Ann & Maggie11 (GA)
Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79339
Yesterday
AMPS 242
+3 193
+5 239
+9 268
PMPS 268
+2 189
Morning
and mega doses needed! Thanks to everyone that I missed last evening for your thoughts and vines - Carla, Roni, Dale, Amy, Ella, Wendy, Melanie and Marje, sorry I missed you all. We feel the vines and love. :YMHUG: It was so busy there yesterday that I hesitated taking away too much time from others, as I knew this could wait! I was also so exhausted from neglecting my own health insofar as my physical therapy exercises for my shoulder and neck issues! I should know better as if I miss a day, I feel it! :YMSIGH: I really needed to get to bed early and rest. Yikes with my own BD syringe problem and had the pharmacy run and my own shot, yoy!
Yesterday my computer just would not cooperate with it freezing and lines jumping. I opened an E-mail the other day that looked like it was from my sister-in-law (who has been sick), but apparently it wasn't from her; as soon as I clicked on a link I thought she was sending, Norton stopped it. I've had problems since, so I think it was a virus. Puter seems better today after running my Norton Virus a few times yesterday. Well, enough about me. This is Maggie's condo.
Well, good news and not so good news on Maggie which is what I feared the most. Even the Vet said he was hoping Maggie had a nice little UTI infection that we could resolve with antibiotics. I said I was, too! :smile: So the good news is no UTI, but the bad news is that her renal disease has progressed just since the last check-up two months ago, which is what I feared the most. The Vet wants me to get her bg under control a little more with adjusting her dose and monitor her poo activity and then call him on Thursday to give an update, and we'll talk about adding fluids. When we spoke, she had not left me a prezzie, so that was a concern. Overnight she did leave a prezzie, thank God, prayers answered!
Her bg was 338 there when they did a check, and that's really high for Maggie. If you remember at one time not too long ago, she almost seemed ready to do an OTJ, but then the constipation started. With the out of whack bg, I know they use the ATrak! My meter showed 268 before taking her to the Vet. The Vet thinks about 100 of her bg was white coat syndrome, even though she looks calm, inside she's frightened.
Marje, I was going to increase her dose this morning anyway, so you read my mind. I had been thinking of even taking her up to .75, which would have been seven drops. I hesitated as Mags used to be so sensitive to just a drop, so I changed my mind and added a drop (or 6 drops on the ss)! I know Marje gets on later, so any thoughts from Dyana or Sienne if I should go up tonight to 7 drops? I know that would be off protocol, but ECID with Mags being a long term sugar kitty. Maggie was on 5 drops or half a unit. I've been marking my ss with drops dose, with the variance in syringes, so .75 for me would be 7 drops approximately. This morning we did the 6 drops approximately! I guess we can see how she does today and then go from there!
As to the thirst, no clear cut answer, but uremic gastritis was mentioned. Also her bg has shot up so much lately when she was used to lower numbers. Some days it doesn't seem like she drinks as much water! He said to add 1/2 tablet pepcid twice a day to help her intestinal motility along those lines. I wonder if 1/2 tablet is too much though, as I hear most of you do 1/4 table a day. I remember only giving my GA kitty 1/4 tablet when he had intestinal issues. I think Maggie's GI motility /megacolon disease has taken a toll on her. This is since early July she's been suffering with it. She's not quite the same Maggie as before, more sleeping and not as playful. She has a really good appy for which I'm thankful and takes the Cisapide and Lactulose meds with no problem. I'm hoping the fluids will help. I know I've wanted to add them earlier.
One piece of good news mentioned above, and for Inspector Poo's report, is she left a prezzie overnight. This time it was just a little harder than the last as far as consistency. I know with everything going on and taking her to the Vetty, maybe stress played a part and I may have not added enough Miralax, which is really important, along with the other two meds.
Well, that's about it for now. I'm sure there's more in my notes, but these are the most important. I've got to get to my credit union to deposit some VPI checks later this morning, so hopefully Maggie will allow. I don't foresee any low numbers, as Maggie isn't a diver. Sorry this is so long. Thanks so much everyone.
Yesterday
AMPS 242
+3 193
+5 239
+9 268
PMPS 268
+2 189
Morning
and mega doses needed! Thanks to everyone that I missed last evening for your thoughts and vines - Carla, Roni, Dale, Amy, Ella, Wendy, Melanie and Marje, sorry I missed you all. We feel the vines and love. :YMHUG: It was so busy there yesterday that I hesitated taking away too much time from others, as I knew this could wait! I was also so exhausted from neglecting my own health insofar as my physical therapy exercises for my shoulder and neck issues! I should know better as if I miss a day, I feel it! :YMSIGH: I really needed to get to bed early and rest. Yikes with my own BD syringe problem and had the pharmacy run and my own shot, yoy! Yesterday my computer just would not cooperate with it freezing and lines jumping. I opened an E-mail the other day that looked like it was from my sister-in-law (who has been sick), but apparently it wasn't from her; as soon as I clicked on a link I thought she was sending, Norton stopped it. I've had problems since, so I think it was a virus. Puter seems better today after running my Norton Virus a few times yesterday. Well, enough about me. This is Maggie's condo.
Well, good news and not so good news on Maggie which is what I feared the most. Even the Vet said he was hoping Maggie had a nice little UTI infection that we could resolve with antibiotics. I said I was, too! :smile: So the good news is no UTI, but the bad news is that her renal disease has progressed just since the last check-up two months ago, which is what I feared the most. The Vet wants me to get her bg under control a little more with adjusting her dose and monitor her poo activity and then call him on Thursday to give an update, and we'll talk about adding fluids. When we spoke, she had not left me a prezzie, so that was a concern. Overnight she did leave a prezzie, thank God, prayers answered!
Her bg was 338 there when they did a check, and that's really high for Maggie. If you remember at one time not too long ago, she almost seemed ready to do an OTJ, but then the constipation started. With the out of whack bg, I know they use the ATrak! My meter showed 268 before taking her to the Vet. The Vet thinks about 100 of her bg was white coat syndrome, even though she looks calm, inside she's frightened.
Marje, I was going to increase her dose this morning anyway, so you read my mind. I had been thinking of even taking her up to .75, which would have been seven drops. I hesitated as Mags used to be so sensitive to just a drop, so I changed my mind and added a drop (or 6 drops on the ss)! I know Marje gets on later, so any thoughts from Dyana or Sienne if I should go up tonight to 7 drops? I know that would be off protocol, but ECID with Mags being a long term sugar kitty. Maggie was on 5 drops or half a unit. I've been marking my ss with drops dose, with the variance in syringes, so .75 for me would be 7 drops approximately. This morning we did the 6 drops approximately! I guess we can see how she does today and then go from there!
As to the thirst, no clear cut answer, but uremic gastritis was mentioned. Also her bg has shot up so much lately when she was used to lower numbers. Some days it doesn't seem like she drinks as much water! He said to add 1/2 tablet pepcid twice a day to help her intestinal motility along those lines. I wonder if 1/2 tablet is too much though, as I hear most of you do 1/4 table a day. I remember only giving my GA kitty 1/4 tablet when he had intestinal issues. I think Maggie's GI motility /megacolon disease has taken a toll on her. This is since early July she's been suffering with it. She's not quite the same Maggie as before, more sleeping and not as playful. She has a really good appy for which I'm thankful and takes the Cisapide and Lactulose meds with no problem. I'm hoping the fluids will help. I know I've wanted to add them earlier.
One piece of good news mentioned above, and for Inspector Poo's report, is she left a prezzie overnight. This time it was just a little harder than the last as far as consistency. I know with everything going on and taking her to the Vetty, maybe stress played a part and I may have not added enough Miralax, which is really important, along with the other two meds.
Well, that's about it for now. I'm sure there's more in my notes, but these are the most important. I've got to get to my credit union to deposit some VPI checks later this morning, so hopefully Maggie will allow. I don't foresee any low numbers, as Maggie isn't a diver. Sorry this is so long. Thanks so much everyone.