9/19 Dosage Advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Autumn - Sunday’s mom

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone, my name is Autumn, and my sugar baby’s name is Sunday.

Question!

It’s time for my sugar baby’s PM dosage. We have been transitioning her to a wet food diet. Just tested her using the AlphaTrak2 and her number was 84 (fasted). Yesterday, her vet told me too lower from 2.5 units of Lantus twice a day to 2. So, she got 2 units last night and this morning. 84 seems a little low to give full 2 units.

Any advice?
 
Hey Autumn!! Good for you for moving from the Facebook group to here!

I already answered your question too but wanted to congratulate you on your first post! Now we just need to get that spreadsheet going!

I'll send you a message on Facebook and see if we can get that going!
 
With the numbers you've been getting and the fact that you're changing to low carb food from very high carb food, I'd say you need to drop that dose in the morning.

I'd suggest starting over at .5. Do you have syringes with half unit marks? It's a lot safer to start low and go up slowly (if needed) than start too high and have to constantly prop the numbers up to keep her from having a hypoglycemic crisis.
 
With the numbers you've been getting and the fact that you're changing to low carb food from very high carb food, I'd say you need to drop that dose in the morning.

I'd suggest starting over at .5. Do you have syringes with half unit marks? It's a lot safer to start low and go up slowly (if needed) than start too high and have to constantly prop the numbers up to keep her from having a hypoglycemic crisis.

I don’t have the syringes with the half marks, but I think I can buy some tomorrow. I will try starting from scratch tomorrow morning. I think that’ll make
me feel a lot safer. I’ve been worried on her current dosage. Thank you.
 
If you're in the US, you can get them at WalMart for $12.58/100

You need 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes (don't mention "with half unit marks" because most of their employee's have no idea they even exist or will try to sell you 1/2ml syringes).

The packaging differs, but if it's either one of these boxes (and they can be 30 gauge or 31 gauge) with the purple stripe, they're the right ones.
upload_2021-9-19_22-8-25.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-9-19_22-8-25.jpeg
    upload_2021-9-19_22-8-25.jpeg
    60.9 KB · Views: 326
If you're in the US, you can get them at WalMart for $12.58/100

You need 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes (don't mention "with half unit marks" because most of their employee's have no idea they even exist or will try to sell you 1/2ml syringes).

The packaging differs, but if it's either one of these boxes (and they can be 30 gauge or 31 gauge) with the purple stripe, they're the right ones.
View attachment 62643

thank you for the pictures!
 
Welcome if you didn't give any insulin please put NS in the units column
Can you get some tests in at night , it's important to see the whole picture
Most cats drop lower at night , if you can get a +2 and maybe a +4 and @+6 that would be great. If the +2 or +3 is lower than her PMPS it might be an active cycle requiring more tests and feeding
You probably work during the day so maybe on the weekends you can test more during the day and night :cat:
 
Last edited:
Welcome if you didn't give any insulin please put NS in the units column
Can you get some tests in at night , it's important to see the whole picture
Most cats drop lower at night , if you can get a +2 and maybe a +4 and @+6 that would be great. If the +2 or +3 is lower than her PMPS it might be an active cycle requiring more tests and feeding
You probably work during the day so maybe on the weekends you can test more during the day and night :cat:

Thank you for your response. I updated the spreadsheet. I gave her 1 unit. I am going to attempt to get one throughout the night. Will update.
 
Thank you for your response. I updated the spreadsheet. I gave her 1 unit. I am going to attempt to get one throughout the night. Will update.
Chris suggested to give 0.5 units in the morning, please watch her tonight since you gave her 1 unit :cat:
Most of us feed our cats during each 12 hour cycles
Bigger meals at AMPS and PMPS then about 2 tablespoons for the smaller meals
You might want to leave her some food out before you go to bed
Just keep her SS up to date .
Do you have any medium and high carb foods in case she drop too low and you have to bring her BG up, also have some honey or Karo on hand
LC = <10%
MC = 11% - 16%
HC = >16%
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates much more affordable, just wanted to let you know , I know Weruva is more expensive but is she likes it that's fine, just trying to save you some money here are some of the med and high carb Fancy Feast


med and high carb food on hand in case she drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Or any other ones from the food chart, above

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

:cat:
 
Last edited:
Chris suggested to give 0.5 units in the morning, please watch her tonight since you gave her 1 unit :cat:
Most of us feed our cats during each 12 hour cycles
Bigger meals at AMPS and PMPS then about 2 tablespoons for the smaller meals
You might want to leave her some food out before you go to bed
Just keep her SS up to date .
Do you have any medium and high carb foods in case she drop too low and you have to bring her BG up, also have some honey or Karo on hand
LC = <10%
MC = 11% - 16%
HC = >16%
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates much more affordable, just wanted to let you know , I know Weruva is more expensive but is she likes it that's fine, just trying to save you some money here are some of the med and high carb Fancy Feast


med and high carb food on hand in case she drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Or any other ones from the food chart, above

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

:cat:
I just saw this. Thank you for the info. Yes, I have some of her old high carb dry food which she loves. I just posted a new thread. Her BG this morning is 63. She hasn’t eaten yet, and I haven’t shot anything. Should I skip this shot?
 
I just saw this. Thank you for the info. Yes, I have some of her old high carb dry food which she loves. I just posted a new thread. Her BG this morning is 63. She hasn’t eaten yet, and I haven’t shot anything. Should I skip this shot?
I wouldn't give dry food at all, if she ever drops to low if you give insulin it's best to give wet
On your new post you were told to skip
@Autumn Dunlap
 
If you're in the US, you can get them at WalMart for $12.58/100

You need 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes (don't mention "with half unit marks" because most of their employee's have no idea they even exist or will try to sell you 1/2ml syringes).

The packaging differs, but if it's either one of these boxes (and they can be 30 gauge or 31 gauge) with the purple stripe, they're the right ones.
View attachment 62643
Hi! Would you be able to check Sunday’s spreadsheet and advice what I should do for her PM shot, please?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top