep him safe!

You are my hero. I would have been scared to death!My lowest preshot… by far.
Hope I did the right thing. Stalled 1 hour, after initial drop @+0.15 he seemed stable without food (but no significant rise which made me nervous). I reread the sticky’s…. He does tend to have a late nadir so it does say I need to learn to shoot low.
![]()

Scared me too but I had to make a call and all I could do is refer to the sticky. I’m also desperate to turn around his neuropathy which is getting worse by the day. That said, hind sight is 20/20 and I’m not sure I made the right call. It’s going to be a long day.You are my hero. I would have been scared to death!![]()
15 mixed with 25 (never cracked in to the 25 before). Feeling pretty anxious but putting on a brave face in front of Herm. Thankfully he came inside and is in his bed for a nap so I dont have to search him out around the farm for each test for the next hour or so.You're doing great! What did you feed? It's for future reference![]()

That's what the stickies are for. Today will be a learning experience. Herman is full of surprises ... he might surprise you with a string of level numbers as a reward for canceling your plans!Scared me too but I had to make a call and all I could do is refer to the sticky. I’m also desperate to turn around his neuropathy which is getting worse by the day. That said, hind sight is 20/20 and I’m not sure I made the right call. It’s going to be a long day.


Thanks, I need to keep hearing that!Friendly reminder...all those numbers are SAFE!![]()
+4.5 79 so got a significant bump from the mc/hc mix. This time I did not feed, will check in half an hour and if it’s dropped a bit lower than I’m comfortable with again I’ll try bumping with just 15%.Herman! Listen to Karen! And yes….I will keep my boy safe, whatever it takes.Thanks, I need to keep hearing that!+4.5 79 so got a significant bump from the mc/hc mix. This time I did not feed, will check in half an hour and if it’s dropped a bit lower than I’m comfortable with again I’ll try bumping with just 15%.

May I ask what that "comfortable" number is?a bit lower than I’m comfortable wit
So True!And yes….I will keep my boy safe

I was thinking if he was heading back down again vs up (so under 4.4) I’d do 15% and if he was under 3.6 I’d do 25% as we are still a couple hours away from his typical nadir. Too carby?May I ask what that "comfortable" number is?
Whoops forgot to convert :I was thinking if he was heading back down again vs up (so under 4.4) I’d do 15% and if he was under 3.6 I’d do 25% as we are still a couple hours away from his typical nadir. Too carby?
You may or may not see substantial BG movement in 30mins from the last test. Every cycle is a learning experience. Not a criticism, I was just curiousWhoops forgot to convert :
I was thinking if he was heading back down again vs up (so under 79/4.4) I’d do 15% and if he was under 65/3.6 I’d do 25% as we are still a couple hours away from his typical nadir. Too carby?

He’s at 85 @+5 and fast asleep. I’ll leave him alone as I think he’s heading up, it’s been 1 hour since food. Will test in half hour/45 min or so and feed him then.You may or may not see substantial BG movement in 30mins from the last test. Every cycle is a learning experience. Not a criticism, I was just curious
ETA...all those numbers are still safe![]()
Excellent And Great Job! Is that next test for Herman or for youHe’s at 85 @+5 and fast asleep. I’ll leave him alone as I think he’s heading up, it’s been 1 hour since food. Will test in half hour/45 min or so and feed him then.
For me. I’m here, didn’t go anywhereExcellent And Great Job! Is that next test for Herman or for you?
I feel like a scientist.My stomach jumping around too.Oh boy... my stomach kept jumping around as I read post after post... great job riding the greens, Amy! You're my hero![]()
It’s one of those things that I think I’ve read but can’t find for the life of me but his +6 is lower than +5I've been searching the stickies to find this answer but to no avail. I seem to remember ECID BUT generally HC wet lasts about 2 hours. Don't quote me. My memory isn't as sharp as it used to be lol.
Look at it this way....its a GORGEOUS stretch of greensMy stomach jumping around too.![]()
TrueLook at it this way....its a GORGEOUS stretch of greens!
Isn't it, though?? Good boy, Herman!Look at it this way....its a GORGEOUS stretch of greens!

If I had to guess, that's exactly what I would do. Very curious to see what the experts say though!True, I am curious though, given today and the amount of intervention, would I shoot that low again? Or is it all circumstantial as in if I can do what I have been doing today and constantly monitor him, go ahead and shoot, otherwise no shoot?
True, I am curious though, given today and the amount of intervention, would I shoot that low again? Or is it all circumstantial as in if I can do what I have been doing today and constantly monitor him, go ahead and shoot, otherwise no shoot?
That is SO useful. Ima gonna stick it in my spreadsheet. Thanks.Long Stretches of Green are ideal! Safe and HEALING numbers are 50-80 on a human meter. Interesting question you ask about shooting low again.
TR Protocol (proven over and over again to be safe and effective at getting kitties regulated, aid in the healing of neuropathy and more) says shoot over 50.
I think that the real questions are (1)how comfortable are you with Herman in greens? (2) What green number has you panicking for the MC/HC? (3) How comfortable are YOU with him earning a reduction by dropping under 50 per TR?
ECID. The general rule of thumb that I've seen posted before and use for myself is:
"Here's my handy dandy cheat sheet for feeding the curve and testing during low numbers:
60 or higher: LC (0-10% carb) + test in an hour
50-59 : MC (11-15% carb) + test every 30 minutes
49 or below: HC (>16% carb) + test every 15-20 minutes and then for two hours after the lowest number appeared until they start going up"
I'm very curious what the more experienced members think about feeding the curve. @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
I'm in the car right now but I'll be back at home in about a half hour and I'll be around for you.This is unexpected! Stalling. A little nervous after todays efforts to keep him up. Input? @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo @Mandy & Rex (GA)

Thanks Angela. I’ll test again in 20 minutes, I’m probably not comfortable shooting unless it’s gone up a fair bit closer to 80. I had fed him 3 small purebites while I tested never dreaming he’d still be this low hopefully that’s not a huge impact…I'm in the car right now but I'll be back at home in about a half hour and I'll be around for you.
Stall don't feed and retest. In the meantime think about what is your confidence and comfort shooting number?
Reread. I want to ‘catch the moment’ he starts rising while withholding food. He is NOT impressed with me at the moment!Freeze dried pure ites are low/no carb. You're good. Reread the sticky.
Ok so I’ll test now. You are leaning towards a skip or reduce? Do I understand? I’ll reply in a minute with result.He might drop without food. Get another test now. You can shoot a reduced dose but it will likely still be an active cycle. Looks like he might earn a reduction unless he bounces.
He is 49Ok so I’ll test now. You are leaning towards a skip or reduce? Do I understand? I’ll reply in a minute with result.
He just tested at 49.He might drop without food. Get another test now. You can shoot a reduced dose but it will likely still be an active cycle. Looks like he might earn a reduction unless he bounces.