9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399 PMPS 456 +2 325 +3 378

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210

So now if you need to update your condo. You would just use the reply button and post your question, or any other comment you want to make.
But to update Michaels numbers that is when you would want to use edit on the first post.
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210

Thanks again, Darin.
Most helpful. Still trying to learn the ins and outs of this website. I know a little bit about computers, but I am a long way from being a computer whiz.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210

My mom uses little post it notes place by her computer to remind her how to do stuff on her computer. She says that helps her a ton.
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210

Yes, and if you are replying to someone's specific post in your condo you can start the reply like this; darin, then your reply. Other wise just click reply and enter your comment. Like each time you edited your first post in the condo from yesterday you should have used reply and not edit.
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210

Morning Paula!!

Congrats on the reduction. Paws crossed Michael likes his new dose.

Just a suggestion, although I know testing can present challenges, but when you get a lower number like yesterday (48), its best to keep testing, with some food management, every 30 mins until they are safely up and you know they can stay up without food.

I'm not sure if we've given you the info, but a +2 test is important because it tells you whether it will be an active cycle or not. You've done a great job of getting the +2 test at night. Is it possible to also get them in the morning? The reason is because if the +2 test is much higher the the preshot, it's likely to be a slow cycle, if it is the same or close to the preshot, you are likely to see an active Lantus cycle like you did yesterday. I bet his +2 was a lot lower than his AMPS :-D if it is much lower than the preshot, I'd get a +3 and be very vigilant because he could drop early.

His +2 last night was quite a bit lower than his preshot. A +3 test would have been a follow up. I understand that staying up is difficult and so if he's dropping, you can always give him high carb food to change the cycle and keep numbers up instead of allow them to go down.

I hope that helps. Please let me know if you have questions. :-D Have an awesome day with your handsome Michael.
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399

Thanks for the great advice. It's very much appreciated.
This is very confusing. I was all set to increase .25u on 9/3, then he drops and earned a reduction of .25u.
Don't think he is holding the reduction. (amps +7 399) Is it a bounce? I am to hold this decrease until Thurs. PMPS. If the numbers are still high I have to go back to the 1.5u dose. Please look at M's SS.
Paula :smile:
ps I thought I had this all figured out. (Guess not)
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399

Paula

I'm on my way out to take Gracie to the vet but will respond when I get back. Ok? We have time :-D
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399

hehe i'll beat marje to it.

yes, it looked like Michael needed a dose increase before - but NOW, since he just went below 50 yesterday, he's told us that 1.5u was a little bit too much insulin. These diabetic cats like to keep us on our toes - they change things up as soon as you think you have a plan. :-D

So today, you are giving him 1.25u insulin. He is bouncing - his body is reacting to the 48 yesterday. He might stay high until Thursday night, or he might clear the bounce and bring his blood sugar back down before Thursday night. Let's just keep watching him. You'll know he cleared this bounce when he gets at least down into the 100's. For now, just stay with the 1.25u.

One really important thing that both Darin and Marje have said is that anytime you catch Michael under 50, you want to give him the carbs like you did, but then it's really important to recheck him in about 20 minutes and make sure he's come up above 50. That's super important. Sometimes he might need even more carbs to bring them up, so you have to do it all again. We call that "lather, rinse, repeat." Some people also call it "poke-carb-poke-carb."

The main thing is that you have to keep checking him for a while to make sure he's over 50 and staying there! silly kitty! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399

Julie,
You are too funny/ Yes you did beat Marge to it!
Thanks a bunch. I ordered the Jeweler Magnifier 9/1 and got it today 9/2. Pretty fast huh?
I checked it out and it seems like it is going to work for me, although, its going to take getting use to it.
I am going to to draw the insulin now, so I will draw 1.25u. First I will test and post.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399

sounds great - that jeweler's magnifier was a great deal! you had a good find!

You can go ahead and shoot him, unless he's got a low preshot. Then post, but if it's normal or high, go ahead and shoot. I'm going to go do other things for a bit.
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399 PMPS 456

Darin,
He needs to find one that is smaller. Better yet he dosen't need one that bounces. Just one one that rolls nice & smooth :roll:
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399 PMPS 456

What is considered a big drop in #'s :?: M's pmps 456 Pmps +2 325 What should I look for :?: I always leave food out for him, but he eats it right away.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399 PMPS 456 +2 325

Yes that is a big drop, A test at +3 for sure and +4. That is a 131pt and the lantus is about to start to work its magic. He must really be clearing his bounce. Make sure to get a +3 and post, I will be waiting.
I think what would work well for your situation would be an auto feeder.
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399 PMPS 456 +2 325

That is definitely a huge drop. Even though he is still high, I would feed him some low carb now and try to slow down the speed he is dropping. I know it is late for you, but I would test again at +3.

Can you print out that link sienne gave you, just in case no on is online to help?
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399 PMPS 456 +2 325

Thanks.
I will do a +3. its only 1/2hr from now.
Darin,
I've been thinking about the auto feeder, but i'm not sure how they work. If you set the time for the feeder to open, and he doesn't eat right away, doesn't it close up until the next time? All this digital stuff is just about as confusing as "FD" :?
 
Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210 +7 399 PMPS 456 +2 325

I Dont use an auto feed but there are others here that do. Molly is one of them. From what I have read, you are able to set the time to open and the length of time it stays open. I also believe there are multiple slots. So you are able to load more then one meal.
You could post over to Molly's condo and have her give you more info.
 
Thanks, Darin
Just tested. PMPS +3 378 he went up 53 points. I think because I fed him a little lc food to slow the drop. It did. I will still leave food out for him.
Is it MolloynSkooter you're referring to, and how do I post over to her condo :?:
Paula :smile:
 
Did you feed Michael as Julie suggest at 2.5? The +3 I can't imagine that the food would give that good of spike in 30 mins, maybe we are seeing a strange acting bounce. Can u get a 3.5 to see if its holding or dropping.
 
Just reply on her condo, although she is in Minnesota so it is 10:30 for not sure how late she stays up, prob better to wait till tomorrow. I believe she post her new condo at 6am her time, 4am our time. So when you post your condo tomorrow, look for her condo. Reply to it asking what ever questions you have.
 
I used a timed feeder. The petsafe 5 compartment feeder has 4 covered compartments. There are directions on how to set the timer. It was easy to follow the directions, but I did have to use them each time. The buttons aren't intuitive, but with directions it is ok.

Let's say you shoot at 7pm. You want him to eat at +3,+4,+5. You would put food in 3 compartments, then set the food dish in the base unit. You would set the timer for 10pm, 11pm, and midnight. Put the cover down on the food tray over an empty compartment. At 10pm the base will rotate under the cover and the first compartment of food will move into the opening so michael can eat.

It will stay open like that until 11pm, when it will rotate the food dish, exposing the next compartment that you filled.

It will make more sense when you have it in front of you. If you buy that particulsr brand and have trouble figuring it out, I can make a video showing you how to do it.

Since michael stopped dropping, I think you could go to bed.
 
Thanks
I will. I am very very tired. It is so hard to get up at 5am. It takes almost 1/2 hr to get my eyes in focus.
I guess you would call it waking up. I never had a problem like this until I got sick. Just another complication of the 3 aneurysms.
The video would be great!
Have a good night!
Paula ( Michael's Mom) :smile:
ps Leaving food out for Michael.
 
Paula

Hopefully you are sound asleep now. I'm glad Julie answered your questions. We were at the vet three hours because they were running so far behind. By the time we got home, it was time to fix dinner. I was just coming back to respond so I'm glad Julie and Darin were here :-D
 
Hi Paula:

I use an automatic feeder often. Here is the one I use:

PetSafe Automatic Feeder

It's pretty easy to use. There are compartments that hold ice packs to keep the food fresh.

Use the "shop" button at the top of this page and put "automatic pet feeder" in the box. It'll take you to Amazon, and when you go there from FDMB, the board gets a little $.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top