9/24 Eleanor AMPS 285 PMPS 248 Vomiting +2 200 +3 200

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Julie
Here's hoping you feel better today and more rested- it's so hard to care for kitty when you don't feel well, but you do such a good job
I know how frustrating it is when Eleanor is in the yellow all day - perhaps because she does have some GI issue acting up - that certainly seems to be the case with Murphy, who has similar issues with Eleanor. Do you give her cerenia?
 
Hi Julie
Hoping you found a chance to get one rest in yesterday. Yellow is still yellow, a very respectable color! And I think that has Eleanor in the range your vet wants her correct? I know it's where one of the vets Gussie saw after diagnosis said they try to keep cats they consider regulated.
Gussie hung out in yellow for awhile, long time it seemed, then something kicked in,probably with his dose increases we hit that magic switch-on number and he started coming down the dosing scale.
So I'm kind of partial to a long stretch in yellow-land!
Hoping it's a good day for you both today..
Big hugs
 
It's time for Eleanor's shot in an hour and she is vomiting. I usually go ahead and shoot when she's vomiting but she hasn't been vomiting right at shot time in quite awhile and I am not functioning at all today. I don't know what to do.
She vomited a furball this morning but then she ate her +6 snack held it down and seemed fine. I thought she was okay.
I went to sleep and woke up at +9, fed her and up it came. It took forever to get my eyes to focus well enough to break her Cerenia tablet into a fairly accurate dose, gave that to her.
40 minutes later she vomited mucus and I don't know if the Cerenia came up too. If it did, at this point I would say she is not going to stop vomiting today.

Of course it's the weekend, and financially the ER is out of the question.
I don't know what to do about her insulin. I don't want her to go without of course but don't know if I can handle trying to keep her BG up if I shoot with no food.

I don't know what to do any more.
 
I'm on my phone so hard to find the link but one of the myths I read about was not eating means no shot. Of course I read it after a similar issue with my cat. I definitely understand not wanting to do a full shot. A small token dose might be good especially if there is any history of ketones.


Hopefully some of the veterans can chime in.
 
Unfortunately I'm not able to stay with you this evening, but are you able to stall her shot for a bit to see how she's feeling? Honestly - and this is just my opinion - but under the circumstances I wouldn't worry too much about food influencing her BG as far as a preshot value goes. Instead, I would make sure she eats and doesn't vomit, and if she holds her food down for (just as an example) maybe an hour-ish and she seems fine, give her insulin. If you're iffy, you could also consider shooting a BCS - a one-time reduce dose - for the evening, too. I know it's very tough since you aren't feeling well, either.

All just my opinions....something to mull over. Prayers that both of you feel better.
 
One thing that is throwing me is that when she is vomiting like this, her BG has always jumped up to high 200's to high 300's.
Today she is 223.
I offered her some food 20 minutes ago, she ate several bites and it hasn't come up.
I know it's important to give at least some insulin. I don't know, I'm just confused today.
 
Getting that food into her is important, well done. 223 is yellow, still a good number..hoping some folks will be by to help with figuring out how much to give her given that you are having a bad flare day yourself making monitoring and thinking on your feet really hard.
Hugs
 
Yeah, shot time is in 15 minutes.
I guess I should just shoot and be prepared. I really do not want to give hc food and honey when she is already vomiting and having diarrhea sine hc and honey trigger vomiting and diarrhea!!
 
Her BG is 248, the jump from 223 is probably from the food.
She's pretty out of it from the bupe.
She's gone back to lie by her water fountain. I'm going to go ahead and shoot, I'm feeling hesitant about shooting 3.5 Chris, but I hate to give less and mess her up. Wish it was another couple hours til shot time! Oh for a perfect world...
 
Her BG is 248, the jump from 223 is probably from the food.
She's pretty out of it from the bupe.
She's gone back to lie by her water fountain. I'm going to go ahead and shoot, I'm feeling hesitant about shooting 3.5 Chris, but I hate to give less and mess her up. Wish it was another couple hours til shot time! Oh for a perfect world...
If you are hesitating because you are worried I'd tag @Chris & China and ask for options
 
Rico gets ondansetron 2mg morning and night (as well as cycpro) -if he doesn't get it he won't eat and will vomit --(mostly early mornings)

He also gets my ondansetron although my regular vet is now aware of it because of Rico and he now calls me when he has a cat that won't eat:rolleyes:
He prescribes it now but it is very expensive to buy unless is under insurance--you can get the 8mg for less online and cut in 4-

If Dre needs it he gets 4mg but he is 19 pounds. Rico is 12-13 pounds and 2 mg does it for him.
@tiffmaxee has the current dosing info--they have found it doesn't always absorb as well as we had thought and the dose has been adjusted a little higher but only if needed-I personally start low-
 
You can usually give at least a half dose if kitty is sick, provided you can monitor some. Cats undergoing anesthesia and getting no food usually get half dose as per vets. When Neko has been off her food, I just skinny the dose a bit, but she's not vomiting and I can syringe feed. It sounds like Eleanor has the classic sings of nausea, poor girl. Ondansetron works well with Neko. You can always crush it and add it to water and syringe it in to try to make sure it stays down. :bighug:
 
I'm sorry for the delay in getting back. All I have is a tablet, it's through T-Mobile and the past few days I can't get online sometimes. Apparently T-Mobile is having issues. So... I got knocked offline and couldn't get back on.
I went ahead and shot full dose. I guess after all the drama, I'm more scared of her going super high and into DKA than I am of a severe hypo???
She has not vomited again.
 
I'm going to see if I can get a couple bites of food into her in awhile. Maybe just a couple bites, wait 15-20 minutes, then a couple more bites...etc. And monitor her BG of course. I'll try to give her subq fluids later.
She wants me to leave her alone, poor thing bit me when I was positioning her for her shot. Fortunately for me, she has no teeth.
 
I'm going to see if I can get a couple bites of food into her in awhile. Maybe just a couple bites, wait 15-20 minutes, then a couple more bites...etc. And monitor her BG of course. I'll try to give her subq fluids later.
She wants me to leave her alone, poor thing bit me when I was positioning her for her shot. Fortunately for me, she has no teeth.
I'm so glad you are back, was worrying. I know I probably shouldn't, but your post about her biting and not having any teeth made me chuckle...:bighug:
 
I sell raw at my shop--sometimes the protein is too high and will cause vomit and more vomit and more vomit....
I don't know which raw you are feeding but for instance Stella and Chewys is a great quality food but much to high in protein for many dogs and cats-
NW Naturals is also very high...
Many do much better on Steves real food--I believe it is 70% as opposed to 90% or more pure protein...
If it is a very young pet they seem to do fine on the high protein but anything over 5yrs I start on Steves.....
 
I sell raw at my shop--sometimes the protein is too high and will cause vomit and more vomit and more vomit....
I don't know which raw you are feeding but for instance Stella and Chewys is a great quality food but much to high in protein for many dogs and cats-
NW Naturals is also very high...
Many do much better on Steves real food--I believe it is 70% as opposed to 90% or more pure protein...
If it is a very young pet they seem to do fine on the high protein but anything over 5yrs I start on Steves.....

I think I'm giving her Natures Variety?? I'll have to look at the bag!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top