9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 +12.5 60 +13 65 skipping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
9/18 Recap:

amps 69 shot .1u bupe
+.25 pepcid
+3 66 hadn't eaten
+5 78 carafate
+10.5 76 cypro she started eating w/in 15 mins
pmps 66 shot .1u bupe
+2 46 fed as much as she wanted
+2.5 55
+2.75 fed 8 whiska lickin's chicken and cheese flavor tender morsels
+3 49 Left big bowl of food out and fell asleep
+6 66 (ooh scary!)
amps 117 shot .1u bupe

Good Morning LL!

I did a couple no-no's last night, so please no one follow my example.. :oops: I don't know what I was thinking when I shot that 66 last night. 66 is a perfectly shootable number, but I hadn't slept at yet, and probably should have either skipped or BCS'ed a drop. I think I got thrown into the deep end of this so fast, that my reactions are still based how she USED to react, and what I could count on her to do 2 years ago, which simply is not the same as this time around. When I saw the 46 at +2, I really regretted having shot. But, we can only go foward, right? So I formulated a theory and decided to test it out...and then promptly fell asleep I-) I-) I-) At +2.75 I gave 8 high carb (I assume, don't know actual carb content) cat treats. I did this for 2 reasons. (1) So I could hopefully get some sleep and her numbers would bump up some and keep her safe. Now I fully intended to get up and test, but I also figured I wouldn't hear alarms, and I didn't. (2) She goes for her ultrasound this morning, and I was supposed to skip her shot if she was low. I really didn't want to skip another shot (poor thing will never get a depot formed at this rate) and I am hoping the cat treats from last night may help to keep her numbers a bit higher while she's gone. Upon seeing amps this morning, I can only hope that my theory worked, and that she didn't tank and bounce, but Muffin's never been a bouncer before, but of course I can't really count on that now.

I would like to think this morning's shot was skinny, but to be honest I had JUST woken up and I'm not certain it was, so I'm not going to write it as skinny. But it was my intention. Muffin is eating this morning, and seems to be feeling ok. I'm glad she was able to get good sleep last night. She's due at the vet at +2, but not sure what time the U/S will actually be done. I'm going to ask them to call me so I can be in the office during the procedure, and I'll ask that they try without sedation.

Hope everyone is well and has a great day.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 U/S today

We all second guess ourselves when running on auto-pilot and too little sleep. Muffin is looking good aneven if they were 40s , she wasn't dangerously low. I hope you can get a nap in while waiting for the US. Sending good vetty vines and Tess says KTSS will be waiting for dear Muffin when she gets home! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 U/S today

from some of other folks experience at the vets, Might I suggest you take your meter with you and check Muffin at some point while
she is there. You said you were going to be there.

They charge you when they do it.
Some here have said they asked their vet to check ( like during surgeries or anesthesia ) and the vet didn't check.
Yours probably would but it would probably make you feel better about it too, seeing that number yourself.

just a thought?
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 U/S today

Thanks Ann! And Tess, I'll tell Muffin you'll be here.

Rhiannon - I was actually thinking of taking mine, at least to check her when I drop her off. I had almost decided against it, but you make good points. Sometimes they forget. So thank you for the good advice.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 U/S today

Sending calming vines for Muffin's vetty visit! Sedation is no fun, so hopefully they won't need to.

Also hope you get some answers from the US. Not exactly a pleasant realization, but knowledge is power!!
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 +2 74 U/S today

+2 74. Tested in the car outside the vet's office. They're supposed to call me when the radiologist calls them and says he's on his way. I only live 5 mins from vet, so I'll go down then. I asked them to test her before the procedure, but if I can get there before the radiologist, I'll try to test myself, if they're able to let me in the back.

Deb - Thanks for the calming vines - she sure needs them. ;-) They did say they'd try without sedation first. Knowledge is definitely power, and I just want to make sure this is just pancreatitis and that nothing else is involved. Dr said he'd send out BW also, so between the two, I'm hoping we'll have a pretty clear picture of what's really going on.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 +2 74 U/S today

Hi Anne, I think you did good with the shot and treats. Sending lots of good luck and healing vines for Muffin and you and glad they can do it without anesthesia. You could try adding another alarm and placing it in an area where you have to get up. I can imagine how tired you must be feeling. Sending vines for you, too.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 +2 74 U/S today

Prayers that no anesthesia & clean u/s for you & Muffin--Thinking of you today--Hugs & love from us!
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 +2 74 U/S today

Ok we're back and Muffin behaved like an angel - no sedation needed. :thumbup Vet checked BG at +3.5 with his Alpha Trak meter and got 122. I took my meter when I heard the radiologist was on his way to see if I could get a test. They didn't feel it was necessary, and I didn't push the issue. I gave Denamarin when we got home, and want to give her some relaxation time before checking BG. As soon as I gave it, she ran to her food dish.. ohmygod_smile So I'll test at +7.5, that's when she can eat.

Here are the U/S results:
"Interpretation:
The kidneys are normal in size _3.6 cm lengths), shape and architecture. The spleen is normal in size, margination and parenchymal appearance. The liver is minimally enlarged in size, with sharp margination but with diffuse prominently hyperechoic parenchymal appearance. The gallbladder is only mildly distended and without significant debris accumulation or biliary duct abnormality. The stomach is very prominently primarily fluid distended. No pyloric region abnormalities are identified. The small bowel is of normal diameter, without wall thickening or wall layering change. No mesenteric or other abdominal lymph node enlargement is present. The pancreas is mildly diffusely thickened in the left limb, but with maintained architecture. The urinary bladder (prominently distended) and other abdominal organs and features are within normal limits and not remarkable.
Diagnosis/Impression:
Prominently hyperechoic liver. This is a common appearance with fatty infiltration, seen with hepatic lipidosis and diabetic livers and is very consistent with diabetes in this patient. Evidence of mild chronic pancreatitis. Prominent gastric fluid and urinary bladder distension consistent with PU/PD condition."

I'm also having a full blood panel run just so we have "this picture goes with this picture" - a more complete snapshot of what's going on. So, we do have proof of chronic pancreatitis, and it is mild. I'm a little worried about the liver results. Dr wants me to change Muffin's food to something lower in fat. nailbite_smile He mentioned presecription food :lol: to which I responded, "I'm not feeding Hill's food." So I'll consult Janet and Binky to find some possibilites. However, the idea of trying to change Muffin's food again is really not something I'm looking forward to. And I love what Wellness has done for her, so hopefully they have something that will suffice.

As soon as she got home, she went for the LB, so I was able to get a ketone test - negative. Ok, I think that's everything for now.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 +2 74 U/S Results

What a good girl Muffin was!!

FWIW, I think Merrick Before the Grain is lower in fat. It's definitely lower in calories.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +1 118 +2 74 U/S Results

Whew, poor bean. Muffin came through like a pro! I hope you both get some well deserved rest tonight. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +2 74 +10 91 U/S Results

+10 91 I'm trying to figure out what I want to do with her dose now. I may do some drop counting like some of you do to see how many drops are in my .1u and if there is room to shave the dose. She did technically earn a reduction last night, which I didn't take today because of the treats and possible vet stress, but I guess it's possible that the .25u I shot 3 cycles ago could still be having an effect?

Thanks for the info, Sienne, the biggest problem is going to be seeing what I can get her to try. I have some Merrick's Cowboy Cookout I may see if I can sneak a touch of that in with her WN. Just to see if her stubbornness has lessened at all. :smile:

Thanks Anne - She really did do a great job. And I hope we do too! I-)
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +2 74 +10 91 U/S Results

Hi Anne,
That was quite a day for Muffin. She did very well. Good luck with finding a food. You sure don't want to feed those prescription "foods"! Merrick's BG line of foods (before grain), as Sienne suggests, is low in calories and in fat and only 1% carbs. Rusty will eat it occasionally, but tires of it quickly. He likes Wellness the best. (Cowboy Cookout is not in the BG line.)
KTSS will be along soon to deal with the vetty smell. Have a good evening and get some sleep tonight!!

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 Help!

+12 is 57 She's been eating since +10 and she just tried to eat more. I picked up the food. Should I stall? Skip?
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 Help!

Do you have plenty of supplies and do you think she will eat? Will you be able to stay up?

ETA: I'm a little worried that she has been eating since +10 and she's only at 57 PLUS that is probably a food spike number...
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 Help!

My mistake, she's been eating since +11, but she also got fed at +8.5. She is wanting to eat now, so I picked up her food. +12.25 she's 65. I'll stall and test again at +12.25, but at this point I'm leaning toward skipping.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 Help!

It depends on how long you can stall. I think if you stall until +13, you are likely past the food spike and if she's coming up, you could shoot if you are up for it.

It's up to you.....it's hard to know if she will stay down or pop way back up and she has been giving you a run for your money. Obviously, if she bounces, she is clearing them fast and coming back down.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 Help!

Anne --

You know Muffin best. Take your cue from her. If numbers aren't coming up despite feeding, it's OK to skip.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 Help!

I can stall without a problem - other than she's knocking everything over on my desk :lol: Obviously the cypro is still affecting her. I had already decided to shave her dose. My .1u is a fat drop and maybe 1/4 drop, so I can take the 1/4 drop off. I think the treats are out of her system now, too.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 Help!

Well... wow. alot here depends on whether you can stay up with her if you shoot. Will she eat? dive? stay flat? You know her best - If it were me, and numbers aren't coming up despite the food on board, and being as fatigued as I am sure you are - I'd skip. no doubt about it. She will recover soon enough. Good luck with your decision. :-D

Muffins? Up you go, 'K?
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 +12.25 65 +12.5 60 Help!

Surfing. We support whatever decision you make.

If you decide yo shoot, I hope you have some of that peppermint mocha latte Michelle drinsk :-D
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 +12.25 65 +12.5 60 Help!

I'll keep checking until +13. If there's a significant difference, I'll shoot, but maybe even a titch less than I was planning. If she's still surfing, I'll skip.

Thank you Marje, for responding so quickly, and thank you Sienne and Michelle!
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin +12 57 +12.25 65 +12.5 60 Help!

You're welcome. Remember that even if you reduce her dose, you could still have an active cycle. Even if you skip, you could have some low numbers to start with. Dose reductions "normally" affect the next or later cycles but don't tell Muffin.
 
Re: 9/19/12 Muffin amps 117 +2 74 +10 91 U/S Results

Muffin is such a trooper!!! It has been a long day for her. Glad she was able to get through the process without sedation.

Here are a few ideas from my low carb, low fat searches for Yahtzee:
Merrick BG is excellent for low carb, but close to the same fat content as Wellness.
Some regular Merrick varieties are 5% or less in carbs and lower in fat, such as Surf N Turf, Southern Delight, and Cowboy Cookout.
Tiki Cat is extremely low in carbs and very low in fat. There are two chicken varieties, Puka Puka Luau (just chicken) and Koolina Luau (chicken w/egg), and they have many different types of fish. Please note - this is a shredded style food rather than a pate. I attached a pdf of a 2009 food analysis for review.
And then there's the not-so-great-ingredient FF Classics.

I know exactly what it's like to have an extremely picky eater, and above and beyond all, Muffin must eat!!! I knew I had to pick my battles, so when Yahtzee refused to eat all the healthy-ingredient brands, I had to settle for FF. Eating something

Here's a tip in case you're interested at all in trying raw food. I emailed Feline's Pride asking about sample sizes (thinking I wanted to buy a small quantity to see if Yahtzee would even eat it). They sent me a huge sample shipment of four different varieties (5 lbs each) of raw food!!!! I was totally shocked :shock: when I came home to a huge package on my doorstep, shipping ice packs included!! They made no indication via email that they were sending samples. I simply received a somewhat standard email response that highlighted the company and gave suggestions on how to transition your cat. So if you're curious to try raw, but don't want to make a whole batch at home, this may be worth a try. Btw, my picky guy actually eats the raw!!

Good luck to you and Muffin!!! Many healing vines going your way!!
 

Attachments

Hi Anne - I see from your subject line that you are skipping. A wise decision, IMHO. You can get some rest, Muffin can get a break. I'd still spot check now and then,as there can still be shed action. Maybe leave food out? I will be signing off soon as I have to be up and back at it in a few hours. Good luck - have a restful night.
 
+13 she's still surfing at 65, so I'm going to skip tonight. I'll get a few more tests in, just to see what she's doing. She finally got fed, but she's sitting on the shelf where all the cat food is kept. I think she wants another serving. Right away, your majesty! cat_pet_icon

Thanks for all the great info Deb. I have some of the regular merricks here, so since she's so starving, I'll put a dab of one in her regular food and see what happens. And I hadn't thought of Tiki Cat, so I will have to go get some of that as well. I've ordered Feline's Pride once before, when I was trying to get Muffin off of dry food. She, of course, wouldn't touch it back then, but my civvie Shnookie absolutely loved it. If I remember correctly, I ordered the smallest size they had and it cost about $50 with shipping, so that sample shipment is great!! Maybe I'll try that.
 
The commercial raw foods aren't really low fat, usually foods w/ turkey are lower fat. If Muffin will eat raw the best bet may be making it yourself. Dr. Lisa has a recipe w/out bones now. You can reduce the fat by trimming and removing the skin. We make at part of Tess's diet and making it w/out bones isn't that hard, you don't need the big grinder. Try just giving her some raw meat next time you fix chicken and see if she will eat it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top