9/2 Clare PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-96;+5.5-120;+6.5-130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good afternoon, Lantus Land Neighbors!

Yesterday's Condo

Today's News:

AMPS: 308
+3.5: 260
+6: 288

PMPS: 280
+2: 194
+3.5: 105
+4.5: 96
+5.5: 120
+6.5: 130

We hope everyone had a good rest (at least 1 :roll: ) over Labor Day weekend.

A question: Clare's bounces seem to be more prolonged lately and I'm wondering if it might be a good idea to raise her dose by a small amount. We have the calipers now and can do this.

What do you think?

Thanks for your guidance,

Georgette
 
Re: 9/2 Clare AMPS 308;+3.5-260;+6-288 Increase dose?

I agree with you but you might want to let this bounce clear first.

Remember it can take up to six cycles for a bounce to clear. Having been one who has often raised on a bounce clearing cycle, I can attest that numbers can come down fast. Also, sometimes on a dose, they can fizzle a bit as if they are resting, and then get going again.

It's your decision but just keep in mind if you raise as the bounce is clearing, you will likely have a very active cycle. If she clears first, you can see where she is and then take the dose up. I think even with the green nadirs she has had, she has room for more insulin. I'd increase to 0.5u unless she decides to drop into the 50s/60s or lower.

You have the post with videos on dosing with calipers, right?
 
Re: 9/2 Clare AMPS 308;+3.5-260;+6-288 Increase dose?

Hi Marje,

Thanks for your advice. I'll wait until the bounce clears. Then, I assume that it's at the next regular shot time that we'd do the 0.5? The last time we were on that dose we did have a low nadir, so we'll be vigilant.

Yes, I do have the video that you did on using the calipers. I'll review it today. If it's 0.5 then I guess we don't really need the calipers, except that it would definitely be more accurate, right? We're using Walgreens syringes and I'm not sure how well they're made.

Thanks, glad you're there,

Georgette
 
Re: 9/2 Clare AMPS 308;+3.5-260;+6-288 Increase dose?

Yes...if you need to increase, I'd go back to 0.5u.

I'd use the calipers all the time. Even though you might think that the syringes would be accurate at 0.5u, 1u, etc, they aren't. I've used Relions, BDs, Walgreens, Monojects, and now Terumos. All of them are very inaccurate at the zero line from syringe to syringe. Sometimes the zero line is way up, sometimes down. This affects your dose even if you are at 1u. If you use the calipers, just use them all the time consistently.
 
Re: 9/2 Clare AMPS 308;+3.5-260;+6-288 Increase dose?

Hi Marje,

After reviewing the video, I see I'll need to get a pipette to measure the Walgreens syringe first. We're a medical community here, so I'm sure I'll be able to find one somewhere.

Thanks again, for all your educational, professional and personal support, Marje!

Georgette
 
Re: 9/2 Clare AMPS 308'+6-288;PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-

Dear Marje and others,

It looks like Clare is clearing her bounce tonight. Are we okay with increasing to the 0.5u dose tomorrow morning? We will be around to monitor her.

Thanks,

Georgette
 
Re: 9/2 Clare PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-96 Incr Dose in

I'm not sure I'd increase at all since she's getting into greens on this dose :mrgreen:

Marje is much more the expert on this, but it looks like this is a good dose for Clare if she'd just stop that silly bouncing!

I'm sure she'll be checking in soon, and good luck with whatever you decide to do!
 
Re: 9/2 Clare PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-96 Incr Dose in

Georgette

Sorry...I had to take Gracie to the vet for a recheck and we were there three hours because they got so far behind from the holiday.

I think if Clare comes down into the 70s/60s range, I'd hold the dose. If she goes right back up, I'd increase in the morning.

The caveat to that is if nadirs in the 80s or 90s is where you want her. Those are normal numbers and that's fine. She will just likely bounce like this. Even if you increase and her nadirs come down to the 60s, she still might bounce. The question is where do you want her nadirs?
 
Re: 9/2 Clare PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-96 Incr Dose in

Hi Marje,

I wish I knew the answer to that question.

I went through the past few bounces and it seems like she's generally coming down from them a bit more gradually over time, so if we remained at 0.25, hopefully the bounces would gradually decrease in severity and eventually stop.

If we sort of "power through" and encourage more, and lower, green numbers by using more insulin, is that better for Clare? We know that she's developing cataracts -- is it possible that not having her go so often into the pink numbers might lower her risks for consequences like that from her diabetes, and move her more quickly to remission?

I know that you don't have a crystal ball, Marje; but you do have so much experience. What would you do if she were your cat?

Thanks, Georgette
 
Re: 9/2 Clare PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-96 Incr Dose in

Marje,

Do cats with lower nadirs live generally healthier lives? Will encouraging them now, using insulin injections, help her body to be more comfortable with them and to stay in that lower zone once she's in remission?

Sorry for all the questions!
 
Re: 9/2 Clare PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-96 Incr Dose in

Does your vet think the cataracts are due to FD? Typically, FD does not cause the kind of issues in cats that diabetes causes in humans but never say never.

If she were mine, I'd increase the dose. She is getting into green nadirs but she's not giving you nice long cycles full of green. She might not need to be at the higher dose long but maybe just a kickstart as long SS you can be around to monitor.

Yes...it's better for them to be in healing numbers as much as possible.

I hope that helps :-D
 
Re: 9/2 Clare PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-96 Incr Dose in

Also,

The last time we used the 0.5 dose, after 2 cycles she came down to the 40s, and so we moved back down to 0.25. Do you think it might likely be different this time?

Would it be a solution to do a "fat" 0.25 or a "skinny" 0.5? I know that's not in the protocol.

Thanks again, Marje.
 
Re: 9/2 Clare PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-96 Incr Dose in

Hi Marje,

A different vet from our local one (who was boarding Clare for a short time) noted that she had the beginning of cataracts, and I've noticed the milkiness in her eyes getting more obvious. So it was my own assumption that it was related to the diabetes. It's good to know that's not necessarily so.

Thanks for all of your advice and support. This sure has been a learning curve! :roll:
 
Re: 9/2 Clare PMPS 280;+2-194;+3.5-105;+4.5-96;+5.5-120

You're welcome!

I've had a couple vets I trust tell me that cats don't have the issues that humans do resulting from FD. But, like I said, I wouldn't rule out the possibility.

Yes...you can fine tune a dose by just putting a little fat on it. You can certainly try that since she is getting green nadirs. I started to suggest it but just thought to get her a little more past the bouncing, 0.25u increase might do it.

But...really the goal is to get a little more duration and so you might find just a fat 0.25u might work.

My crystal ball is hazy tonight. ;-)

Have a good nights sleep....I'm headed there myself. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top