Good luck!Just sent the vet a PDF copy of her spreadsheet, a copy of the TR protocol as well as the explanations @Wendy&Neko gave me yesterday... my go-to vet has no availability before we move, so wish us luck with this vet who prescribed Chewie's insulin!
So, if she continues to stay high and flat in the next 40 days, do we keep on increasing her dose as per TR?Bhooma reminded me (@Bandit's Mom ), you might not want to be in a rush for testing. There is some research in the UK that shows that up to 1/3 of cats tested before 73 days on insulin can test negative for acromegaly, when they are in fact positive. Can't remember the details now, but something to do with starting insulin and how it affects IGF-1. We did have one cat here, Howie, who tested negative for acro but positive for IAA when tested too early. A retest showed positive. So, to save money on a possible retest, you might want to start the conversation with the vet, but schedule it for later. I think today is just day 37 on insulin? Though I guess you'll be on the other coast by day 73?
Right now, because the vet wouldn't approve more than a single pen, I had to get it locally for $99 a pen (ouch).Where are you buying your insulin now? My understanding was that if you order if from Mark's online, they ask for a prescription the first time. But don't worry so much about refill prescriptions.
1) Good to know - I really hope she won't need to pee giant clumps too often, but the plan is to get a +2 or 3 at least for each cycle, and a litter break every couple of hours in the car when we change drivers.As for the concerns:
1) I took Neko on her road trip to Colorado State University (3 days) and tested her at our lunch and gas or rest stops if needed. Neko had just earned her first reduction before we left, and earned more on her way back. With Chewie not seeing greens yet, you don't to test as much. If she was angling for a reducie, I'd be more concerned.
2) You could always do the tests now, with the risk that the one for acro would be negative, and you might have to retest again. But it'll cost more to do that.
3) See my comment about Mark's above.
4) Mark's is cheaper, also talk to the vet about Levemir. If it gets to it, we might be able to entertain the concept of using R or Regular insulin. It's a short acting insulin that lowers the numbers enough for the L insulins (Lantus or Levemir) to grab onto and do a better job. R you don't need a prescription. But there are risks to go with the benefits, we ask that people work with someone experienced in R before trying it.
5) Not all cats see the sting, but a lot do. Neko started walking away when I was injecting. My fur shots increased. She purred though Lev shots. How is Chewie reacting to the shot?

Thank you! It’s going to be an adventure!Good luck with the move virginie and chewie!

Yay! And stayed yellow at PMPS!238 at +8 wooooh![]()

Hooray Chewie!Thank you! It’s going to be an adventure!
Also, can you believe it, our first yellow PMPS!! 236! I’m so excited.