9/21 Kirby+10. 115

Yes. You put ice under the dishes. Susanne bought one that comes with ice packs. @JaxBenji
I love my auto-feeder! I wanted ice packs but i think some people also put an ice cube in the compartment too. I think PetSafe5 gets recommended a lot but I don't believe it has ice packs.

I got the Cate Mate C500 - It has 5 compartments (1 open and 4 hidden) and ice packs. I ordered right from the manufacturer (link here) - I also ordered 2 extra ice packs in case I wanted to use it for AM and PM (so I'd just have to wash it out and put in new ice packs). I have been getting a PMPS+4 for Jax then autofeeder gives small snack at +6 and +8. I have mine rotate to an empty spot 2 hours before AMPS.
 
I love my auto-feeder! I wanted ice packs but i think some people also put an ice cube in the compartment too. I think PetSafe5 gets recommended a lot but I don't believe it has ice packs.

I got the Cate Mate C500 - It has 5 compartments (1 open and 4 hidden) and ice packs. I ordered right from the manufacturer (link here) - I also ordered 2 extra ice packs in case I wanted to use it for AM and PM (so I'd just have to wash it out and put in new ice packs). I have been getting a PMPS+4 for Jax then autofeeder gives small snack at +6 and +8. I have mine rotate to an empty spot 2 hours before AMPS.
nice
 
He dropped into good numbers. People following SLGS with data to know what will happen next will shot 135. When it went up I would have shot the full dose. That’s why it’s impirtant to be able to get a +2 or +3 before you leave. You then would know if it’s likely to be an active cycle. If you get the auto feeder it could be filled with the right carb levels for while you are at work. Normal bg approximately is 50-100 on a human meter. That’s your eventual goal. Right now if home to monitor you could shoot that 135 no problem. From there you would strive for remission. Does this make sense?
 
He dropped into good numbers. People following SLGS with data to know what will happen next will shot 135. When it went up I would have shot the full dose. That’s why it’s impirtant to be able to get a +2 or +3 before you leave. You then would know if it’s likely to be an active cycle. If you get the auto feeder it could be filled with the right carb levels for while you are at work. Normal bg approximately is 50-100 on a human meter. That’s your eventual goal. Right now if home to monitor you could shoot that 135 no problem. From there you would strive for remission. Does this make sense?
yes it does im just wondering if his not eating overnight and day is affecting his numbers or not
 
He dropped into good numbers. People following SLGS with data to know what will happen next will shot 135. When it went up I would have shot the full dose. That’s why it’s impirtant to be able to get a +2 or +3 before you leave. You then would know if it’s likely to be an active cycle. If you get the auto feeder it could be filled with the right carb levels for while you are at work. Normal bg approximately is 50-100 on a human meter. That’s your eventual goal. Right now if home to monitor you could shoot that 135 no problem. From there you would strive for remission. Does this make sense?
 
how do you feel about leaving dry food while im out dr elsey ? i wanted to wait to try it
or i can get an automatic feeder i just have three cats
 
Not eating overnight might be causing his lower morning numbers but they are not too low in the morning. Testing between +5-7 occasionally at night will tell you how low he goes at night.
 
Not eating overnight might be causing his lower morning numbers but they are not too low in the morning. Testing between +5-7 occasionally at night will tell you how low he goes at night.
I ask because if it’s lack of food. And how do you feel about dry food
 
I don’t feed dry food but others do. Max was a dry food junkie until he had pancreatitis. It didn’t cause it but I think eating mostly Hills dry CD might have contributed. The ones who feed dry are usually the ones that follow SLGS. I don’t understand why you want him to be higher in the morning. Please explain.

Most cats don’t drink much water and so it just doesn’t make sense to me to give them dry. I did buy a bag to use as treats for my cats but being used to a raw real food diet they didn’t consider it edible.
 
i dont want him to be low bc of something im doing wrong. and im scared when im away from home. really im tryiing to find a groove with his food.
 
i was thinking i could leave dr elsey out when im working or sleeping but i didnt want to make changes right now and influence his sugars
 
I understand your fear of a hypo but it just might prevent him from going into remission. If you feel a morning BG makes you uncomfortable you could leave dry food out while at work. His numbers did improve when you stopped feeding dry food though.
 
i was thinking i could leave dr elsey out when im working or sleeping but i didnt want to make changes right now and influence his sugars[/QUOTE

We cross posted. Getting an auto feeder for those times would work. You just don’t want him eating less than 2 hours before insulin. You can try the dry food and see what it does to his bg.
 
Also I didn’t want to add dry food daily as I’m trying to learn how he is during cycles. Too many changes at once I feel. Bit makes sense I could have left a bit this morning when I left
 
Ok. So do it the first time you are home. It gets easier with experience. Think about how long you were not testing and just shooting. I started that way too but once you start testing you can’t do it again I know. :bighug:
 
Ok. So do it the first time you are home. It gets easier with experience. Think about how long you were not testing and just shooting. I started that way too but once you start testing you can’t do it again I know. :bighug:
Just got home. He was 322. I’m glad I was brave enough to give 25%. ☹️
 
Back
Top