9/19 Putty AMPS 432 grrr...question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miriam and Putty (GA)

Member Since 2009
9/18
AMPS 285
+3 303
+6 179
+8 119
PMPS 126
+2 111
+3 80
+4 65
+5 61
+6 78
AMPS 432
+3 276

This is so frustrating he has not been red since June. I suppose he could have gone lower after +6 but even when he goes into the 30's he is not red.
I have been trying to figure out how to feed a Lev curve but it is so unpredictable since he nadirs much later than when he was on Lantus.
I was going to increase his dose a couple of days ago but since he was green on 9/17 and now last night I won't. I was even wondering if I should decrease a little to see if that would keep him from bouncing. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
The little Putman was very sleepy this morning because of his high number. All p's fine.

Pat....if you are looking for me I will be on the ledge. I made a coconut cream pie....anyone care to join me? drinking09
 
Oh my goodness, a red Putty, that's just not right! (((Miriam and Putty)))

My first thought was also that he may have dipped even lower after that +6, but then you say he doesn't bounce all the way up into the reds even when he goes into the 30s... Any chance that there's something else going on despite all the P's being perfect? Visitors stressing him? A new cat/dog in the neighbourhood? Could he have nicked illegal treats somehow?

Taking a hair off the dose isn't a bad thought, I think, in the absence of any explanation for the visit to fourth floor... I hope someone else chimes in with more useful commenst than I can come up with. Sorry for being useless, Miriam! Fingers and paws crossed for you guys.

Jane
 
JUst coming around to say "PUTTY GET DOWN HERE!!!!"
I know you are frustrated, but last nite he was beautiful!--Sorry Miriam!
Are you feeding anything other than LC?? Could bounce be from that?
I know you will find the right thing for that good boy--
HUgs and I have coconut Custard pie here---Nom NOM Nom NOM Nom Nom!!! :mrgreen:
 
I'm sorry you feel frustrated, Miriam. I know the feeling, but it's unusual for Putty, so I hope you figure it out.
I have no advice; I'm an advice needer, sorry.
 
Hey Putty, It's Sunday--there isn't any shopping on the red floor today--you have to come down to where the blue and green sales are. Hurry, hurry!!
Miriam, maybe he misses the beach? Sorry I haven't any suggestions for you or comments about that huge bounce. But Mannie's bungees have been missing for a while now. Maybe Putty found them. Hang in there!

Ella & Stu
 
Putty! don't frustrate the bean!

come down, bud...dont "plummet-put", but bring it on down for her, ok...

:)) on the nom-nom , roni! that was the cutest video.

celi & binks
 
Putty?? You got my bungees?? Sorry man - I should have attached a warning label... ya know - they go really high! :shock: Throw them away, and come on down to the lower floors. OK? See you! ~~ Mannie

wow bummer on the red this morning. no thoughts - short of: feeding anything other than LC (one of my weaknesses)? I hope he clears this soon, never to return.
 
Coconut Cream Pie Miriam??? :o

And I have Cape Cod Potato chips for YOU....

I know what I would do with that number? I would forget it unless it becomes a habit...if there isn't anything else going on with Putty, like tooth problems or other possible infections, I would label that Ugly Red a Blip...and move on.
He is already into the yellows...where Shadow is since yesterday, so I'll meet you on the ledge and we can drown our sorrows in food!

Smarter people will come along to give you sound advice which I will read too when I come back down from the Ledge :mrgreen: But until they weigh in, call it a Blip... an ugly disgusting Blip...see you up there! :mrgreen:
 
(((Miriam))) I remember old discussions with you about lowering the dose when Putty bounces. I'm sorry you are still fighting the bounces. Is it OK if I come to the party with you and Pat? I can't resist potato chips.
 
I like coconut, I'll be right there... (I know you posted that this morning, you saved me a piece, right?)

I haven't used Lev, but since the onset and nadir are later, I wonder if it would help to push everything up a couple of hours. Feed at PS of course, but maybe don't feed a mini meal until +3, +4, +6? Something like that, you would have to play with it to see what works. Most cats we don't want to feed much after +6 because the insulin is wearing off by then, but Putty's insulin is really just getting going good at +6. He's not getting much action at +1 and +2 so he probably doesn't need as much food then. I can't explain the red either.
 
if you can figure out the reason for the red, maybe you can explain this one:

previous cycle blue and yellow
(+11)pmps 189
+2 351
+4 449
+7.5 354
amps 341

alex - 2009 lev ss - 08/10

unless the red becomes a habit, i'd forget about it. it's one number, one time. i really wouldn't attach any particular significance to it. last year when alex went back on insulin, followed by a honeymoon, and then back on insulin this year... i approached regulation with a different mindset than when she was on insulin the first time in 2006. instead of concentrating on daily numbers, i focus on trends. if she's trending upwards, i know to increase the dose. if the trend is downwards, i'll shave the dose. if she can maintain, fine. if she begins to trend upwards again, the dose is increased. i found this mindset to be particularly helpful because of her other health issues. these health issues will sometimes require rapid dose adjustments. the sooner i jump on dose increases when she flares, the sooner she'll come out of them.

libby's right on track with feeding later because of the later nadir on lev. alex is now being fed at ps, +2, and sometime between +5 and +6 (depending on her numbers). when she was on lantus, i tried not to feed after +4 whenever possible and never, ever after +6 since she's so darn carb sensitive. this is what works for alex. you'll have to experiment to see what works best for putty.

once you have a good feel for what works for putty, i would probably increase the dose in an effort to bring the numbers into the greens more often. you'll be able to safely increase the dose if you can manipulate the second half of the cycle with food. my memory fails me at this late hour. do you use a timed feeder with putty? i'm not sure what time your +6 would be. it might be kind of late in the PM cycle. i'm sure you don't want to be up all night! :-D

hope this helps...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top