9/18 Muffin amps 223 pmps 151 Dose ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25219

Happy Caturday LL.

Well, she came down to numbers I can live with last night, but now this morning she's right back where she was yesterday morning. I realize the infection's not going to be gone overnight, but I guess I should take her back to the vet for the blood panel today. I'm thinking better safe than sorry, and if there IS something else going on, at least we'll catch it early. Thoughts? I could be overreacting and wasting money, but it's only $144 - I think my peace of mind alone is worth that. Especially since tomorrow is Sunday.

Muffin seems well this morning, she's working on breffis now. This morning I put the crab pieces from Tiki Tuna & Crab in the bottom of the bowl - even looked good to me! I wonder what she'll think (as if I don't know :roll: ) She's way less hungry than yesterday morning.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 223

well, for me peace of mind is worth the expense. when was the last one?, and maybe Muffin is due for a recheck? I think too that I am a data freak - love comparisons, and I'd go if it were Mannie. Good luck with your decision.

Hey Muffin! How are you today? Do you need more chicken soup???? We are all at Tess's today - surfin' and playing in the dunes. We are going lizard hunting too - YAY! Grillin' after that. Grilled lizard is the best. I hope you can come- See you? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 223

hey, muffin...hear you're not feeling so hot...i'll wait inthe pkg lot at the vettie's if you want so we can go to the Lizard Luau...

binks

Anne- peace of mind is a precious commodity...especially in a crowded mind like mine! good luck today, girl.

celi
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 223 +1 183

183 @ +1 so she's coming down better than yesterday

Michelle - her last bw was at dx, in june, so just 3 months ago, but I don't know if they did a fpl at that time, I don't have an actual copy of the results (I'll ask for one this time tho)

Celi - :lol: I do agree tho, and now seeing this 183, I'm probably overreacting, but I think I'll go ahead and take her in anyway. It can't hurt anything, right?

In answering your question, Michelle, I called the vet to ask, and they said no, it's not part of the normal bloodwork, so she's never had an fpl (am I calling it the right thing?) So now I feel justified in taking her in today to have that done. Thanks!

ETA: Sheesh Mom, can I talk too? Binks - you're on! Meet ya at the vetty's! Thanks so much for coming to get me, now the bean will have to let me go! - Muffin
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 223 +1 183 +3 162 +6 144

+6 144

Obviously a better day than yesterday. Vet visit went well for the blood draw, and was cheaper than the estimate! Well, it was fine for me, Muffin was not happy about it, but I promised her I wouldn't make her go again tomorrow. I'm sure this was an unnecessary precaution, but I'm still glad I did it. Should have results Monday or Tuesday. Muffin met Binks in the parking lot after, and they drove off together. She just texted me this +6 from the party. That's my good little girl! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 223 +1 183 +3 162 +6 144

So sorry Muffin has a UTI, I don't blame you for getting the other tests done since her numbers are still up. It's worth it for peace of mind. Hopefully her numbers will improve soon!

Thanks for your kind words in our condo, I appreciate the support a lot!
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 223 +1 183 +3 162 +6 144

unnecessary precaution is so much better than regrettable failure to act...

besides, you REALLY didnt want binks zooming up the street to your house...he be's a lil bit of a daring young man in my jaunty jalopy.

celi
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 223 ... +3 162...+9.75 181

Tried to get a +9, couldn't find the Muffin. After a half hour, started to worry a little. Found her on her cat condo (same place she was when son called me about her the other day) so I expected worse than 181...odd to be a bit relieved at that number :smile: Interested to see what pmps is tonight - she might actually have a "normal" curve for the first time ever :lol:

Celi - yeah, i saw what you mean - he nearly ran me over in the parking lot! I'd hate to have to explain THAT to my neighbors! Glad he's getting driving lessons today ;-)
 
pmps 151 Muffin started and ended her day today just like yesterday, but the middle was better!

I'm wondering if I should fatten her dose just a smidgeon while she's got this infection to keep her in her normal numbers. What do you guys do when the kitties are on ab's? Since she's not THAT high, does it matter much either way?
 
I think whether you increase the dose is entirely you're call. Muffin's numbers aren't bad -- I'd be strongly inclined to suggest increasing if she were still in the yellows. You're instincts are good, though. Many kitties who are fighting off an infection need a bump in their dose. The down side is that you need to monitor carefully since as the ABs kick in, BG numbers can come down quickly. Maybe wait through the Sunday AM cycle and evaluate for the PM?

FYI: the pancreatitis test is either an fPLI or a spec fPLI.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top