9/20 Boris - evening update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patti and Merlin

Member Since 2009
Good morning everyone!

I hope I did the right thing last nite - please go ahead and say if i should have done differently!!!! :smile:

yesterday's recap
amps was 185
@ +30 minutes - 184
dosed with 0.75 units 1 hour later than his normal time that we would like.

+1.5=136
+3 = 135
+5 = 128
+8 = 140
+10= 164
+11= 178
+12= 165


I went ahead and gave 0.75 units last nite. I tried to check here first but I think I missed everyone and this mom was needing some sleep.

Now here's during the nite:
+4 = 112
+7 = 77
+9 = 86
+11 = 95


I know with him already that it's going to be probably 3 more hours before he climbs back to around 180 again.

I did feed him 1/2 can of lo carb food @ +7. Mainly because it was the middle of the nite - I was really tired - worried he would go too low - still needed to get some sleep in between the testing.

The greens were at don't scare me but are they considered ok on the lantus. And with him being at this level than by +12 I can't shoot him. So i'll continue to test but wondering do I need to reduce? Just wondering what we'll do on the days when Joe and I both work?

ok - know I'm rambling here now :oops:
 
Re: 9/20 Boris

sorry Patti, there aren't as many folks here on weekday mornings. I'm giving you a bump (I'm at work and can't stick around). Test at +12 and you can post for advice if you're not sure. Usually we wait until they go under 50 for a reduction. If you're getting unshootable preshots, that also calls for a reduction, though in that case they often will need to increase again later.

Also, you can shoot at lower numbers than you think. You shot 165 and it was fine, so you can probably shoot 130's or so this time. Most of the time on Lantus/Lev, the lower you shoot the flatter the curve will be. If the cat really needs a reduction, then they'll drop below 50 to let you know. It's possible that Boris plans to do that today. Are you home to test, or are you heading to work?
 
Re: 9/20 Boris

forgot to add, on the 17th he went up pretty fast after +12. Boris might be one of the quickest trips to regulation that we've had. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/20 Boris

Hi Patti!
Boris is looking really good, those are some pretty numbers... nice and green but not too low.
I hope Libby is right about him getting regulated quickly. He didn't bounce much from that 40 the other day and to me that is a really good sign. Really good. :-D

Have to run out now but I wanted to say hi and wish you and Boris well. Say hi to Joe for me! I hope we can visit again soon and I'll even let Blue lick my toes again, hee, hee!

(or you guys could come South and BigMac can lick YOUR toes.) :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Boris

Thanks Libby

He's 155 now so I'm going ahead with 0.75u. I'm home all day again to test!

Hi Carolyn - soooo goood to seeeeee YOU!!! Give BigMac a huge hug from me! I'm hoping to make Boris BIG BORIS! hee hee hee. He has a ways to go tho!
Blue misses you! :twisted: :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Boris

Looking verra nice :mrgreen:

Any more nummers?
Have you brought your time forward at all? Need to note on ss. 15-20 mins earlier shooting won't have an impact. Anything earlier (like 30 mins to an hour) than this is the equivalent of some level of dose increase.You would then need to factor that in with what numbers you see.

Do you know if Boris will feed himself if he goes low?
If not, your right to be cautious for when you and Joe are working. You'll need to take it gently. If no-one is around, some good basic advice in the stickies. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/20 Boris

Boris looks great, Patti! Has he really only been on insulin a few days? If he's had a diet change, too, I would watch him pretty closely.
 
Re: 9/20 Boris

Nina - he's been on Vetsulin for a couple weeks before getting the Lantus. No diet change at all - been on lo carb since we adopted him in January. Went on/off the vetsulin for a few days here/there since January but is now on Pred for some cholangiohepatitis.

here's the evening update if anyone has time to check - is this kind of usual? I know it wasn't a fur shot and he didn't get anything extra during the day. He did get extra food during the nite and then ate his usual 1 1/2 cans of food at 9am - 1 hour before his Lantus dose. I gave him a little break from testing and tried to test on hours I haven't already so...

+6= 207
+8= 229


So obviously I know he'll need his insulin @ +12 - I"m not going to test till then. for sure I'll test a few times again tonite.

What I"d like to do tonite is work towards getting him back on his regular times we'd like to use. We are an hour off. So I was thinking of dosing 1/2 hour early tonite. am I reading/thinking clearly on things? And staying @ 0.75units for now.

Again - I can't thank all of you enough for all your time and help!
 
Might be a little bit of a bounce. Generally you can move a dose 15-20 minutes with little impact, I would think 30 minutes will still be ok but it will depend on how he is when you test him then.
 
boris is looking good! he's liking lantus! :mrgreen:
it doesn't look like you'll have any trouble shooting a half hour early tonight (unless he slides into a lower pmps). if he continues to rise from here, you might even be able to shoot him an hour early if he's up around 300+.
 
Hi Patti -

After our phone conversation yesterday I checked Boris' SS - looking very good, girl. He has numbers like I WISH Dude had - but then you know that story. :) Dude is just Dude, I guess.

It looks like the Lantus is really agreeing with Boris - he seems to be doing great. You, as usual, rock, girl. Keep up the good work. Will keep checking up on Boris.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Hugs,

Emmy & Dude (& Mittsi too)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top