9/21 Kirby+10. 115

Good Morning Chris, How about holding off on the food, test again in 20 minutes and see if the numbers are going up or down.

That's really a very nice number, but I can understand that you may be concerned if it's a falling number.

There are still some blank spots on your SS on 9/16, 17 and 19 - could you please put something there so I know what was done on those mornings?

Thanks!
 
Good Morning Chris, How about holding off on the food, test again in 20 minutes and see if the numbers are going up or down.

That's really a very nice number, but I can understand that you may be concerned if it's a falling number.

There are still some blank spots on your SS on 9/16, 17 and 19 - could you please put something there so I know what was done on those mornings?

Thanks!
Those mornings I only did a +10 or +11 from his pm dose. Do you follow me ?
 
Those mornings I only did a +10 or +11 from his pm dose. Do you follow me ?

Yes, so I think you might want to put a note there to that effect; small print like 'test from 10+was###'

Personally I think that's a dangerous practice, cats have a way of dropping like a rock in two hours - take a look at Luci's SS from yesterday morning. If I'd shot based on her number at 2+ and not gotten a test at 5+ I probably would have ended her life. Very sad situation when you think about it.

I can only say that I never ever recommend shooting insulin based on a test from two hours previously.

So let's find out where Kirby is in two hours and make the decision then.

But that’s still low for me being a beginner.
I agree, you're still new at this. So in the meantime, since you've been here have you been reading up on the stickies on how to handle low pre-shot numbers?

At some point you'll want to become more comfortable shooting lower numbers...

And let's see who else joins in this morning to help you make your decision in a couple of hours.

With that said, I probably won't be on in two hours as I have to work today - like every week day ...sometimes that job interferes! LOL!

But there will be others on in a couple of hours - so change your title if you need to and put the '?' there and say in all caps - something like LOW AMPS ### - STALLING - PLEASE HELP! DOSING ADVICE NEEDED.... something like that will get some eyes on you and will help you decide whether to shoot or not and if so, how much ...sometimes a reduced dose is better than nothing at all.

Please add your mid-cycle test results from last night to your SS...it's really important to see how low this dose is taking Kirby.
 
Yes, so I think you might want to put a note there to that effect; small print like 'test from 10+was###'

Personally I think that's a dangerous practice, cats have a way of dropping like a rock in two hours - take a look at Luci's SS from yesterday morning. If I'd shot based on her number at 2+ and not gotten a test at 5+ I probably would have ended her life. Very sad situation when you think
I can only say that I never ever recommend shooting insulin based on a test from two hours previously.

So let's find out where Kirby is in two hours and make the decision then.


I agree, you're still new at this. So in the meantime, since you've been here have you been reading up on the stickies on how to handle low pre-shot numbers?

At some point you'll want to become more comfortable shooting lower numbers...

And let's see who else joins in this morning to help you make your decision in a couple of hours.

With that said, I probably won't be on in two hours as I have to work today - like every week day ...sometimes that job interferes! LOL!

But there will be others on in a couple of hours - so change your title if you need to and put the '?' there and say in all caps - something like LOW AMPS ### - STALLING - PLEASE HELP! DOSING ADVICE NEEDED.... something like that will get some eyes on you and will help you decide whether to shoot or not and if so, how much ...sometimes a reduced dose is better than nothing at all.

Please add your mid-cycle test results from last night to your SS...it's really important to see how low this dose is taking Kirby.
Yes, so I think you might want to put a note there to that effect; small print like 'test from 10+was###'

Personally I think that's a dangerous practice, cats have a way of dropping like a rock in two hours - take a look at Luci's SS from yesterday morning. If I'd shot based on her number at 2+ and not gotten a test at 5+ I probably would have ended her life. Very sad situation when you think about it.

I can only say that I never ever recommend shooting insulin based on a test from two hours previously.

So let's find out where Kirby is in two hours and make the decision then.


I agree, you're still new at this. So in the meantime, since you've been here have you been reading up on the stickies on how to handle low pre-shot numbers?

At some point you'll want to become more comfortable shooting lower numbers...

And let's see who else joins in this morning to help you make your decision in a couple of hours.

With that said, I probably won't be on in two hours as I have to work today - like every week day ...sometimes that job interferes! LOL!

But there will be others on in a couple of hours - so change your title if you need to and put the '?' there and say in all caps - something like LOW AMPS ### - STALLING - PLEASE HELP! DOSING ADVICE NEEDED.... something like that will get some eyes on you and will help you decide whether to shoot or not and if so, how much ...sometimes a reduced dose is better than nothing at all.

Please add your mid-cycle test results from last night to your SS...it's really important to see how low this dose is taking Kirby.
yes I understand. I will test him in an hour now. I’m trying to learn to shoot on low numbers but work interferes. As I’ll be away today.
 
Please take a look at Patty and Teal'c SS - she puts a little note on with her work hours - it's really helpful.

And yes, these jobs really do interfere with kitty biz! :woot:

I understand but lots do it...Kirby needs some juice to get those numbers down...we really need to see what's going on at night; that could be when he's getting lower/better numbers, but there's no way to tell at this point.

I don’t see on your Ss you tested two hours before amps
I don't test prior to AMPS - I was referring to after she got her shot yesterday morning - a scenario of what if's - If I was planning to shoot two hours after a test - in that case it would have been a disaster...my point was not to skip the pre-shot test - under any circumstances.
 
Hello, Chris!

A couple of things...Do you know how to copy and paste the link from your previous condo? I'd be happy to teach you if you need help with that. Here it is for you from yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-20-kirbys-amps-226-8-250.235647/

It is getting confusing as you put Kirby's AMPS today of 135 into a comment in your yesterday's condo. Can you please add it to the title of this condo? Do you know how to edit the title?

I'm really worried about you not testing at pre-shot times. You need to test every time right before you give any insulin to Kirby. That's the only way to know if it is safe to give him insulin. There can be big changes in blood glucose numbers in the span of an hour, let alone two hours. His number could fall significantly in that timeframe.
I think it's great you're getting a +10 or +11 every day; that is excellent data to know. But most important of all is getting those AMPS and PMPS tests every single time before you shoot insulin.
 
Hello, Chris!

A couple of things...Do you know how to copy and paste the link from your previous condo? I'd be happy to teach you if you need help with that. Here it is for you from yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-20-kirbys-amps-226-8-250.235647/

It is getting confusing as you put Kirby's AMPS today of 135 into a comment in your yesterday's condo. Can you please add it to the title of this condo? Do you know how to edit the title?

I'm really worried about you not testing at pre-shot times. You need to test every time right before you give any insulin to Kirby. That's the only way to know if it is safe to give him insulin. There can be big changes in blood glucose numbers in the span of an hour, let alone two hours. His number could fall significantly in that timeframe.
I think it's great you're getting a +10 or +11 every day; that is excellent data to know. But most important of all is getting those AMPS and PMPS tests every single time before you shoot insulin.
I tested at + 10 and again amps. What are you talking about for today. What’s the concern today
 
Not sure what you are referring to?
-You put your today's AMPS in a comment in your condo/thread from 9/20 (yesterday). No one will see it there. It needs to go in the title of this condo.
-Your spreadsheet has a lot of blank spaces at the preshot times, which indicates to me you aren't checking Kirby's blood glucose levels every time before you give insulin. It still looks like you shot insulin those days.
-We copy and paste our previous day's condo into the next day's condo for continuity. For example, if someone needs to help you and wants to quickly look back and see what went down the day before, they can quickly find your previous condo by using the link.

Sorry, I don't mean to sound critical. I can be somewhat of a direct person. I only want to make sure that Kirby stays safe and that all relevant info is there so people can quickly help you when needed.

Excellent work getting an AMPS today!
 
I understand your concern about +10 only checks. But today I got a +10 and a amps all under 135. Also I made a new post like you mentioned. I’m ok with being direct. But I’m in today now. And maybe you misunderstood that today I got both tests. And I’m naturally thinking about my next move
 
And my conclusion is I’m probably not shooting. I’m doing the best I can with a cat who is easily excited and moody. I would test him every waking hour if I could.
 
Chris, you can edit your thread (condo) title like so:
In your condo, all the way to the right of your title and just below is "Thread Tools". Click that, and an item appears that says "Edit Title". Click "Edit Title", and a box will pop up with your condo title in it. I'll do another screen shot with that one for you.
upload_2020-9-21_8-18-5.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-21_8-18-5.png
    upload_2020-9-21_8-18-5.png
    128.1 KB · Views: 142
So making a new thread with pasting my last isn’t right ?
You only make one thread per day. And then every time you do get another test, you add the results from the new test to the title. And you put all of your comments in the same thread. I see you have several threads going for today. This should be your only thread for today.
 
So to continue with how to edit a thread title, once you have clicked on "edit title, then this box will pop up with "Title" and your title. You can now make changes to your title. Once you are finished changing the title, click "Save Changes".
And you're done!

upload_2020-9-21_8-23-55.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-21_8-23-55.png
    upload_2020-9-21_8-23-55.png
    88.8 KB · Views: 193
@Bandit's Mom I saw you as well if you're there and have time to help.

Chris, I can't stay on. I have to work. So I'm trying to get you help. Maybe think about a reduced dose?
Hopefully someone is around.
 
You have several posts going. Your spreadsheet is not updated so looks like you aren’t testing before shooting. Do you have an auto feeder? Since you can’t monitor I understand your fear of shooting.
 
According to slgs I’m not to shoot under 150 And I’m working on the amps from now on. I only got the +10 the other days yes that is correct. But today I did get amps. And sorry I had trouble with the threads today making a new one. Just a misunderstanding
 
It’s fine. Once you have data the 150 number is lowered but you don’t want to shoot your lowest number when you won’t be able to monitor.
 
I really am trying to follow slgs and yours and critter moms advice. And if I’m not mistaken,with slgs and your advice I should prob skip today ? And I’m sure he will be high when I get home and I’m not happy about it. Do you agree .?
 
Going forward do you have an auto feeder for when you are not home? Can you change your shot time so you can get a +2 or 3 before work?
 
I really am trying to follow slgs and yours and critter moms advice. And if I’m not mistaken,with slgs and your advice I should prob skip today ? And I’m sure he will be high when I get home and I’m not happy about it. Do you agree .?
Since you won’t be home to check on him you need to skip. I’d get an auto feeder. Look at Pet safe but there are others. A +2 or 3 will make it easier to shoot numbers like this.
 
Since you won’t be home to check on him you need to skip. I’d get an auto feeder. Look at Pet safe but there are others. A +2 or 3 will make it easier to shoot numbers like this.
Why is the feeder good can you remind me please so he can regulate with food ?
 
Of course. You can set it to feed while you are away to keep his bg from dropping. So today you would have been able to shoot.
 
If you can get a +2 going forward you will not need to skip often if he has food for while you are at work. Those who work at home often use them at night so they can sleep.
 
Back
Top