? 9/19 Emma 304, but reduction

Manuel

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...cleared-bounce-yesterday.268506/#post-3000408

Hi everyone! Last evening, Emma dipped juuust below 90, so according to SLGS she is owed a reduction. She's now at just 0.25! This sounds great but is a bit bewildering, given that her tail ends are still fairly high (frequently just shy of 300). Today AMPS is 304.

I'm now almost certain her higher BG comes from the vet-prescribed dry food we've been giving her for her IBD, and from the prednisolone pill. She stays pretty low indeed when we give her LC wet food and when she's not under the influence of the pill. For example, this morning's high BG is probably because I gave her a second dry snack last night to prevent her from dipping too low. Luckily Emma now gets the pred pill only every 3 days instead of 2! And she's stomaching it fine now for about a week.

My question: what can be done to lower PS numbers, so the peaks aren't so high? And is Emma really healing, or is it just that I've put her increasingly on lower-carb food?
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...cleared-bounce-yesterday.268506/#post-3000408

Hi everyone! Last evening, Emma dipped juuust below 90, so according to SLGS she is owed a reduction. She's now at just 0.25! This sounds great but is a bit bewildering, given that her tail ends are still fairly high (frequently just shy of 300). Today AMPS is 304.

I'm now almost certain her higher BG comes from the vet-prescribed dry food we've been giving her for her IBD, and from the prednisolone pill. She stays pretty low indeed when we give her LC wet food and when she's not under the influence of the pill. For example, this morning's high BG is probably because I gave her a second dry snack last night to prevent her from dipping too low. Luckily Emma now gets the pred pill only every 3 days instead of 2! And she's stomaching it fine now for about a week.

My question: what can be done to lower PS numbers, so the peaks aren't so high? And is Emma really healing, or is it just that I've put her increasingly on lower-carb food?
I can tag a few members for you
I thought you were going to shoot 0.25 this morning because she earned a reduction last night?

@Suzanne & Darcy

@tiffmaxee

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Wendy&Neko
 
When feeding dry food you need to reduce whenever the wet tea a BG under 90. If experiment and try and good a canned food that works with her IBD.
 
I can tag a few members for you
I thought you were going to shoot 0.25 this morning because she earned a reduction last night?
Thanks - I did in fact reduce to 0.25 this morning. I just accidentally had written in 0.50 from force of habit!

When feeding dry food you need to reduce whenever the wet tea a BG under 90. If experiment and try and good a canned food that works with her IBD.
I have been feeding her Koha limited ingredient diet duck, which she has been responding well to (2% carb, but fairly caloric). It makes up 66% of her calories. Are you suggesting the next step might be to feed even less dry food? I could try that, especially after I wait a few days on this reduction.
 
Back
Top