Chrissyt7183
Member Since 2020
Hello. My cats +10 is low.
Those mornings I only did a +10 or +11 from his pm dose. Do you follow me ?Good Morning Chris, How about holding off on the food, test again in 20 minutes and see if the numbers are going up or down.
That's really a very nice number, but I can understand that you may be concerned if it's a falling number.
There are still some blank spots on your SS on 9/16, 17 and 19 - could you please put something there so I know what was done on those mornings?
Thanks!
For example I tested him today at+10 he’s not due for an am dose for two hours.Those mornings I only did a +10 or +11 from his pm dose. Do you follow me ?
I’m not going to feed him anymore and test in two hours for his True amps. But that’s still low for me being a beginner.For example I tested him today at+10 he’s not due for an am dose for two hours.
Those mornings I only did a +10 or +11 from his pm dose. Do you follow me ?
I agree, you're still new at this. So in the meantime, since you've been here have you been reading up on the stickies on how to handle low pre-shot numbers?But that’s still low for me being a beginner.
Yes, so I think you might want to put a note there to that effect; small print like 'test from 10+was###'
Personally I think that's a dangerous practice, cats have a way of dropping like a rock in two hours - take a look at Luci's SS from yesterday morning. If I'd shot based on her number at 2+ and not gotten a test at 5+ I probably would have ended her life. Very sad situation when you think
I can only say that I never ever recommend shooting insulin based on a test from two hours previously.
So let's find out where Kirby is in two hours and make the decision then.
I agree, you're still new at this. So in the meantime, since you've been here have you been reading up on the stickies on how to handle low pre-shot numbers?
At some point you'll want to become more comfortable shooting lower numbers...
And let's see who else joins in this morning to help you make your decision in a couple of hours.
With that said, I probably won't be on in two hours as I have to work today - like every week day ...sometimes that job interferes! LOL!
But there will be others on in a couple of hours - so change your title if you need to and put the '?' there and say in all caps - something like LOW AMPS ### - STALLING - PLEASE HELP! DOSING ADVICE NEEDED.... something like that will get some eyes on you and will help you decide whether to shoot or not and if so, how much ...sometimes a reduced dose is better than nothing at all.
Please add your mid-cycle test results from last night to your SS...it's really important to see how low this dose is taking Kirby.
yes I understand. I will test him in an hour now. I’m trying to learn to shoot on low numbers but work interferes. As I’ll be away today.Yes, so I think you might want to put a note there to that effect; small print like 'test from 10+was###'
Personally I think that's a dangerous practice, cats have a way of dropping like a rock in two hours - take a look at Luci's SS from yesterday morning. If I'd shot based on her number at 2+ and not gotten a test at 5+ I probably would have ended her life. Very sad situation when you think about it.
I can only say that I never ever recommend shooting insulin based on a test from two hours previously.
So let's find out where Kirby is in two hours and make the decision then.
I agree, you're still new at this. So in the meantime, since you've been here have you been reading up on the stickies on how to handle low pre-shot numbers?
At some point you'll want to become more comfortable shooting lower numbers...
And let's see who else joins in this morning to help you make your decision in a couple of hours.
With that said, I probably won't be on in two hours as I have to work today - like every week day ...sometimes that job interferes! LOL!
But there will be others on in a couple of hours - so change your title if you need to and put the '?' there and say in all caps - something like LOW AMPS ### - STALLING - PLEASE HELP! DOSING ADVICE NEEDED.... something like that will get some eyes on you and will help you decide whether to shoot or not and if so, how much ...sometimes a reduced dose is better than nothing at all.
Please add your mid-cycle test results from last night to your SS...it's really important to see how low this dose is taking Kirby.

I don't test prior to AMPS - I was referring to after she got her shot yesterday morning - a scenario of what if's - If I was planning to shoot two hours after a test - in that case it would have been a disaster...my point was not to skip the pre-shot test - under any circumstances.I don’t see on your Ss you tested two hours before amps
I tested at + 10 and again amps. What are you talking about for today. What’s the concern todayHello, Chris!
A couple of things...Do you know how to copy and paste the link from your previous condo? I'd be happy to teach you if you need help with that. Here it is for you from yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-20-kirbys-amps-226-8-250.235647/
It is getting confusing as you put Kirby's AMPS today of 135 into a comment in your yesterday's condo. Can you please add it to the title of this condo? Do you know how to edit the title?
I'm really worried about you not testing at pre-shot times. You need to test every time right before you give any insulin to Kirby. That's the only way to know if it is safe to give him insulin. There can be big changes in blood glucose numbers in the span of an hour, let alone two hours. His number could fall significantly in that timeframe.
I think it's great you're getting a +10 or +11 every day; that is excellent data to know. But most important of all is getting those AMPS and PMPS tests every single time before you shoot insulin.
You only make one thread per day. And then every time you do get another test, you add the results from the new test to the title. And you put all of your comments in the same thread. I see you have several threads going for today. This should be your only thread for today.So making a new thread with pasting my last isn’t right ?
Also I’m scared he’s gonna drop lower today while I’m at workSo to continue with how to edit a thread title, once you have clicked on "edit title, then this box will pop up with "Title" and your title. You can now make changes to your title. Once you are finished changing the title, click "Save Changes".
And you're done!
View attachment 56492
@Bandit's Mom I saw you as well if you're there and have time to help.
Chris, I can't stay on. I have to work. So I'm trying to get you help. Maybe think about a reduced dose?
Hopefully someone is around.[/QUOTE
It’s ok
Yes. I’m writing now.@tiffmaxee are you around still?
I have a meeting in 30 minutes.
I don’t have an auto feeder. And I could try and change shot time if I have to.Going forward do you have an auto feeder for when you are not home? Can you change your shot time so you can get a +2 or 3 before work?
Since you won’t be home to check on him you need to skip. I’d get an auto feeder. Look at Pet safe but there are others. A +2 or 3 will make it easier to shoot numbers like this.I really am trying to follow slgs and yours and critter moms advice. And if I’m not mistaken,with slgs and your advice I should prob skip today ? And I’m sure he will be high when I get home and I’m not happy about it. Do you agree .?
Why is the feeder good can you remind me please so he can regulate with food ?Since you won’t be home to check on him you need to skip. I’d get an auto feeder. Look at Pet safe but there are others. A +2 or 3 will make it easier to shoot numbers like this.
Of course. You can set it to feed while you are away to keep his bg from dropping. So today you would have been able to shoot.
I’m feeling crummy as I guess he will be high tonight. This stinksYes. You put ice under the dishes. Susanne bought one that comes with ice packs. @JaxBenji
I gave 25 percent dose.You are only 40 minutes late? You can shoot and then shoot 30 early tonight if you want.
What do you think of the token dose I gave ? And half hour early tonight ? Or laterYou are only 40 minutes late? You can shoot and then shoot 30 early tonight if you want.
You think I made the right decision as opposed to full dose for now ? And I thought it would be 30 min later ? I’m sorry since 3o mins late ?That’s fine. You can shoot 30 minutes early tonight. Good job.