9/22 Shanti AMP 554 Back to the vets

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shantismom

Member Since 2014
He did not eat during the night but his BG was 554 this morning. I talked with the vet who said give him his insulin 3 units, I backed off from that a little, but am so upset, it was probably just a hair under. Will take him in at 9:20.
The vet said the 554 was from the low dose last night but that doesn't sound right to me. He has never had that reaction even when he had no shot and was eating.
Also she told me give him the Baytril but it will be on an empty stomach, that too sounds like a problem. Since she is the vet I will let her take the responsibility for these decisions.
 
That 554 could very well be a bounce, it looks like shanti bounces from blue numbers and you Dont have any tests after pm +2 to see how low he went.
Has bounces been explained to you.
 
If you look at my Charlie's SS on 7/30 am cycle he had a 600 for amps which was a bbounce from low numbers the night before, 8/2 pmps 545 from low numbers 8/1 pm cycle, and 8/6 pmps 503 from 8/6 am cycle low numbers.
Shanti very well my have went pretty low last night, when +2 is less then pmps that is a sign the its going to be an active cycle.
 
I agree. That looks like a bounce to me, not a response to a lower dose. Shanti isn't used to be in normal numbers so his body perceives those numbers as too low and responds to protect itself -- that "bounces" his BG back up where he is comfortable. We see those numbers and know they are good. Shanti's body won't listen to us though. He needs to spend more time down in those good numbers to retrain the body that they are normal. When Cobb used to bounce that high the huge swing in numbers made him feel really crappy, so Shanti feeling bad isn't surprising, although the not eating would concern me. The not eating also probably brought his BG much lower than "normal" overnight so it's quite possible Shanti went fairly low, which is why he is so high this morning.

Always a good idea to let the vet check him out to make sure there are no other unknown issues. Hope he's feeling better real soon!

~Suzanne
 
Another thing is you will probably see some wonky numbers in the next couple cycles due to the reduced shot last night and the increased dose this am from 2.75(his earned reduction dose) does your vet know shanti earned a reduction down to 2.75.
Most vets Dont understand that lantus is dosed based on lowest point in the cycle, they were taught on older insulins that are dosed according to the preshot value.
The good thing is shanti does not have problems clearing bounces.
 
I told my vet that he was down under 3, I did not give him the full three but it was probably more than 2.75. I am so nervous. Tomorrow is ultrasound, hoping that will help us. I did get some advice about last nights dose, first the vet but someone else from here said that was reasonable. I tried to feed Shanti during the night but he wouldn't eat.
 
Seeing the high numbers can be over whelming in the beginning. And with you just starting out and experiencing low enough numbers to earn reductions along with high bounces can really take a toll on you.
Charlie did not earn his first reduction tell we climbed the lantus dosing ladder to 3.75u. During this time I became very accustomed to the bounces.
Dont get discouraged it is all part of the journey. You are not alone, all of us have gone down this road.
 
You may also want to take the advise on changing the appy stim to cypro, as it appears the mirtz is not working. I only have experience with mirtz and I had no doubt that it was working.
 
I love my vet and she specializes in senior cats but I think she feels I am too worried about his BG. Because of the crisis this morning I didn't ask her about cypro. I did ask her if I should still skip the cerenia and she said yes.
Shanti had his fluids, came home and ate a little of his normal food. If he won't eat more I will try the prescription food again. He would not eat that this morning and even Fancy Feast gravy wouldn't tempt him.
These up and down numbers are so frightening to see, I am terrified of a hypo but 554 really scared me too.
Had his pred and Baytril this morning, hope they don't make his stomach worse. Again vet told me to dose them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top