9/20 Harry AMPS 202, +2 201, +7 68, +9 53

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erika&Harrycat

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's long convo

Recap
Amps 62
No shot
+2 88
+4 98
+6 76
+10 117
+11 135/145
PMPS 200
Reduced dose to .75
+1 191
+2 66/32
+3 42/57
+4 68
+5 102
+11 162

Well. Yesterday was eventful. He had a great day until after his PMPS. Went hypo and fed a few tsp to get his numbers back up and they did pretty quickly. Was hard to stay up last night and I apologize to @Tricia & Cinco for keeping you high and dry. I really need to get better at staying up and hanging with the big girls.

Big SPECIAL THANKS to @Marje and Gracie, @Squeaky and KT and @Chris & China for all their help yesterday.

Hoping today is more mellow and I can catch a few zzzz's.
 
Well this was good timing - I just got on to check on you. What a night you had too! Unfortunately I doubt today is going to be more mellow. You'll need to get another +2 for this cycle and see if he turned around and did that same swan dive again. I won't be around until about your +3 but you know what to do without anyone to tell you now. You did really good last night - again!!!!

HUGS!!
 
Well this was good timing - I just got on to check on you. What a night you had too! Unfortunately I doubt today is going to be more mellow. You'll need to get another +2 for this cycle and see if he turned around and did that same swan dive again. I won't be around until about your +3 but you know what to do without anyone to tell you now. You did really good last night - again!!!!

HUGS!!

Thanks! I appreciate all the help!
 
Made it back in one piece - I ride with my elderly neighbor to carry her trash to town on Sunday's. Sometimes it's a wild trip.

With that +2, I'd say King Harry is going to bounce for a while so you can likely get a good nap in today. I'd plan on a +5-+6. I'll bet it will still be in the yellows or the high blues....it will be interesting to see if King Harry plays along. :)

HUGS!
 
Made it back in one piece - I ride with my elderly neighbor to carry her trash to town on Sunday's. Sometimes it's a wild trip.

With that +2, I'd say King Harry is going to bounce for a while so you can likely get a good nap in today. I'd plan on a +5-+6. I'll bet it will still be in the yellows or the high blues....it will be interesting to see if King Harry plays along. :)

HUGS!
lol you crack me up!! Glad you survived!
Yes! Let's see if he plays along, indeed!
 
Great job handling those low numbers last night! I feel so bad I didn't get back to check on you and help Chris so she could get some sleep but I was out like a light just shortly after we had dinner....I think it was about 9:30 or so. Mike woke me up about 11 and steered me to the bed:joyful::joyful: I'm glad Tricia was around.

I thought he might be looking at a reduction soon but not quite that soon so it was good you considered the input and took him down last night....hopefully that will help get ahead of that depot but just remember it can affect up to six subsequent cycles.

Rest when you can!
 
I'm glad you were testing, even if was while still mostly asleep! You aren't the first to do that, nor will you be the last. I was a bit concerned, but I was pretty sure he wasn't going to do anything too scary.
 
Happy to see you survived the night Erika....and considering how low Harry went, he's looking pretty good today!!

I was really happy to see he was coming up before I had to leave you last night, but we make a "promise" to everyone that the first few times you deal with low numbers like that, one of us with a little more experience will stay with you until the drama is over, so I'm thankful that Tricia kept her eyes on you just in case Harry decided to do something silly

Take the opportunity while you can and get in a nap today....I know you must be tired too!
 
Well creeping is an improvement over doing a half gainer off the cliff!

Harry! That's far enough. I's on shore today, but I's watchin'. Don't make me send Miss China after you - she takes her job very seriously! C'mon back towards shore now, please. - Cinco, Deputy LagoonMeister
 
Well creeping is an improvement over doing a half gainer off the cliff!

Harry! That's far enough. I's on shore today, but I's watchin'. Don't make me send Miss China after you - she takes her job very seriously! C'mon back towards shore now, please. - Cinco, Deputy LagoonMeister

Lol! I agree! Fed some HC, and gonna re test in 20. I'll have the back door open for China and Cinco to keep Harry in line. ;)
 
Harry....if I have to come out there........Oh well....I guess I'll head that direction just in case!!
cat with life preserver.jpg
 
If your schedule is flexible enough, I'd try to stall another 30 and see what happens....remember, you have to be able to move your morning shot back as long as you stall

Otherwise you have a few choices

Go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose and be prepared for whatever might happen (have enough supplies and be willing to stay up as long as necessary)

Skip tonight and start over whenever you want to tomorrow

Give a shot, but at a lower dose...but you'd still want to make sure to get a +1 and +2 to see where he's going
 
That's the only thing you can do unless you prepared to be up all night...you can't shoot a .75 dose into that with what's he's been doing.

How about shooting a lower dose like a .5 or even a touch under it if he's rising at all...or skipping again...
 
If your schedule is flexible enough, I'd try to stall another 30 and see what happens....remember, you have to be able to move your morning shot back as long as you stall

Otherwise you have a few choices

Go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose and be prepared for whatever might happen (have enough supplies and be willing to stay up as long as necessary)

Skip tonight and start over whenever you want to tomorrow

Give a shot, but at a lower dose...but you'd still want to make sure to get a +1 and +2 to see where he's going


If I skip tonight will I be messing up the data to figure out his pattern? I feel like I have to skip a shot once a day since I started this insulin, which is fine, but I don't want to hurt his chances of getting better if I keep taking away from his insulin. Does that make sense? I'm almost tempted to give him a lower dose, but I still feel like he might nose dive again... And this mama is tired!!
 
That's the only thing you can do unless you prepared to be up all night...you can't shoot a .75 dose into that with what's he's been doing.

How about shooting a lower dose like a .5 or even a touch under it if he's rising at all...or skipping again...


.5 might be a good dose for tonight. Lol I'm gonna see what his numbers are in a few min
 
If you're tired and not 100% sure you'd be able to test later on tonight, I'd skip

His safety is the #1 thing here and if you fall asleep and don't wake up easily to an alarm, we don't want that!

If you're going to stall another 30, let's see where he's at then
 
I'm concerned that he'll dive too.

If I was going to give a dose, I think I'd 'twist' a good drop off the .5 dose. You'll still need a +1/+2 then get up at +5-+6 to grab a test. If you skip, you can likely rest....you need it...
 
All right, My cool cats, I went ahead and gave him his dinner. And I'm skipping his shot this evening but testing in 30min. And starting over tomorrow. Is it possible he could only need insulin once a day? Or at least a way lower dose in the evening? King Harry is so unpredictable. Lol
 
What pattern?? He's not paying a lot of attention to "the rules" ;)

We want to:
1. keep him safe
2. not kill off his mama
3. figure out his "pattern"

If you decide to skip tonight, I think I'd start back tomorrow morning at .5....we can always go back up if we need to


Haha!! Exactly, Chris!!! 1-3 are important for sure! Lol I think I might try that dose.
 
Well we'll just have to try a lower dose and see if we can get 2 in the same 24 hour period!!

Harry...we're all really glad you're responding so much better to the Lantus than you were to the Novolin, but maybe you could stop being a BRAT? ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top