9/22, Binie, AMPS 403, +3 248

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-21-binie-amps-500-3-358-6-252.294207/

Good morning,

I was really worried last night, as Binie’s BG stayed high in the red and pink numbers all night. I wondered if I gave a fur shot, but I check after every shot, and there was no liquid or smell. Maybe it is just a really heavy bounce, which I don’t like either.

Today she is already seeing blue numbers. I planned a walk with a friend at +7. We’ll see if I can go.

I am already nervous. From Wednesday evening on, I will be giving a seminar until Saturday evening. On Wednesday, I have to leave the house at +9, and the sitter will give the shot. That has always worked well so far. I will be back at 2:30 PM in the cycle. Starting Thursday, I will have to leave after the morning shot. I arranged to come back quickly during my lunch break at +5.5 to check on her, and then come back for the PM shot. So I hope she is on a dose where she can manage on her own most of the time. Usually, my neighbor looks after her on seminar days, but she is still in the clinic for treatment. I know many people have to leave their cats alone during the day due to work, but I am still nervous. :nailbiting:

Binie is outside all the time, as we are having the last warm autumn days. This is going to change tomorrow, and I hope she enjoys it.

Hope everyone is having a beautiful Sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Update: Binie just earned a reduction. Unfortunately while I wanted to take a walk with a friend. As she seems to coast longer I had to cancel it. :( But better now than next week, when I will be away during the day to work. Anyhow, a walk in the autumn sun would have been nice...
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-21-binie-amps-500-3-358-6-252.294207/

Good morning,

I was really worried last night, as Binie’s BG stayed high in the red and pink numbers all night. I wondered if I gave a fur shot, but I check after every shot, and there was no liquid or smell. Maybe it is just a really heavy bounce, which I don’t like either.

Today she is already seeing blue numbers. I planned a walk with a friend at +7. We’ll see if I can go.

I am already nervous. From Wednesday evening on, I will be giving a seminar until Saturday evening. On Wednesday, I have to leave the house at +9, and the sitter will give the shot. That has always worked well so far. I will be back at 2:30 PM in the cycle. Starting Thursday, I will have to leave after the morning shot. I arranged to come back quickly during my lunch break at +5.5 to check on her, and then come back for the PM shot. So I hope she is on a dose where she can manage on her own most of the time. Usually, my neighbor looks after her on seminar days, but she is still in the clinic for treatment. I know many people have to leave their cats alone during the day due to work, but I am still nervous. :nailbiting:

Binie is outside all the time, as we are having the last warm autumn days. This is going to change tomorrow, and I hope she enjoys it.

Hope everyone is having a beautiful Sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, I see Binie is seeing greens today. I’m glad you could double check with your handheld meter, so you know exactly what’s going on.
At bounce last night, I’m guessing was from that Green she saw on Friday. Plus, if you didn’t smell any insulin, it seems unlikely that you gave a fur shot. But who really knows, right, cats?:cat:

It sounds like you have a good plan in place for when you will be out of the house this week upcoming. And I think you said you’re going to give her a reduction based on the greens anyway, so that may give you the flexibility you need to feel that she is safe.
And I’m pretty sure we talked about an automatic feeder in the past, right?

Will she eat from one of those? that way you could have it open at certain times while you are out just to give her a little bit of food. I guess even if you didn’t think she wouldn’t eat from an auto feeder you could still put it out and if she really wanted it, she would go over and eat it and if she didn’t want it, she would ignore it. No harm no foul. (Just a thought).

Do you have a pet camera to watch her in the house? That also may give you some added peace of mind that you could see her. (I find it to be so helpful for my anxiety to be able to see Ivy).

I know we will discuss this further to get you ready for this week.
Sending you and your sweet girl lots of hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

thank you so much for checking on us! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Yes, Binie had a long stretch of green and blue today. Seems she also checked my calender and found out, that I wanted to leave the house. I was a bit scared I might have to shoot blue but she was going up a little. Anyhow, I am a bit nervous, how the night will be. She is a bit lethargic, which I find strange. I thought she would feel better in lower numbers. But maybe she is not used to them anymore.

Yes, I have a feeder, I bought a catmate because I liked that it is with a cooling function. Unfortunately Binie thinks this thing is coming directly from hell and so far she didn't touch it. So I will leave out food before I am going. I will come back at lunchtime and I can change it then. Fortunately it is not so warm next week and as still insists on her lc kibble, I will leave some of that out too. I thougt about feeding her medium carb (10%) with a little high carb (20%) in the morning.

I have a pet camera and it's a good idea to turn it on. I think I will see what tomorrow and tuesday bring and than maybe ask questions, how to keep her safe.

Hope you have a relaxed sunday! And hope you managed to visit your friend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

thank you so much for checking on us! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Yes, Binie had a long stretch of green and blue today. Seems she also checked my calender and found out, that I wanted to leave the house. I was a bit scared I might have to shoot blue but she was going up a little. Anyhow, I am a bit nervous, how the night will be. She is a bit lethargic, which I find strange. I thought she would feel better in lower numbers. But maybe she is not used to them anymore.

Yes, I have a feeder, I bought a catmate because I liked that it is with a cooling function. Unfortunately Binie thinks this thing is coming directly from hell and so far she didn't touch it. So I will leave out food before I am going. I will come back at lunchtime and I can change it then. Fortunately it is not so warm next week and as still insists on her lc kibble, I will leave some of that out too. I thougt about feeding her medium carb (10%) with a little high carb (20%) in the morning.

I have a pet camera and it's a good idea to turn it on. I think I will see what tomorrow and tuesday bring and than maybe ask questions, how to keep her safe.

Hope you have a relaxed sunday! And hope you managed to visit your friend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, wow, Binie had a beautiful am cycle today! Look at that green. :D

I’m glad the shot went ok tonight.

Ivy was also hesitant in the beginning of the Catmate.
I just started to give her the snacks at +1,2,3 every day both cycles in there. Even when I’m home. And if she won’t eat them I then pull out the bowl and put it under her face.
Maybe you could try to get her used to the feeder so it’s not an enemy. Over time she can learn it’s actually her friend giving her a snack. (Just an idea).
Maybe even put the dry kibble in it so she has to eat it from the feeder.

When I go out sometimes Ivy eats from the feeder. Sometimes she doesn’t. But at least I can try. It’s the best I can do.

Your plan for carbs sounds good
For later this week.

I hope you both have a peaceful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, wow, Binie had a beautiful am cycle today! Look at that green. :D

I’m glad the shot went ok tonight.

Ivy was also hesitant in the beginning of the Catmate.
I just started to give her the snacks at +1,2,3 every day both cycles in there. Even when I’m home. And if she won’t eat them I then pull out the bowl and put it under her face.
Maybe you could try to get her used to the feeder so it’s not an enemy. Over time she can learn it’s actually her friend giving her a snack. (Just an idea).
Maybe even put the dry kibble in it so she has to eat it from the feeder.

When I go out sometimes Ivy eats from the feeder. Sometimes she doesn’t. But at least I can try. It’s the best I can do.

Your plan for carbs sounds good
For later this week.

I hope you both have a peaceful night :bighug::bighug::bighug:


Hi Staci,

you are so right, I should give her more time and opportunity to like the feeder. I would really like to use it for her, because I never stopped hoping I can convert her to wet food only. Whenever I buy something for her, she doesn't use it and it takes ages, before she likes it and sometimes she doesn't accept it at all. But if I bring in something for me, it is very likely she wants to have it. Two years ago I got a very nice cashmere blanket for christimas. I maybe used it twice, then Binie got angry, when I wanted to take it. You know how the story ends. :cat:

I hope you have a relaxed evening! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, Binie had a nice cycle today with all this greens. Congratulations on the reduction. Sounds like you have a good plan for next week while you will out of the house. Of course you are nervous ,but Binie will be ok . Have a nice evening Heike :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Hi Heike, Binie had a nice cycle today with all this greens. Congratulations on the reduction. Sounds like you have a good plan for next week while you will out of the house. Of course you are nervous ,but Binie will be ok . Have a nice evening Heike :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

Thank yo so much Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug: It was Binies first day like this and I am really happy. Even though I had to cancel the walk with a friend to keep her safe. And I am happy it happened yesterday and not while I will be away at the end of the week. Hope you are well Diane and get more healthy every day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank yo so much Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug: It was Binies first day like this and I am really happy. Even though I had to cancel the walk with a friend to keep her safe. And I am happy it happened yesterday and not while I will be away at the end of the week. Hope you are well Diane and get more healthy every day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top