9/20 - Alphyne @ 428 AMPS; +2 @ 397; +4.5 @ 344 - alternate between doses?

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
previous - 9/7 - Alphyne - AMPS @ 404 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Hi! Well, after the reduction on 9/7, Alphy's numbers continue to climb. She's sometimes bouncing (like last night), but I can't find her nadir, or what's causing her to bounce. She must be dropping really fast to bounce as high as she did last night. She's definitely keeping me on my toes.

She is due for a curve in a day or two...I was trying to hold her a bit longer at her present dose since it seems like things take a while to 'settle' for her after an increase or decrease. But, her numbers are getting pretty high, and I don't think I'll wait this time. She rarely even gets in to the low 200s.

It looks like she's one of those cats that may never go into remission, and I am perfectly fine with that, as long as I could get her stable, which sadly I'm unable to do right now. (I know she might surprise me...hope springs eternal!)

Question for the group - she seems to go back and forth (most commonly) between 1.75U and 2U. She does better on 2U, but will eventually crash, like she did on 9/7. At present, I can't switch to TR, because I'm not able to get her entirely off dry food (I'm still trying). Is that ok...jumping between 2 doses like that? Will it have any long-term effects? When she gets down to low numbers, she is physically fine...she just meows at me non-stop telling me she wants food, and when I test her, she's low. But on the 1.75U her numbers are so high...

I don't want to be causing more problems. I am trying to get her better, not make her worse! I am just nervous about this constant yo-yo-ing! Thank you in advance!
 
Last edited:
Sorry she’s being difficult to regulate. It took Max around 9 months but he was not eating dry so I could be more aggressive. You are holding the dose too long and that causes glucose toxicity to set in and her insulin needs will continue to rise most likely. Going aback and forth in dose won’t hurt her at all. She needs more juice in my opinion.
 
You are holding the dose too long and that causes glucose toxicity to set in and her insulin needs will continue to rise most likely. Going aback and forth in dose won’t hurt her at all.

Thank you! I usually hold betwern 10-14 days. She ended up at 2U longer this last time since her nadir on curve day was between 80-150; instructions say to lengthen time bewteen dose changes, but of course Alphy doesnt surf, she crashes. She's also had some food/med changes, and SLGS says to not make multiple changes.

I'll try to get her back to a curve more often. Thanks again!
 
Back
Top