9/22 Tootoo AMPS=104 then +4=54?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tooloo

Member Since 2013
Good morning (or afternoon)! So I fed Tootoo again at 3:30 a.m. AMPS 104, not as low as yesterday. I suspect that he got into civvie's pill pocket treats which might be higher carb. They were opened on the floor when I got up this morning. Anyway, then he dropped at +4 to 54. I'll be checking again soon. I go back to work tomorrow - my four days when I'm gone 12 hours a day. I'm nervous that he's dropping below 60 when I know I'll be gone. I'll see how he does the rest of day, but I possibly won't shoot tomorrow morning before I leave. Maybe I could reduce dose from .1? Is that possible? When I checked, it looked like he's only getting about a drop.

Any comments? Thanks!

Debbie
 
No. My 91 year-old mother lives with us, and she can feed them mid afternoon, but she can't check his BGs. I'll see where he is in a.m. His PMPS was 88 and plus 2 was 68.

Debbie
 
Debbie,

it's possible tootoo's ready for a OTJ trial. would you check on here for directions before you make any decisions in the morning? :-D
 
Well, Debbie, it must be your day!
woot.gif


Here are the instructions:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If Tootoo is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

If, after 2 weeks Tootoo has stayed in normal numbers, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Congratulations and Good Luck!!!!!!

So enjoy your work day tomorrow without worrying about him. Sounds like your mom will be able to feed him while you're gone - woo- hoo!
 
Congrats and good luck with the trial!

FYI: the allergy formula (duck and pea) Pill Pockets don't contain corn syrup and are fine for diabetic cats. The downside is you have to find them in the dog aisle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top