9/21 Gracie PMPS 340 +3 242

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
+2 142 Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25447

GOOD MORNING LANTUS LAND!! It's another hot, sunny day in Arizona!

I hope I didn't goof this morning. Gracie's AMPS was 198 so below 200 and below her normal AMPS. But I shot the dosecrease of .75u and I'm pretty sure it wasn't a fur shot. It didn't feel exactly right but there was no liquid anywhere on her. So now I'm wondering if I should have shot her regular dose. She's always lowest at the AMPS (I will try to get a +11 today). What should I do now...I hope I didn't give her too much since I probably should have adhered to the dosing info for newbies (between 150-200). How often should I test?

My other issue is she has an appt at the eye vet at 10:30 this morning which is +3. I'm thinking I can be back by +4 but it might be +4.5. SHould I reschedule for tomorrow when we're not on a new dose?

Final question: she's lost about 8 oz....once I get her regulated, will she gain it back?

Thank you all and Gracie sends extra hugs to Binks and Copper and Moonie
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 UH OH.. NEWBIE QUESTION

She will gain the weight back once she's regulated.

198 is pretty much a 200. I wouldn't worry about having shot the 0.75u. If you're concerned get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 UH OH.. NEWBIE QUESTION

Thanks, Sienne...any thoughts about the vet visit and other tests today?
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 UH OH.. NEWBIE QUESTION

Morning - it will probably be ok that you shot the new dose - it was nearly 200 anyways. Are you home to get a +1 or +2 so you know what she is doing? Are you taking her to the vets? Most cats will have higher sugars with the vet stress. I always traveled, even to the vets, with my meter, food and hypo kit. I think the vet used to laugh at me but it worked for us.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 UH OH.. NEWBIE QUESTION

Morning Marjorie! We always get a +1 when we shoot on a lowest preshot...We will know how she is doing when you get that number/
What we have found to be a great tool is to give mini meals of LC food in the beginning of the cycle to keep the BGs surfing . You might want to do that with Gracie this morning, okay? Let's see what number you get at +1, okay?

Hot and sunny in Arizona? How odd! :lol: It's hot and sunny here in Florida today too!!!!! :o

Do you have any idea what happens to her BGs when she goes to the vet office? Some kitties go higher with vet stress...some go lower.

Usually, the kitties do loose weight before they are finally dx with FD. They cannot utilize the nutrients from the food and they are actually starving their cells. When they begin on insulin, they soon go back to having a more normal appetite and they begin to gain weight again.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198

Thanks, Joyce and Pat. I'll get a +1 and +2; she usually runs about 90 at the vet (before DM) so it probably takes her up a little; however, lately, I can tell she's more stressed as her body temp is usually higher and she pants a little even tho I take her from a cool car into the office and then always precool the car before I put her back in it...still..the ambient AZ temp could make her pant, too.

We do feed often so I'll give her some more breffis now. We're hoping for rain in sunny AZ today...is it humid in FL?
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198

Oops...I already fed hr about 15 mins ago...so 30 mins before her +1 :!: I saw the first post about feeding her mini meals and she was hungry so I gave her food. Hope didn't mess it up...probably should have been intuitive on my part but no ~O) yet.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 FOLLOW UP QUESTION PAT

I'm sorry Marjorie...i should have been more specific about the time of the MMs.....nothing to do now though...it's ok.

Just get the +1 and we will see ow she is doing then, okay? :razz:
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 +1 142

OK...thanks for holding my hand, Pat. Will you be around in 45 mins? I'm going to run for a shower while I can :-D
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 +1 142 +2 142 NEWBIE QUESTION/HELP

OK--we're 142 at +2...I fed her LC in between +1 and +2. Should I feed again and/or assume vet trip will bring up BG? Do +4 when I get home?
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 +1 142 +2 142 NEWBIE QUESTION/HELP

Marjorie...feed after the tests...okay? You will be at the vet office at +3 so maybe they will do a BG check while you are there. They will be using a meter that is calibrated and made for animals Marjorie...it will read higher than your human meter, ok? You can bring your own meter there to compare if you'd like to do that. (but you do not need to ...)

Good luck at the eye doctor! :razz:
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 +1 142 +2 142

OK...sorry..after the tests. I'll check her at +3..will take my own stuff. Thanks. Will check back in later.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 +1 142 +2 142

Dont worry you are doing a great Job!! Hope the vet visit is easy & that Gracie is in good shape!!
Her numbers certainly look good!! Not to worry, all is well, you will get the hang of all this soon-
Just keep asking questions! Yes and check with your own meter at vet!
Big Hugs & paws & fingers crossed for a good vet report!
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 +1 142 +2 142

great job marjorie, yay the insulin is finally kickin in. i'm so proud of you for shooting and seemingly not putting up the 911 when you spotted the +1 142 :lol: altho i know you were nailbite_smile here we go....now the good stuff happens!
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 +1 142 +2 142

No advise from me Majorie since I'm a newbie...Just wanted to drop by and say that you are doing a great job with Gracie. Her numbers are looking very good.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198 +1 142 +2 142 +4 303

Thanks Tena, Lori, and Roni!!! Your support and funny comments (LORI) are really helping me out. Yeah...I was surprised at how
cool I was getting 142 at +1 AND +2 & DH was gone to boot so Gracie and I were surfing alone :cool:

Unfortunately, we didn't get to test at the vet at +3. Things were crazy there and because it was the eye doc, he didn't have a glucometer..he
only does eyes. I had taken mine but it was just too hectic and Gracie was stressed so we waited until we got home. You can tell by her
number that she was stressed...we were hoping to stay blue today but we skipped right through yellow to pink grr_red
But she seems to go up around +4 anyway...don't know why but it is a pattern.

So what test times now? Maybe give her a break until +6 and check that +9 and maybe +11? I appreciate you experienced mamabeans
guiding me on this. Thanks and hope everyone has a great day. I might actually get some work done as I am SUPPOSED to be working
from home this week.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198+1 142+2 142+4 303 Newbie questions

Sounds good! Guess she really was a little stressed, eh? She should come down nicely after that experience...
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198+1 142+2 142+4 303

Thanks, Pat. We'll check +6, +9 and +11 and see where we are today and whether that dosecrease is setting in for us. Hope to get back into the blue
today with her. Yes...she was stressed...panting and I could tell her temp went up a bit. However, for the first time ever, when I opened her carrier
at the vet's she came out on her own and was wandering around the exam room while they were setting up.

Have a great afternoon and we'll check back in soon. To work..to earn my pay..I am blessed to have this job where I can work from home and watch
my baby girl.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198+1 142+2 142+4 303

nice work, ladies!!

remind me when i can type a lil faster to tell you about my most hilarious experience at a vet clinic in los angeles...

hang in there...you be having hectic day!

loaded C and snoozy B
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS 198+1 142+2 142+4 303

woooo...do we WANT to know??? Hope Dorothy has a good snooze this afternoon. Be sure and show him Gracie's pic which I finally have up..
background is sorta pink :cool:
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375! NEWBIE ???

YIKES!! She started out so great but now she's at 375!! Any ideas...could it be residual from vet visit??? She's a little subdued now...anything I should do?? THanks!
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375! NEWBIE ???

marjorie just shows you what stress can do to those bg's.
learn and grow my friend,,,learn and grow.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375! NEWBIE ???

tom's bg's flew to 400 when a cat in our back yard hissed and yowled at him. cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375! NEWBIE ??

want want want...you will learn :roll: it's up to the cat. not us. we just slave around all day following them with bowls of fresh food and massage their backs when they want..but their bg's are not our decision.
repeat..."i am my cat's staff"
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375! NEWBIE ??

I know...she is so totally in charge. She has my heart wrapped around her itsy bitsy baby Gracie paw. How do you like her photo? Isn't she a doll baby?
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

yes i was wondering about that actually. it looks as if she's the size of a large earring and she in your palm...but that can't be right?? she is just precious and i want to rub my nose on her belly.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375! NEWBIE ??

Gracie! I'd recognize that sweet face anywhere. Even before peeking at your profile, I could tell you had Foldie in you. What a beautiful UN-Fold she is :cool:. Donovan is a "whoops" Fold.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

i'm so out of the lantus lingo loop confused_cat what's a foldie?
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

:oops: sorry, it has nothing to do with Lantus.
Foldie = Scottish Fold.
Kinda like Meezer = Siamese, Rental = Oriental, Coon = Maine Coon Cat, Wegie = Norwegian Forest Cat, etc.

One Foldie is never enough.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

never heard of that breed. how do you spot it? my tom is a ragdoll.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

Foldies!
Kittens-KittensScottishFoldNotListe.jpg
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

OOOOOO MMMMMM GGGGGG WANT!
CUTENESS OVERLOAD!!!!!
how do you get one of those.....i am hooked! do the ears stay that way.


sorry for the hijack marjorie
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

:cool:
they are irresistible, yes?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Fold

At cat shows, we get questions all the time.
"How did you get their ears like that?"
---- "Paper clips"
---- "Superglue"
---- "Clothespins" (joking of course)
"Are their ears broken?" (no)
"How do you tell when they're mad?" (trust me, you'll know).

Yes, they do stay that way, though females' ears will sometimes loosen up when they go into heat. Illness/fever can also do this. Unlike the American Curl, Foldie ears are quite flexible. Thank goodness since I have to unfold Donovan's ears to test him. He's a "whoops" b/c his dad is a Maine Coon. He inherited his mom's folded ears.

/hijack
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

Sorry gurrllls...I've actually been working :twisted:

Yes...Gracie is tiny and she is THE softest kitty you've EVER felt. Her daddy was Natl Best Cat and Natl Best of Breed. While she is of the "straight earred" variety of folds as is my little devil baby, Tobey, our other two, Gus and Teddi, are folded. BTW, Gracie was "Miss June" in last years Scottish Fold calendar. They are irresistable but so are RAGDOLLS....we need Tom photo! I'll help you, Lori.

Mr. Donovan is so supremely handsome...I love tuxedo cats and does he have a foldie personality???
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

Also...I found that when I put her photo in there, it made her face look long. She actually has a perfectly rounded foldie face...it's not long at all...don't know why it distorted it in the photo. Oh her belly...it is soooooooo soft with little polkie dots.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375

Thanks, Anne...how is Muffin now??

Here's a picture of Gracie's new little Foldie brother, Tobey. He's adorable but not as adorable as Gracie. He has PussNBoots (from Shrek) eyes....sorta like a bush baby!
 

Attachments

  • Tobey.jpg
    Tobey.jpg
    118.3 KB · Views: 2,606
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375 +9 310 Newbie ?

Ok..so we're slowly coming back down at +9.. I figure I should go ahead and shoot the dosecrease (.75u) again tonite if her PMPS is above 200? Then I'll check in and see if there are any recommendations for nighttime testing as this is the first night of her new dose. She's had a rough day today poor baby. Would love any thoughts/advice.

Thank you!
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375 +9 310 Newbie ?

yes, I would shoot the 0.75 dose. Let's wait and see what the numbers look like before deciding on what tests. :smile:
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375 +9 310

Thanks, Libby. We'll watch and hope she comes back down. She's really lethargic this afternoon....but I don't see any reason for it other than just getting too stressed out.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie AMPS198+1 142+2 142+4 303 +6 375 +9 310

Another YIKES....she went back up to 340!! This makes no sense to me...she started out great today and then the vet and now some of the highest numbers she's had. I can't believe the vet visit could keep her BG up that high. She ate MM at +9.5 and we gave 75 mls squids at +10. Any thoughts? What tests should we run tonight....will try not to be a bother since I know alot of folks have lots going on...like BINKS..come on boy!

Thank you all!
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie PMPS 340 NEWBIE QUESTIONS ON TESTING

Does anyone have any thoughts on why Gracie's AMPS are always so much lower? I don't know what to expect tonight with her or how often to test if we are at 340 at PMPS. confused_cat

Thanks!
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie PMPS 340 NEWBIE QUESTIONS ON TESTING

I doubt that this is just the vet visit. It's very likely that Gracie bounced from the 142. Those blue numbers are the lowest Gracie has seen. Her liver got surprised and panicked. When this happens, the liver dumps stored glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the bloodstream. In essence, the liver is no longer used to what is normal BG levels. Instead, it's reinterpreted "normal" as diabetic levels. As Gracie starts dipping into the blues and greens, her liver misinterprets these levels as hypo and executes a self-preservation response. So, the good news is that Gracie's liver is working quite well. The bad news is that she's in pink numbers and it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.
 
Re: 9/21 Gracie PMPS 340 NEWBIE QUESTIONS ON TESTING

hi marjorie, ya know they are not really sooooo much lower. just today.
i don't think you have a whole lot of testing to do tonight. how bout just a bed time test.
did'nt know how stressful it was for gracie to go to vet did we...maybe with the pokies and all she was even more nervous. these are stress #'s ok?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top