Re: 9/2 Michael AMPS 210
Morning Paula!!
Congrats on the reduction. Paws crossed Michael likes his new dose.
Just a suggestion, although I know testing can present challenges, but when you get a lower number like yesterday (48), its best to keep testing, with some food management, every 30 mins until they are safely up and you know they can stay up without food.
I'm not sure if we've given you the info, but a +2 test is important because it tells you whether it will be an active cycle or not. You've done a great job of getting the +2 test at night. Is it possible to also get them in the morning? The reason is because if the +2 test is much higher the the preshot, it's likely to be a slow cycle, if it is the same or close to the preshot, you are likely to see an active Lantus cycle like you did yesterday. I bet his +2 was a lot lower than his AMPS

if it is much lower than the preshot, I'd get a +3 and be very vigilant because he could drop early.
His +2 last night was quite a bit lower than his preshot. A +3 test would have been a follow up. I understand that staying up is difficult and so if he's dropping, you can always give him high carb food to change the cycle and keep numbers up instead of allow them to go down.
I hope that helps. Please let me know if you have questions.

Have an awesome day with your handsome Michael.