9/2 Crushy Condo: amps 367 +6 257 ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
Hi,
Crushy has been on one unit for 7 days now. Can you guys look at his numbers and see if you think a dose increase is warranted? I keep wanting to go up 1/2 unit but want to run it by you guys seeing as Im pretty new to this.

Before I moved him to 1 unit his numbers were swinging around and I was chasing it with different doses (you can see more on his SS in my signature)

fri 8/30
amps 407
+ 2 355
+7 357
pmps 359
+2 342

Sat 8/31
amps 355
+ 6 185
pmps 112
+2 247

Sun 9/1
amps 370
+5 216
pmps 365
+ 2 377

Mon9/2
amps 367
+ 6 257

Ketones are fine

He is also acting fine today. Maybe a teeny bit sleepy...but he's a cat! If I wasnt watching him closely I wouldnt notice.

That doesnt tell me much though because since he's been diagnosed Ive seen him bright, purry and playful when his numbers are high, and looking tired and drinking a lot when his numbers are normal. And visa versa (looking tired when his numbers are low and normal when his numbers are low) its Kinda confusing.

Im still waiting for the automatic feeder to arrive so he's still getting two meals a day.
He's Raw fed

Thanks for your help
Michele

ps one thing that does concern me is that yesterday (Sunday) Crushy had a run in with our other cat Spikey I have to keep these two cats separated because Crushy, who is normally the sweetest cat in the world and gets along fine with other cats, hate hate HATES Spike and tries to kill her every chance he gets. This is not a normal cat spat (Ive had cats all my life and Ive never seen anything like this)...its brutal (keep in mind Crushy is very big) Hair flies, Spike gets so scared she pees on herself. Its not pretty. We keep them separated in diff parts of the house but mistakes happen and occasionally they meet. Yesterday he did not get a hold of her, we heard the loud meowing first and stepped in. But it definitely riled Crushy up. Im wondering if that effected his blood sugar. The run in happened AFTER the 216 reading.
 
I'd suggest you hold the 1U dose a bit longer. Looks to me like Crushy is bouncing still from that low of 112 on 8/31.

Stress induced numbers can increase within 5 minutes and last up to 90 minutes in the study I read about. I wouldn't think the high numbers you got at PMPS were due to stress, unless the cat excitement was within an hour or 2 of the PMPS test.
 
I'll second Deb.

Crushy is getting movement on the 1u for sure and the spike might have been caused by the low 112. Let him settle some more.

As to the BG reacting to the fight- yes- riling up from stress will raise those pesky little buggers. Sneakers raised almost 300 points once from a vet visit and held it for hours. If you take a look at teh =2 it isn't much raised from the PS test which means while the food was spiking his stress from the fight was ebbing off.
 
hmjohnston said:
I'll second Deb.

Crushy is getting movement on the 1u for sure and the spike might have been caused by the low 112. Let him settle some more.

Thanks!
Michele
 
Thank you, thank you, thank you, for being consistent with those 'before shot' tests! :thumbup

It is sooo important to know where they are when you shoot. And you've been getting some 'before bed' checks too, that's great! You are doing really well. Big Hugz! :YMHUG:

When will you have a day off that you'll have time to do a curve for Crushy? That is very helpful for those experienced members that can help you with dosing advice. That way they can see if you need to adjust him just a bit.

Have you played around with a used syringe and see if you can get a .25 dose, like 1.25 or 1.75? It's not easy, but not impossible and the more you do it the better you get at it. Most cats end up with those smaller increases/decreases, instead of always going up/down a half unit each time. When you get the chance, try it out with water. If you have food coloring, add a drop to a small bowl of water and play with that. It's easier to see if there's some color in it. :smile:

Crushy seems to be running pretty flat and high today, that's why I asked when you'd have time for a mini curve, at least. He might need a little adjustment, but that's hard for others to advise on, without a curve.

Again, you are doing really well. Here's to healthy and happy kitties! drinking24
 
nckitties3 said:
Thank you, thank you, thank you, for being consistent with those 'before shot' tests! :thumbup

It is sooo important to know where they are when you shoot. And you've been getting some 'before bed' checks too, that's great! You are doing really well. Big Hugz! :YMHUG:

When will you have a day off that you'll have time to do a curve for Crushy? That is very helpful for those experienced members that can help you with dosing advice. That way they can see if you need to adjust him just a bit.

Thanks! :-D

I think I can manage a curve on Friday (Ugh Im already dreading the every two hour ear pokes)

your right he has been kind of flat and high the last two days

Tues 9/3
amps 351
+6 377
pmps 381
+2 358

Wed 9/4
amps 355


Michele

Wed
 
When was the last time you did a full curve (every 2 hrs)? Have you ever? I know you bounced his dose around for a while, not knowing that you weren't supposed to. That's what comes with time and knowledge and you're doing much better now. :thumbup

I know some members that will do a full curve once a month and a mini curve (+3,+6,+9) 2 weeks later. So they rotate a full curve with a mini every other week. A lot depends on how long the cat has been in treatment, too. A cat that is stable might not need it as often, but that only comes with time. I know there are cats that have been on the same dose for months, same good numbers every day, etc. Not much sense in the curves unless something changes with them. Here we go again, ECID, Every Cat Is Different. Gawd I hate that saying, but it is SO true! :-x :lol:

Usually it is recommended to do a curve if you are considering raising the dose, to make sure you aren't missing a low spot that could be dangerous with a dose increase. Once the cat has been on a dose for a while, has pretty much settled in but is still not where he needs to be. Lucian always took longer than most to settle, I usually made it a point to wait a week or more on a dose before I upped it. Lucky people have cats that settle in in 3 days, must be nice! :lol:

Because I test so much, I don't feel it necessary for my Lucian. He's a cat that never has 2 similar cycles anyway. :lol: I actually did 1 'extreme' curve on him. Tested every hour for the whole cycle. :o :lol: He does get tested at least 5-6 times a day, almost always more. Much more if he's running lower than I'm comfortable with. But since changing his insulin, he is doing so much better. He doesn't have the extreme highs and lows that he did before. The majority of cats do well on Lantus, he just happens to be one of the small minority that didn't.

Hang in there, you're still pretty new to this sugar dance. :-D Takes a while to get the steps down. ;-)
 
When was the last time you did a full curve (every 2 hrs)? Have you ever?

Ive never done one. Im actually feeling pretty lucky to get as many tests in as I am in a day without a major fuss from him. Besides wouldnt his ears be killing him with that many tests? I have only been pricking ONE of his ears. It started bleeding easier so I kept at just the one. I figure Im going to have to start in on the other one soon....it just seems to take so many pokes to get it to bleed regularly and I was kind of on a roll with the one ear. arg.'

Michele
 
yeah hon, only 'use' will get the other one to bleed better, Most cats have one that is more cooperative than the other, Lucian does too, but I rotate between them on every test. I make it a point not to use the same one twice in a row. I just figure that's easier on him. After a few months, the difference isn't near as noticeable.

Have you tried holding a warm rice sock on the stubborn ear? I had to do that for months on both ears, Lucian's ears are usually cold and cold doesn't bleed well. But after a few months, it doesn't seem to matter with him anymore, they bleed cold or not, it's just a little slower when cold. Do you use an antibiotic ointment, like neosporin? I think that helps keep them from getting sore, too. For months, I used it after every test. Now, unless I test more than usual, I just use it once a day.

Between now and curve time, try to use the other ear once or twice. If need be, maybe go for a mini curve this time, as long as you keep getting that +2 at night. The key is to have evidence of what his numbers are the entire cycle. If you always get that before bed test @+2, then you already know what he's doing @+2. You can kinda ignore that one at curve time. Maybe go for +3,+6.+9 this time and give yourself a couple weeks more practice with the stubborn ear before you attempt a full curve. Think that would be easier for you? Probably less stressful for both you and Crushy. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top