9/18 Kitty Cat PM+10 83, AMPS 92, +1 124, +2 81, +3 95, first time in range

I have to leave in less than 3 hours for an appointment. I can check in but not as often as I would like.
Thank you, Elise. Hopefully you'll have a picture of where the cycle is heading before you have to duck out. I'm really sorry I can't stay. I've got to focus on the Noodle. :(

I can check-in but I feel Kitty Cat needs a more experienced guide than me...though I can certainly help track down helpers when needed.
Thank you, Susanne. That'll be really helpful! :)


Mogs
.
 
@JaxBenji Hi. It’s really going to be helping her decide when to test and when and what to feed. You know how to do that really well.
Okay :bighug: I can do that. We would be more conservative than I am with Jax, right? For him, I don't use my MC unless in the 50s or I know he's up to his PMPS antics or coming off a reduction...for Kitty Cat, we want to keep him around 100? Looks like he has a bump already but just want a little plan (of course lol ;)).

I do have to run to groceries in a bit but I'll leave a note here when I go out.
 
Yes, be more conservative since this kitty is underweight and gas these issues. We don’t want her to earn a reduction or get too close to the sharks. You understand perfectly. I’ll be here for about 2 hours and can check my phone while out. Thanks.:bighug:
 
yes! I figured this is exactly what I need today. Thanks everyone for the help. Nice to meet you @JaxBenji :bighug:
+1 is 124. Will get a +2
You're doing great :) I'm Susanne and my sugar cat is Jax (black one in my pic). Do you happen to have measuring spoons around? Now that Kitty Cat has had some breakfast, sometimes a teaspoon or two is all the kitty needs to keep surfing (or staying in the same healthy numbers).
 
You're doing great :) I'm Susanne and my sugar cat is Jax (black one in my pic). Do you happen to have measuring spoons around? Now that Kitty Cat has had some breakfast, sometimes a teaspoon or two is all the kitty needs to keep surfing (or staying in the same healthy numbers).
Hi Susanne & Jax! I'm Christina from NYC :) and my sweet bean is Kitty Cat.
I do have measuring spoons. I admit I've been eyeballing but can definitely get more precise now that I'm starting to record his intake.
 
Last edited:
Hi Susanne! I'm Christina from NYC :)
I do have measuring spoons. I admit I've been eyeballing but can definitely get more precise now that I'm starting to record his intake.
Love the city! We're in NC. And I was the same way - eyeballing - then started measuring. It will really help for your NEXT experience with these numbers - though it will also help today if we need it...When I see lower numbers that I've seen before, I look back at my notes to see what I fed & the amt, and what the number was next time I tested (and then decide if I want to repeat that or change it slightly - it's all sort of a little balancing act).

Today, measuring will help tell us if we need more or less of whatever food to keep Kitty Cat safe :)
 
It looks very much like the problem Robyn has with Olive (and other cats I've seen here in the past).
Can someone point me to Olive's spreadsheet? Or any others you think would be helpful for us? I was advised yesterday to go through some other spreadsheets to become familiar with the different scenarios. Doing my best to soak up all this info to avoid future panic and relieve you guys a little. I read through the guides but am lost because of the ketones. He's been negative ever since his trip to the hospital, but I'm worried about it coming back.
 
My boy is HUNGRYYY. poor guy slid off the table after jumping to get to food. Feeding 2 tsp MC! Also some more purebites with testing. Taking me a while to get used to this human meter larger blood requirement. Wasted another 4 strips because he kept moving.
 
If she surfs it’s will be very good. It’s different this time. You have supplies and it’s during the day
yes, I actually slept last night!! he usually knocks out after breakfast for a few hours but he's SUPER HYPER right now. I will take this opportunity to get him some exercise...
 
My boy is HUNGRYYY. poor guy slid off the table after jumping to get to food. Feeding 2 tsp MC! Also some more purebites with testing. Taking me a while to get used to this human meter larger blood requirement. Wasted another 4 strips because he kept moving.
You'll get it down :) I do a little breadcrumb trail in front of me with small bits of the purebites to keep my kitty busy. I try to rub his ear before I put the treats down to help the blood flow a little. Glad he's eating willingly :)
 
Also I came from AlphaTrak testing too and the biggest difference in getting blood was the AT strips suck it up better than the human one. Once I lined up the blood spot on my human strip and shoved it in the middle of the blood drop, I had a lot more success.

So, 2 more t MC and I'd test again at +3 to see what Kitty Cat is doing.
 
My boy is HUNGRYYY. poor guy slid off the table after jumping to get to food. Feeding 2 tsp MC! Also some more purebites with testing. Taking me a while to get used to this human meter larger blood requirement. Wasted another 4 strips because he kept moving.
Hold his ear if you can, it can help minimise head movement. Try collecting a decent sized blood sample on the back of a clean fingernail and then testing it from there.

.
 
You and Kitty Cat are doing great :bighug:

AMPS 92 *1/2 of can FF gravy chicken 15% (FIRST TIME HAVING MC)
+1 124 *no food?
+2 81 *2t MC
+2.5 88 *2t MC
+3 95

The MC is working nicely to keep bring him up slowly. Is his appetite still good? I am thinking another 2t and give a poke break for an hour (so test at +4).
 
I'm a little dizzy myself and need to eat so a 1 hr poke break would be nice. He's still hungry! I'll do a mix so he's not upset by the sudden lack of gravy goodness.
Also just a note, he gets ondansetron at +6 which I give with ~ 2tsp food

Sounds like a plan of doing 1t of MC and 1t of LC and test at +4 :D Longer in the healing numbers, the more Kitty Cat's body gets used to it (which is likely the reasoning behind @Wendy&Neko saying to back off the MC :)).
 
About using MC every once in a while... once the can is opened, how long do you usually keep it in the fridge if there's still some leftover?
I personally do about a day or so. I also have freezed teapoons in an ice cube tray - popped them out and put them in a ziplock. I personally still reach for the fresh MC (or leftover in the fridge) but it's another thought - they defrost super fast since it's such a small amount.
 
Christina,

A thought just crossed my mind so I've popped in for a minute:

Do you have enough ondansetron for Kitty Cat to see you through to Monday? If not I suggest you ask the vet for more today before they close so that you have the tools you need to help Kitty Cat to keep eating well throughout the weekend.

Gone again.


Mogs
.
 
+4 123
appetite still good
Called vet and they said no refill allowed. I have enough to last until the end of Sunday, 8 more doses. I want to believe that yesterday's vomit was just too much new food.
 
AMPS 92 *1/2 of can FF gravy chicken 15% (FIRST TIME HAVING MC)
+1 124 *no food?
+2 81 *2t MC
+2.5 88 *2t MC
+3 95 *1t MC, 1t LC
+4 123

Is Kitty Cat still clamoring for food or calmer? I'm inclined to say no food right now and test in another hour at +5 (so it'd be two hours without food) - would be interesting to see if he keeps rising or not. If he's hungry, I'd definitely do LC but still only 1-2t.
 
AMPS 92 *1/2 of can FF gravy chicken 15% (FIRST TIME HAVING MC)
+1 124 *no food?
+2 81 *2t MC
+2.5 88 *2t MC
+3 95 *1t MC, 1t LC
+4 123

Is Kitty Cat still clamoring for food or calmer? I'm inclined to say no food right now and test in another hour at +5 (so it'd be two hours without food) - would be interesting to see if he keeps rising or not. If he's hungry, I'd definitely do LC but still only 1-2t.
no food at +1
not dying for food right now. will get a +5
THANK YOU!
 
Susanne you are doing great. Just checking in from my hair appointment. :bighug:
Christina you will be coaching others before you know it. :bighug:
yessss you are my hero today susanne!!
I'm feeling a lot better today. My inbox is piling up but decided to not look at work today so I can focus on kitty cat and calming myself down from this "hell of a week". still at odds with family over "the right thing to do" but it's also helping me be EVEN MORE confident in my feelings that I'm doing my baby right.
 
AMPS 92 *1/2 of can FF gravy chicken 15% (FIRST TIME HAVING MC)
+1 124 *no food
+2 81 *2t MC
+2.5 88 *2t MC
+3 95 *1t MC, 1t LC
+4 123 *hold food
+5 121

Should I hold food again until +6 when he's due for ondansetron with 2 tsp LC? I also want him to drink more so I can get a ketone test in today
 
AMPS 92 *1/2 of can FF gravy chicken 15% (FIRST TIME HAVING MC)
+1 124 *no food
+2 81 *2t MC
+2.5 88 *2t MC
+3 95 *1t MC, 1t LC
+4 123 *hold food
+5 121

Yay Kitty Cat :cool: Let's do 1-2 t of LC and test at +6. I know you have to feed a little at +6 too but a little LC may keep him in these blues.
 
Yay Kitty Cat :cool: Let's do 1-2 t of LC and test at +6. I know you have to feed a little at +6 too but a little LC may keep him in these blues.
ooh okay sorry we crossposted/I was editing. I'll give him 1tsp LC now. He's not dying for food and I want to make sure the ondansetron goes down.
 
yessss you are my hero today susanne!!
I'm feeling a lot better today. My inbox is piling up but decided to not look at work today so I can focus on kitty cat and calming myself down from this "hell of a week". still at odds with family over "the right thing to do" but it's also helping me be EVEN MORE confident in my feelings that I'm doing my baby right.
You are doing so great! I've only been engaged here for a month - I have learned so so much and know my cat better than ever (whom I've had for 15 years!). I'm sure you may have a similar experience!

ooh okay sorry we crossposted/I was editing. I'll give him 1tsp LC now. He's not dying for food and I want to make sure the ondansetron goes down.
Ha, no worries. I was so excited he stayed flat lol. He's doing great and so are you!
 
You are doing so great! I've only been engaged here for a month - I have learned so so much and know my cat better than ever (whom I've had for 15 years!). I'm sure you may have a similar experience!
Kitty Cat came to me as a stray, maybe 6 months old by then. Brother brought him home and I said absolutely not, I'm allergic. Fast forward ~ 8 years and he's very much mine. It's just me and my sweet bean living together since March. I was so happy I could take him with me when I moved out and into my own apartment, keep a tighter lid on his food since he was overweight. But then he lost TOO MUCH! Then came the diagnosis.
I'll definitely be on here to give back as soon as I can. I've already received so much help and look forward to doing that for others.

How often are you giving ondansetron now?
1mg every 8 hours
 
How much does he weigh? That's a really small dose, it's dosed by weight. My 8 lb cat gets 2 mg. Fortunately she wolfs it down in a pill pocket.
 
Back
Top