9/20 Dosing Advice Needed Soon!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Autumn - Sunday’s mom

Member Since 2021
Good morning all,

Last night before my sugar baby’s PM shot, her BG was 84 (we used the AlphaTrak2 pet meter). After consulting this group (all who said to skip her PM shot) and her vet (who said to shoot 2 units of Lantus - her normal dosage), I decided to shoot 1 unit to meet in the middle of this advice.

I just checked her BG for her AM shot (she has not eaten yet), and her number is 63.

It has been about 1 week since we have switched her from Purina Pro Hydrolyzed dry food to an all wet diet (FF and Weruva).

I was told last night to potentially start with .5 units this morning to start low and go slowly up as needed, but 63 is pretty low. What do I do?

thank you!
 
Please put NS (no shot) in the units column for today :bighug:
Did you test anymore after last night dose of 1 unit?
Looks like the switch to wet food is making a big difference
 
Last edited:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-19-dosage-advice.253204/#post-2856042
Previous thread
In this thread you said you have dry food if he ever drops to low , that's if you give insulin. I would not feed dry at all, I would stick with wet , some of the ones I suggested or look at the food link I gave you

I haven’t fed her dry once since switching to wet. I just mentioned I have some of her old dry left over because I thought you said any high carb was good to have on hand. I will not feed her this. I will get some of the high carb gravy FF you recommended. Thank you.
 
I haven’t fed her dry once since switching to wet. I just mentioned I have some of her old dry left over because I thought you said any high carb was good to have on hand. I will not feed her this. I will get some of the high carb gravy FF you recommended. Thank you.
Great, if she ever dropped to low while on insulin dry takes longer to get in there system, that's why we feed wet either medium or high carb if needed
Like Red said you could have a diet controlled diabetic kitty
:cat:
 
I'd agree with 0.5u, provided you get at least one test tonight, I'd check at +2. If it is lower than preshot, with Lantus that would indicate you need to monitor more closely.
 
I'd agree with 0.5u, provided you get at least one test tonight, I'd check at +2. If it is lower than preshot, with Lantus that would indicate you need to monitor more closely.
Thank you. When you say monitor more closely, do you mean test more frequently? If so, how often would you suggest? Thank you.
 
Yes, depending on the +2 and how much lower than preshot, then that may mean testing more frequently and setting some alarms depending on how the cycle goes so you can intervene with higher carb food if necessary. He's come down from his no shot earlier today, so you may need to watch the cycle closely if you shoot.

After the +2, you'll know more regarding additional testing.
 
Yes, depending on the +2 and how much lower than preshot, then that may mean testing more frequently and setting some alarms depending on how the cycle goes so you can intervene with higher carb food if necessary. He's come down from his no shot earlier today, so you may need to watch the cycle closely if you shoot.
Would not shooting be better?
 
Since you are just starting to gather data, and if you can't be up to monitor and intervene with higher carbs, then skipping is okay, provided your kitty hasn't had any issues with ketones in the past.

You can always start fresh tomorrow morning. Seeing that 63 this morning on AT2 would mean the 1u is too much. Also makes me wonder what he did earlier, since nadirs (lowest point in the cycle) is typically around +6 after shot, although they can move around, it isn't always +6. Here on the main health forum, until you gather enough data, we recommend not shooting if number is under 200.

Depending on what your preshot is tomorrow, you can post for help if it is under 200, otherwise try 0.5u.
 
Since you are just starting to gather data, and if you can't be up to monitor and intervene with higher carbs, then skipping is okay, provided your kitty hasn't had any issues with ketones in the past.

You can always start fresh tomorrow morning. Seeing that 63 this morning on AT2 would mean the 1u is too much. Also makes me wonder what he did earlier, since nadirs (lowest point in the cycle) is typically around +6 after shot, although they can move around, it isn't always +6. Here on the main health forum, until you gather enough data, we recommend not shooting if number is under 200.

Depending on what your preshot is tomorrow, you can post for help if it is under 200, otherwise try 0.5u.
Thank you for all of the useful advice/info. I set some alarms and will test in 2+ and more if needed. I just shot .5 and will see what the 2+ is.
 
Not sure of your usual feeding schedule but I'd give a couple teaspoons of LC food. She's pretty much flat given meter variance, so I'd catch her again with a test at +4. Sometimes when they are flattish at +2 they don't get up to much of a drop, but I'd check once more just to be sure she's not dropping too much before calling it a night.
 
Not sure of your usual feeding schedule but I'd give a couple teaspoons of LC food. She's pretty much flat given meter variance, so I'd catch her again with a test at +4. Sometimes when they are flattish at +2 they don't get up to much of a drop, but I'd check once more just to be sure she's not dropping too much before calling it a night.
Ok, thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top