9/19 Curry AMPS 169, +2-90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25285

All is well in Curryland.


The feeder arrived yesterday evening....I had forgotten I had ordered it.....Duh.......

So at this time in Curry's life she won't eat food that is left out. So why did I think a feeder would work for her while I was gone....Just hopeful. I started by leaving the feeder out so she got used to the smell of the plastic. Then I've started just putting her treats in it so she begins to associate something good w/this gizmo. Of course this thing works off of batteries which I've already packed....so to the store I go for more batteries.....Will put the batteries in it today and just leave it out....w/her favorite treats in it....freeze dried chicken....and bonita flakes.....she seems to be able to smell those.....We will see how this works....I suspect it might take awhile to get Curry trained.....but of my two kitties Curry is the most trainable....food is a great motivator for her....thank goodness.

The girls were playing chase in the house around +2....just a couple of laps, not too much.....this seems to be happening more frequently lately....so I know Curry is feeling better.

Have a great day.
 
These numbers are great, I'm glad Curry is feeling so good.
Putting treats in the automat is a great idea, hope Curry takes to it
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Please get a +3. Curry may be feeling VERY good. Given that drop by +2, you could have an exciting morning.


Absolutely....

I wanted to yell at Curry to "stop running" in the house this morning....like she would understand..... :roll:
 
Good luck with the new feeder. A treats feeder is a great idea. Then you can sneak real food into it when you need to. Looks like a good day shaping up for Curry. Keep an eye on those numbers!

Ella & Stu
 
Nice on the feeder! Hope ti works for you. I think trying with treats at first to get her used to it is a great idea. Mannie just doesn't out two and two together - he hears the darn thing, and goes and sits by his bowl aiyee! :? we keep trying. :roll:

Nice +2 drop - bet you will be busy today. Hey Curry - what'cha got planned for today?
 
busy day coming up, tena!

where did you order the feeder from?

and michelle...love the fact that mannie goes to his BOWl on signal...maybe he's trying to point out that it was pavlov's DOG rather than cat...when i tried audio signals with Homie, his response was "Give ME the friggin' bell...and i'll let you know when YOU can eat!"

celi
 
Celi - ordered it from Amazon...its the Pet Safe 5 meal pet feeder...

Heck..if Curry doesn't use it.....I might use it for myself....I need to lose some weight....won't use the cat food though....not tasty enough for me....and yes, i've tasted their food.....evo is more tasty than the FF.....:razz:

Yeah, Curry is surfing a bit here...+4 = 53. Her nadir is usually +3 to + 4.

The insulin doesn't seem to stay w/her very long though.....and she doesn't seem to wanna surf unless we go low, but not so low that I have to use gravy around the 3/4 hr mark. I can afford to be a little more brave on the weekend when I'm here to monitor her....its during the week that gets me frazzled in terms of getting Curry stable before going to work. I thought about trying to shoot her at 4:00am so I could see her safely through the 3 to 4.5 hour mark....but then I would have to get permission from my boss to run home at 3:40PM...test,feed,shoot her and run back to work by 4:40pm and then stay at work another hour or so. Then I could be home to test her at the +2 and onward. I don't think my boss will go for that...I would have to have another co-worker be backup for me each day in case I get paged to see a patient...
 
Good morning.
It looks like Curry is going to have an eventful day...or I should say you might. :mrgreen:


Tena you asked me the other day how Putty got his name (it was you right?). We got him when my DD was 9 and she named him Nickel at first.....but he was such a silly little kitten she started calling him Silly so we renamed him Silly Putty but now we have dropped the Silly. When we go to the vets they still have his name down as Silly Putty. You should see all the looks we get when they yell "Silly Putty." Putty gets mortified.
 
Nice numbers for Curry this am! I hope the timed feeder works well for you. Tena - you are a brave person for trying the cats food. Did you just take a little nibble - or spread it on a cracker like pate?? :lol: I do agree - at least by smell - evo looks/smells the best. I'll leave the tasting to you though!
 
Miriam and Putty said:
Good morning.
It looks like Curry is going to have an eventful day...or I should say you might. :mrgreen:


Tena you asked me the other day how Putty got his name (it was you right?). We got him when my DD was 9 and she named him Nickel at first.....but he was such a silly little kitten she started calling him Silly so we renamed him Silly Putty but now we have dropped the Silly. When we go to the vets they still have his name down as Silly Putty. You should see all the looks we get when they yell "Silly Putty." Putty gets mortified.


Yes...that was me who asked. It just tickles me when I hear the stories behind a kitty's name. And then to learn what name finally sticks. I like the name Putty...Nickel was good too. Yeah, I bet the ears perk up at the Vet...from other pet owners too. :mrgreen:
 
joyce-tuscany said:
Nice numbers for Curry this am! I hope the timed feeder works well for you. Tena - you are a brave person for trying the cats food. Did you just take a little nibble - or spread it on a cracker like pate?? :lol: I do agree - at least by smell - evo looks/smells the best. I'll leave the tasting to you though!


Yes, the low calorie crackers... :lol: No..just kidding. The least palatable item I've tried is the laxaire...the stuff for preventing constipation...the kitties LOVE it....its totally gross....contains: liquid petroleum, cod liver oil, soybean oil and last but not least...peptonized iron in a palatable base....Yuck....

Oh, FYI...FF with gravy is pretty bland and you can taste the sugar in it.

Ok, I'm full now and purring.
 
Curry's plea to her Momma Bean....

NO MORE POKING.....PLEZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!!! I'll cover my ears if you come close to me w/that pitchfork again... you Vampire.
 

Attachments

  • Curry_no-poking-please-.jpg
    Curry_no-poking-please-.jpg
    174.8 KB · Views: 959
Boy, she's looking good. What did you decide about the one drop less than 1u experiment?

I love to see your pictures of Curry - your photography is yummy and she is so photogenic.
 
Kim - decided to give it a go w/ 1 unit.

When she was first dx about 1.5 months ago I decreased her dx after about 2 weeks to .75 and then .5. I wasn't prepared or comfortable shooting the lower numbers. She probably really needed to stay at the 1 unit for awhile longer back then. So I'm now more comfortable w/the lower numbers and am trying to get her in a little more in the greens w/the help of the insulin. So I've gradually increased her dose and will see how she does at 1 unit. When its time for a decrease I may try the .1 decrease each time. Its easier to see the full 1 unit and then push out a drop at a time to decrease it. I'll probably need to practice a bit though.

Overall, Curry has been fairly consistent w/her numbers. She's not had any pink, red or black numbers since I began testing which was about 1 week after starting the insulin and beginning a transition to canned food. Usually one cycle is lower than the next...a bit bouncy still.

Thanks for asking.

So did you make the nanimo bars?
 
Our little Saturday bit of drama threw off my schedule, but I'm gonna make them this week. At least, that's the plan.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top