9/19 Maggie PMPS 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79339

Yesterday
AMPS 242
+3 193
+5 239
+9 268
PMPS 268
+2 189

Morning ~O) ~O) and mega doses needed! Thanks to everyone that I missed last evening for your thoughts and vines - Carla, Roni, Dale, Amy, Ella, Wendy, Melanie and Marje, sorry I missed you all. We feel the vines and love. :YMHUG: It was so busy there yesterday that I hesitated taking away too much time from others, as I knew this could wait! I was also so exhausted from neglecting my own health insofar as my physical therapy exercises for my shoulder and neck issues! I should know better as if I miss a day, I feel it! :YMSIGH: I really needed to get to bed early and rest. Yikes with my own BD syringe problem and had the pharmacy run and my own shot, yoy!
Yesterday my computer just would not cooperate with it freezing and lines jumping. I opened an E-mail the other day that looked like it was from my sister-in-law (who has been sick), but apparently it wasn't from her; as soon as I clicked on a link I thought she was sending, Norton stopped it. I've had problems since, so I think it was a virus. Puter seems better today after running my Norton Virus a few times yesterday. Well, enough about me. This is Maggie's condo.

Well, good news and not so good news on Maggie which is what I feared the most. Even the Vet said he was hoping Maggie had a nice little UTI infection that we could resolve with antibiotics. I said I was, too! :smile: So the good news is no UTI, but the bad news is that her renal disease has progressed just since the last check-up two months ago, which is what I feared the most. The Vet wants me to get her bg under control a little more with adjusting her dose and monitor her poo activity and then call him on Thursday to give an update, and we'll talk about adding fluids. When we spoke, she had not left me a prezzie, so that was a concern. Overnight she did leave a prezzie, thank God, prayers answered!

Her bg was 338 there when they did a check, and that's really high for Maggie. If you remember at one time not too long ago, she almost seemed ready to do an OTJ, but then the constipation started. With the out of whack bg, I know they use the ATrak! My meter showed 268 before taking her to the Vet. The Vet thinks about 100 of her bg was white coat syndrome, even though she looks calm, inside she's frightened.

Marje, I was going to increase her dose this morning anyway, so you read my mind. I had been thinking of even taking her up to .75, which would have been seven drops. I hesitated as Mags used to be so sensitive to just a drop, so I changed my mind and added a drop (or 6 drops on the ss)! I know Marje gets on later, so any thoughts from Dyana or Sienne if I should go up tonight to 7 drops? I know that would be off protocol, but ECID with Mags being a long term sugar kitty. Maggie was on 5 drops or half a unit. I've been marking my ss with drops dose, with the variance in syringes, so .75 for me would be 7 drops approximately. This morning we did the 6 drops approximately! I guess we can see how she does today and then go from there!

As to the thirst, no clear cut answer, but uremic gastritis was mentioned. Also her bg has shot up so much lately when she was used to lower numbers. Some days it doesn't seem like she drinks as much water! He said to add 1/2 tablet pepcid twice a day to help her intestinal motility along those lines. I wonder if 1/2 tablet is too much though, as I hear most of you do 1/4 table a day. I remember only giving my GA kitty 1/4 tablet when he had intestinal issues. I think Maggie's GI motility /megacolon disease has taken a toll on her. This is since early July she's been suffering with it. She's not quite the same Maggie as before, more sleeping and not as playful. She has a really good appy for which I'm thankful and takes the Cisapide and Lactulose meds with no problem. I'm hoping the fluids will help. I know I've wanted to add them earlier.

One piece of good news mentioned above, and for Inspector Poo's report, is she left a prezzie overnight. This time it was just a little harder than the last as far as consistency. I know with everything going on and taking her to the Vetty, maybe stress played a part and I may have not added enough Miralax, which is really important, along with the other two meds.

Well, that's about it for now. I'm sure there's more in my notes, but these are the most important. I've got to get to my credit union to deposit some VPI checks later this morning, so hopefully Maggie will allow. I don't foresee any low numbers, as Maggie isn't a diver. Sorry this is so long. Thanks so much everyone.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215

I'm sorry to hear Maggie's renal disease has gotten worse. I hope that you and the vet can work out a plan to get Maggie feeling better. Dont' forget to take care of yourself too. Hope you can get your errands done this morning.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215

(((Ann))) I'm sorry to hear that Maggie's renal disease has progressed. I am sending her tons and tons of healing vines her way. You know your kitty so well and it's so great that you got her in so quickly so you can get on top of this situation. I really hope that all goes well in the days ahead with your sweet little angel. Thank DOG for the pressie:) I hope she continues to have success in that department.

Will be thinking of you two.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215

Ann I am so sorry about the diagnosis. Know that I am sending tons of healing vines for sweet Maggie and big hugs to you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I'm glad to hear she left you a prezzie though.

~O) ~O) ~O) Peppermint mocha for you today.

Give Maggie scritches from Auntie Melissa!
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215

Ann, I am sorry to hear the dx. There are many ways to combat renal disease, as I'm sure you know. You may need a refresher course, and the best place to start is Tanya's CRF website: http://felinecrf.org/index.htm I just looked it up again and see that the author has just published a comprehensive book on CRF. That might be something to get so that you can flip around more easily than you can on the website: http://felinecrf.org/ckd_the_book.htm.

I hope that you can determine an appropriate dose for Maggie.
Rusty is sending her another bouquet of healing vines and we both send much love and support to you,

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. bummer about your computer and a possible virus. I screen my e mail on my internet provider's webmail page before downloading those e mails I want to keep, or respond to. That way viruses embedded in e mail don't make their way onto my computer. I think this works! (I hope it does!)
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155

+3 155

I wasn't expecting such a nice blue, but Maggie did get a dosecrease to 6 drops. I may have been a little over, as it was one of those syringe measuring days! :?

Thanks so much Carla, Tamara and Melissa for the healing vines and hugs. I think we did get her in soon enough, as something was really off there with the water volume and then the lb accident, like hint, hint, get me in to see my Vet Tech that cuddles me. :-D Mags is feeling good today and we even played with her pole toy earlier.
Melissa, thanks on that peppermint Mocha, and scritches given to Mags from Auntie Melissa.

Thanks Ella, and I just see your post before I'm finished typing. Yes, definitely I've been on Tanya's website and her message board. A book definitely would be easier to read. Thanks for the links.
Maggie says thank you for the bouquet of vines and the love and support.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155

Morning Ann! ~O) ~O) ~O)

I am wishing you much health - for you, and Maggie. It has been such a week(s) for you. Tanya's site of renal disease is really a good one. There is alot to digest there, but I found it to be very helpful when we were dealing with BJ. Nice to read in Ella's post that there is now a book. I am sure you will be able to help Maggie - your such a diligent bean. I think it is great that Maggie left you hints that she needed a little more help, with the LB accident, etc, and that you were quick to read the signs.

Good luck with the dose. I would think you would be able to go up by drops, and if one isn't enough, wait the appropriate number of cycles then up another. You'll find the right one.

So nice to read that Maggie was more playful this morning. :-D YAY!!!

Enjoy your day today. I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155

Looking good at that +3, Miss Maggie! Woohoo on the prezzie, too!

I'm sorry that Mag's renal disease has progressed, but you caught this change so early...what an awesome bean you are! And, of course, you've got all of LL behind you, and we're a force to be reckoned with! Many, many vines and prayers are coming your way!
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155

Ann

I'm glad you took her up but I would hold this dose for six cycles and see what ae does knowing how sensitive she has been to drop increases. We can reassess in six cycles, ok? Just remind us with a dose ? In your subject line or a PM to look at your condo.

I'm sorry her renal issues have progressed. Is there any way for you to post her bloodwork and urine if they did it? I'm not sure I understand why he wants you to get her BG under control before starting fluids but maybe I misunderstood.

I would recommend you take that time to get supplies as they are much cheaper online than at the vet. Thrivingpets.com has Terumo ultra thin wall needles. If you think mags will sit still for 5 mins, I'd get the 21g. I really like the BBraun LRS bags and I get them at Walgreens for $22 for a case of 12 with a $20 annual membership. I don't know how much they are without the membership. Thrivingpets.com also has the lines.

I'll try to get the links for you before I leave for work. It's hard to do on my iPad.

Hope you are better and syringes sorted out. Hugs...we are here for you and Maggie.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155; +5 134

+5 134

I think Maggie is liking the extra drop or two; I'm really not positive, but seems okay!

Thanks Michelle and Amy for the visits and vines. Yes, definitely Tanya's site is a lifesaver and great help. I think the book would be great and I plan on getting it. Yes, sometimes our kitties have to give us a swift kick as in the pee accident next to the lb. I had planned on taking her anyway, but this forced me to get her in the same day.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155; +5 134

Marje, sorry, your post came in as I was typing. Yes, I can see I'd better stick with this dose gfor six cycles. Maggie's Vet is not as aggressive as I would like with the renal issues, and I hesitate to change right now, but it's a thought. There is one other Vet in his clinic and one part time Vet that travels to various clinics. He says they all have different views on things, and he is one of the older ones. He does often consut with the traveling Vet. Tomorrow I have an appt. that will take me away for a few hours. For the first time it might be easier for me to get the supplies there so that I can start Friday and over the weekend.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155; +5 134

Hi Ann, I'm sorry to hear about Maggie's renal issues getting worse.

We were just told on Monday that Ruby has "mild renal insufficiency". I'm still trying to figure out what all that means and trying to find something to feed her. I'm still wading my way thru Tayna's site and a couple of Yahoo groups.

Just when we think things are going good...the universe likes to give us a swift kick in the bum, eh? :roll:
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155; +5 134

Ann:

I forgot to answer your question about the pepcid. The normal starting dose is 1/4 of a 10mg Pepcid AC (not pepcid complete....pepsid ac only) every other day for the first few days. Then you can up it to once a day and then if she needs it, twice a day. If you are giving it to her for any uremic gastritis from her kidneys, it's best to give it at night before you two go to bed to try and keep the acid at bay over night. Alternatively, you can give it to her 30 mins before a meal. One thing I want to point out is that if she is not showing signs of a gastric tummy....vomiting clear, foamy liquid or hunching in a muffin pose like her tummy hurts, I might hold off. Why use it if she doesn't need it? The other great way to control an acid tummy is to feed small amounts of food. Gus only has an acid tummy at night and so we feed him every three hours and he does great. I know with Maggie's FD, you have to be more careful about times you feed but even a small amount of very LC carb food or even boiled chicken breast will help with the acid. That's IMHO. You have to do what you are comfortable doing working with your vet. BUT....I would NOT give 1/2 a pepcid ac at a time. UH UH! Sorry to disagree with him on that.

Two other things.....for some reasons, vets like to give Normosol for fluids. Ask for a prescription for lactated ringers soln and be firm. Normosol stings and the composition of it is not as good for CKD cats. Also...you don't have to give fluids using an IV set like I do. You can do it using a syringe like MJ does. Here is the link on Tanya's for Giving fluids with a syringe. You can also PM MJ to ask for help. I use the bag because I don't want to syringe 125mls a day.....it would take too long. But MJ just gives her girls a small amount (60 mls I think) and that might work better for Mags. It's the same principle.

If you do decide on using the IV lines, here are the links for the supplies...these are the ones I use after much research but you might like something else or you might not be able to get the BBraun bags; the lines have to match the bags so if you can only get Hospira Bags, get Hospira lines:

BBraun DEHP IV admin lines
Terumo UTW Needles...you have to select the gauge you want
BBraun LRS bags..I'm giving you this link because, while still really expensive, these could be shipped to your home and are probably less expensive than the vet; I've seen vets charge $18/bag :shock: If you decide to order a case of 12 from Walgreens, it comes out to less than $2/bag. However....a friend will have to pick them up for you. The case is really heavy. If you get them from Walgreens, the NDC number (to order the correct bags) is 0264-7750-00. Giving Gus 125 ml/day, we go through a bag a week so a case lasts us three months. I don't think they will split the case. They might have 500ml bags. You will just have to see how much your vet wants her to have, the best method to give it for her, and then decide if you just want to pay a little more and order them from thriving pets by just ordering a few at a time.

Please let me know if I can help. I'm off to work now. Have a great day.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155; +5 134

Amy, thanks for your good thoughts on Maggie. Yes, Tanya's site can be overwhelming. Just take it real slow and reada little every day.

Marje, thanks so much for all the info. My gut feeling told me 1/2 tablet Pepcid twice a day was too much! :? I do have the Pepcic AC and a few times prior have given it to Mags for an upset tummy. Mags does eat small meals and often, and I could do the boiled chicken, too. !/4 before bed sounds more like it!

Two other things.....for some reasons, vets like to give Normosol for fluids. Ask for a prescription for lactated ringers soln and be firm. Normosol stings and the composition of it is not as good for CKD cats. Also...you don't have to give fluids using an IV set like I do. You can do it using a syringe like MJ does. Here is the link on Tanya's for Giving fluids with a syringe. You can also PM MJ to ask for help. I use the bag because I don't want to syringe 125mls a day.....it would take too long. But MJ just gives her girls a small amount (60 mls I think) and that might work better for Mags. It's the same principle.

Doing it via syringe sure would make it easier for me rather than the set up. I didn't realize it could be given via syringe. That would be much easier. Thanks on all the links where to buy. I think the shipping to home would work out best.

Thanks again Marje. Going to check Maggie's bg and feed and then hopefull run out to the credit union and store. BBB.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155; +5 134; +6 119

Hi Ann,

I'm really sorry that it turned out to be renal issues that were bothering Maggie. It's a good thing you caught it right away. Poor Maggie! I hope the meds and fluids help her. While her bg is not the usual green she had at least it is blue and I'm sure she will get back to her greens as soon as she's feeling better. Hang in there and remember to take care of you too!

Sending all the best wishes and hope and healing vines I can find.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155; +5 134; +6 119

Sorry to hear Maggie's dx, Ann, but her BG is looking good today! Lots of good info in your condo today.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155; +5 134; +6 119

Poor Maggie (and bean), and good for you on catching this so soon! I would second Marje's info on the Pepcid. We read somewhere here on LL that Zantac was better than Pepcid for gastric motility. We switched Zener from the pepcid to zantac months ago and give him 1/8 tablet twice a day. The combo on Zantac, ondansetron and cerenia (1mg tablet every other day) helped his GI issues immensely! I also read here on LL that Miralax absorbs water to make it work, so you need to add extra water to food to keep hydration levels up.

Paws crossed that Maggie will start being herself with the new treatment. And poo patrol is SO proud!
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215; +3 155; +5 134; +6 119

Mega :YMHUG: 's from Reuben and me - and Heaps of healing vines to you both :razz: -Alexa&Reuben
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215 +3 155 +5 134 +6 119; +6.5 175; +9

+9 158

Mags had a nice blue day and seems to like the extra drop.

Thanks Melanie & Racci, yes earlier before she got the Megacolon diagnosis she was showing a lot of greens, but the stress of it all seemed to cause the spike.

Anne & Muffin, yes lots of good info here today on fluids and Pepcid, etc.

Hi Anne & Zener, we thought you would like the prezzie report. :-D Very interesting on the Zantac. Yes, I make her food soupy which she doesn't like but will eat. I also mix water with Miralax and syringe it over her food and give her some, too. I think the fluids will really help her Megacolon issues. I use the Biotene products myself for a dry mouth problem. I saw it briefly in your condo yesterday. I'll post something over there on it. The spray I have doesn not have the sorbitol.

Alexa, thank you for the hugs and healing vines from Reuben, too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215 +3 155 +5 134 +6 119; +6.5 175; +9

Oh my sweet friends, I did not know about Maggie's renal issues--I feel as bad about this as I feel about Moonie's hyper-t, which can mask renal issues...I am sorry she has increased problems.
BUT Ann, Both these conditions our furbabies have are manageable and I am happy for both of us for that!!
Sure is true, Life can just turn around & kick you in the bum!!!
But, things could always be worse--Knowing you, you will make Maggie better, and she will be just fine--
You must take care of yourself too--I had a PT session today & I feel so achy..but I know it will help--
Sending Mega Hugs & Love to my 2 dear friends--Prayers for you both to be well soon!!!
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215 +3 155 +5 134 +6 119; +6.5 175; +9

I'm sorry Maggie has more issues. You are probably feeling piled on with all the new things to learn and refine but I'm so glad to hear
it's manageable. Hope you find the balance to keep yourself and Mags feeling good.
There is just always something in life to adjust for. :YMHUG:

Prayers that it all comes together and Mags feels better right away with the new meds and techniques.
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215 +3 155 +5 134 +6 119; +6.5 175; +9

Hey, Ann -

I am so sorry for Maggie's diagnosis - :YMHUG: :YMHUG: - I'm sorry for your pain, too. It's so easy to get wrapped up in taking care of everybody else, but you have to take care of yourself, too.

Sorry about the computer issues - I wish those people would get a real job instead of spending their time sending out viruses! grrr

Hope you, Maggie and your sister are feeling better soon!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 9/19 Maggie AMPS 215 +3 155 +5 134 +6 119; +6.5 175; +9

(((((Ann))))) So sorry about the renal issues with Maggie. But, you know now, so you can move ahead with treatment. Sending you positive vibes for that.
I see some nice blue numbers in there today so that is really good! And the LB presents are always welcome :-D
Don’t forget to take good care of you too! :YMHUG:
 
PMPS 201

Almost a blue, and Mags had a good cycle today with the extra drop.

Thanks so much Roni, Rhiannon, Libby and Donna for all your vines and support. The support and education here is just so amazing. :YMHUG: Yes, so glad now we found out it was the renal issues and can move forward. Maggie's had a good day and was laying in the sun and now moved into the shady part of the room. Her appy is really good. I saw one place where she had a vomit earlier. I gave her 1/4 Pepcid before one of her small meals.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top