9/22 Punk's amps~99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fleapunk

Member Since 2009
Such a shame.....all of this lovely greenness will be gone in exactly 45 minoots, as soon as I attempt to get Punkelchicken into her carrier for new, Dr. Handsome Vet, vet visit.

Punk did verra well yesterday, stayed green allllllll day, she was @79 when we went to sleepus. And I ain't sayin nuthin either, cycle 4 on lower dose :mrgreen:

yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25552
 
Vet report

We are back from the vet! Punk is still not talking to me and ran right under the bed as soon as I set her free.

Punk was diagnosed with Miliary Dermatitis, suspected allergy. Right off the bat Dr. Handsome didn't want to give cortisone onna counta she's a diabetic (score one for new vet). Score #2, he doesn't use convenia :smile:
Score #3, he actually tested for flea infestation and found none. My ex-vet just assumed she had fleas (without testing or finding any evidence of fleas) and shot her with convenia without even discussing it with me.

New vet gave me cypro pills, an antihistamine, and she's to take 1/2 pill BID. There is a liquid version but he said it tastes awful and there would be all kinds of foaming and nastiness so we're gonna try and pill her first. If there is no improvement, I'm to call him next week and he'll give me ABs.
Punk has never had cypro. so if anyone has any info about what to expect or if it's going to make her numbers go wonky, please chime in.

I capital L LOVE this new vet! Cute factor: Stanley Tucci would play him in the movie and I lovelovelove Stanley Tucci! Dr. Tucci was so verra impressed with Punk's appearance, brightness of eyes and my medical record keeping.....he made copies. He is very happy with her past bloodwork and didn't see a need to do any bloodwork this visit based on how good she looks and because her past b/w had improved from previous blood work-ups. He was also shocked that she is 13 years old, he never would have guessed she was that old. :mrgreen: I cannot tell you what a difference it was to work with this vet versus my now ex-vet.
Dr. Tucci was actually happy that I hometest and was even happier that her 7 day, average BG level is 78.
 
just smilin'. everything sounds really, really good!

i have limited experience with antihistamines often used as appy stimulants, so wait for the heavy hitters to weigh in, k? alex didn't take kindly to mirtz. cypro was fine. my vet told me to start out with a quarter tab (4mg) or less to see how she'd do. side effects could include increased heart rate, excitement, vocalization, affectionate behavior, vomiting... at least those are the ones i remember. alex experienced none of these on cypro. i did start with an 1/8 of a tab, but settled in on a quarter tab. vet said i could give it to her every 12 hours.

if it doesn't work for punk, ask your vet about using chlortrimeton. i have used it successfully for brianna's allergies. i have no idea if it would be appropriate for punk...



eta: didn't see any effect on bg's.
 
Jill - I'm smiling too, I'm always so nervous when Punk goes to the dr. ::jotting down chlortrimeton:: I didn't start her yet on the pills, I did want to hear/read what peeps had to say about it. Ithankyou.

Choy-Foong - Yes, cyprohepawhatevah. and LOL, yes, he did mention that her appetite might increase. I think she'll get a Wendy's burger tonight for dinner, she's earned it. :mrgreen:

ETA: Choy-Foong, I just saw the links! Thank yooooooou! And no, Dr. Tucci vet did not give me a kiss. :sad: :lol:
 
I myself have had very little problems with cypro with most of my cats although to me its more for appetite then allergies but you never know it may help Punk :mrgreen: so good you found a great new vet always a plus
 
+6~75

I don't know what her number was at the vet's office, but whatever it was, it cleared out! I'm so proud of her. :mrgreen:

Thanks for the cypro info, she just got her first pill. Good thing I ordered Punk the bacon-cheeseburger, I had no idea how goofy she is for bacon! I just wrapped up the 1/2 pill in some bacon and down it went! I'm not a bacon-eater myself, but I will be picking some up tomorrow. :mrgreen:

Linda - LOL "also is a good vet" :lol: Unfortunately, I do not believe he and I will be going out. I think he's married or otherwise involved....you know they always are. Perhaps I shall sing to him.....ahem..
"I'm not stalking you, I'm just calling a lot, I'm not trying to upset you....I'm not...."
 
You mean a pill will make Punklet a sweetsie Mush?? Of course she looks Young just like her MUTHUR!!!
Methinks there is a Crush taking place here!! WE love Dr Stanley Tucci, and sounds like You do too!! And well so, he sounds great!
Hope she feels bettah!! And those Numbers!!! Ohh La La!!
 
+6~75/+10~78

With numbers this pretty, I should bring her to the vet every day!

All day long Punk's been running away from me, stopping, looking over her shoulder and hissing at me, she just now, finally hopped up on the couch next to me to take a nap.

The cypro is already showing it's teeth. This cat has been extra meowy and eaty since about an hour after she took it.

Depending on tonight's pmps, I may have to blow tonight's cycle with gravy.....another 5:30am day tomorrow. I'll basically have to shoot-n-sleep.
 
I'm all smiles! Luved the story about Dr. Handsome and good vet too.
Can't say anything about the meds but happy to hear that Punkelitchy is getting some proper attention. :-D
 
PMPS~furshot

Severe thunder storm warning for tonight and it's already started....under the bed she went. Bacon-covered-cypro wouldn't even entice her out.
So, no insuloon and no meds for Punkin tonight. :roll:

I have to go to bed now so I left everything out for her, bacon, bacon-covered cypro and regular fuds.

Lights are flickering, not a good sign, I'm goin under the bed too. ni-ni.
 
Real PMPS~121 @+13.5

The storm passed, so guess who got me out of bed wanting more bacon? I took that opportunity to test and shoot her, with a bg of 121, I'm glad I did. I left out a ton of fuds for her and one of us is going back to bed.

She also woofed down her cypro, good kitty. cat_pet_icon My schedule for the next 5 days is better so I can work her back easily enough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top