9/21 DC AMPS=92 +3.25=67 QUESTION ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
DC had a pretty good night last night.
I gave him a dose decrease to 1.75U last night and the same dose this morning.
Should I lower his dose again to 1.5U before we leave my friends? I'm still a little concerned about his lower numbers while I'll be gone.
He will get at least 4 doses at 1.75U before we go, maybe even 6 (still not sure)
His numbers for yesterday are:

AMPS = 79 fed
+4 = 59 fed MC
+6.75 = 38 fed HC & gravy
+7 = 40 fed gravy
+7.5 = 58
+9.5 = 86
PMPS = 83 fed
+2 = 63 fed
+3.25 = 58 fed MC
+5 = 79
+6.75 = 83 fed, so I could get some sleep

We are getting ready to leave for holidays in about 4 hours. I will still post numbers for the rest of today and possible tomorrow.
I'm still not sure if we'll be leaving my friends in the morning or Wednesday morning.

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25478

Frisky ate another tablespoon of canned food this morning with freeze-dried chicken crumpled on it.
At this point, I'll take what I can get. He wasn't happy about it, but he loves the freeze-dried chicken and I haven't given him any dry food for about 18 hours.
 
Re: 9/21 DC AMPS=92 QUESTION ???

It looks to me that you had a hard time getting DC to come up even with HC. I would also be concerned because I think you said DC would only be tested for pre-shots while you are away....correct me if I am wrong.

I will see if I can get others attention but if it were me I think I would have your daughter shoot less than 1.75 especially with the lower numbers.
 
Re: 9/21 DC AMPS=92 QUESTION ???

Well, you will be with him then till Wednesday, right? Will wait for others' advice about what to shoot...
(will you be able to post until Wed or will there be no computer access?)
 
Re: 9/21 DC AMPS=92 QUESTION ???

Miriam and Putty said:
It looks to me that you had a hard time getting DC to come up even with HC. I would also be concerned because I think you said DC would only be tested for pre-shots while you are away....correct me if I am wrong.
She will test before his AM shot, and then @ +8, maybe once more, then again before his PM shot and +2 during the weekdays.
She will test more on the weekend.
 
Re: 9/21 DC AMPS=92 QUESTION ???

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Well, you will be with him then till Wednesday, right? Will wait for others' advice about what to shoot...
(will you be able to post until Wed or will there be no computer access?)
I will definitely post tonight and maybe tomorrow. I'm still not sure which day we will be leaving my friends. Tomorrow or Thursday.
I will also see if she can post for me, while I'm away. If not I will phone her for the numbers and I will post, but I won't be able to do it every day.
I will have no computer access from late Saturday (9/25) until Wednesday (9/29)
 
Re: 9/21 DC AMPS=92 QUESTION ???

It's possible that what you saw last night was some carry over from DC's shed from the morning dose. I wouldn't be surprised if he bounced today.

I know Libby recommended 1.50u while you're away. You can always have your friends shoot lower than that. I've dropped Gabby's dose from a very fat 1.50 to 1.0u when I'm traveling. It's really you're call -- especially if you think you're friends would have trouble drawing 1.25u.
 
Re: 9/21 DC AMPS=92 QUESTION ???

Miriam and Putty said:
I read you post and thought you meant you were leaving for holiday in 4 hours...phew....you have more time.
I am leaving in 4 hours. But we are dropping the cats off at a friends 3 hours from home and spending 1 or 2 nights there before we continue on.
 
Re: 9/21 DC AMPS=92 QUESTION ???

Noreen....maybe you can still post for the next couple of days anyway.....and then when you are about to leave your friend's place, you can double check back here. It is looking as if the 1.0u might be the safest and easiest to measure...
What are your thoughts about that?
It might in the end set him back a bit, but it really might be the safest dose for your friend to manage.
Two weeks is a long time... :razz: I hope you have a great trip!
 
Re: 9/21 DC AMPS=92 QUESTION ???

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
It is looking as if the 1.0u might be the safest and easiest to measure...
What are your thoughts about that?
It might in the end set him back a bit, but it really might be the safest dose for your friend to manage.
Would it be better for her to use the pen for 1U or a syringe? Or is a pen not recommended?
The last time she gave DC insulin, he was using Humulin and we used the pen, not syringes.
 
I don't know of anyone that uses the pen instead of the syringe although I am sure there are those that do.
When I go away I pre-fill a syringe with colored water of the dose I have instructed to shoot. I like the caregiver to have a sample as to what the dose should look like.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top