9/24 Fergus AMPS 295 +6 118

Dawnthebikegirl

Member Since 2021
Fergs numbers are finally dropping to numbers that don't give me a panic attack, so that's good.
(Nadir of 6.6! Woot Woot!)

We had a little episode with constipation yesterday, but now that he's pooped everything seems fine.

I guess now that his numbers are getting lower, I'm am trying to prepare myself for a potential hypo situation. I've tried to read all the FAQ's about it. I made a hypo kit. Hopefully, I never have to use it.

Now my question is this. My vet said if his pre-shot number is below 12, then I am to skip giving his shot.
I'm assuming this is incorrect info? If so then what is the right way to handle that situation?

I just worry about him going hypo while I'm at work (i live alone, no one really to check in for me). I dose him at 1pm, then leave at 4pm. I check his BG just before i leave, but I'm not there to monitor if he goes super low.

Thanks in advance for your help!
 
Nice blue today, Dawn. I can't advise especially since I don't know what a 12 is in US numbers. Hopefully, someone will come along and guide you with your question. Good to know you have the hypo kit ready. Looks like the dose increase might already be taking effect.

I just wanted to say that I have never seen the name Fergus anywhere else but it is my African Gray's parrot's name. I think it means "good son" in Irish. I always thought my bird was a male but I never confirmed it. Just gave him a good, Irish, male name. Boy was I surprised 3 years ago when Fergus, at age 20, laid eggs at Christmas. I guess she is not a male. So cool to see someone else using the name. Susie and I are wishing you the best on this journey. Hopefully, you can post everyday so you get the help you are asking for.
 
Thanks so much. I think conversion is either to multiply or divide by 18, so 12 is 216.

I was reading how to reduce the dose when the numbers are low, but it wasn't really getting through my thick skull. A reduction of .25 doesn't seem like it would make that big of a difference, but is that per kg of body weight?

I'll go back and try to read it again. Sometimes this stuff takes a while to sink it. I think it's because i get nervous about messing something up. Anxious learning never really sticks does it?

Thanks for chiming in. Everyone here is so helpful.

Also, Fergus is a great name! So cute that "he" laid eggs. The same thing happened with my friends' bird. SURPRISE! lol
 
Hi Dawn. Let's see if we can get you some help. Looks to me like Ferg might need another increase if you don't see blues soon but I would hold this dose for at least another full day and night. That blue was a bit of an anomaly yesterday. By the way, you would only go up .25. It is not based on body weight.

@carfurby
@tiffmaxee
 
It wasn't !! I just got 8.4 (151) at +3.
I have to leave for work now, and i'm a bit worried. Do you think he could go hypo? That's a pretty drastic drop.
 
Thank you: I left out a bunch of food.

It wasn’t an anomaly. Summer and Suzie said it might be. But I’ve got those low numbers before.
Got it. I thought that but wanted to make sure in case you needed help. While low for you and I understand your concern that’s a pretty safe number. It’s also why once you see blue or green on an increased dose even with TR you hold that dose for at least 10 cycles.
 
Back
Top