9/18 Kitty Cat PM+10 83, AMPS 92, +1 124, +2 81, +3 95, first time in range

How much does he weigh? That's a really small dose, it's dosed by weight. My 8 lb cat gets 2 mg. Fortunately she wolfs it down in a pill pocket.
7.5lbs or just under. I remember you saying the dose was smaller than usual. I called about getting a refill but they said no and that if he's still nauseous after this bottle (have 8 doses left) then he needs to come in to be looked at.
 
+6 154
Will give 1tsp LC with ondansetron and some water mixed in. still haven't been able to get a ketone test since this morning but it was pee from sometime during the night
 
Looks like he's on the way up. I'd grab at least a +10 in case he dips back down like he did the other day. You can grab a +8 if you want to fill in a gap for the afternoon.

For the +10, you can give a small snack if his numbers are trending down before PMPS.

Good job :bighug:
 
Looks like he's on the way up. I'd grab at least a +10 in case he dips back down like he did the other day. You can grab a +8 if you want to fill in a gap for the afternoon.

For the +10, you can give a small snack if his numbers are trending down before PMPS.

Good job :bighug:
yayyyy!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I also got a caliper today so his PM 0.5u will be more accurate. half unit syringes will come in soon.
 
Ideal plan assuming nothing crazy happens and he stays upper green-blue:
AM+8 hold food *~data collection for future reference*~
AM+10 if going down, 1tsp LC; if going up, hold food
PMPS soupy 1.5 can LC + 4mg famotidine
shoot 0.5u
PM+2 1-2tsp LC + 1mg ondansetron
Sleep and be thankful for this uneventful but learning packed day
 
Ideal plan assuming nothing crazy happens and he stays upper green-blue:
AM+8 hold food *~data collection for future reference*~
AM+10 if going down, 1tsp LC; if going up, hold food
PMPS soupy 1.5 can LC + 4mg famotidine
shoot 0.5u
PM+2 1-2tsp LC + 1mg ondansetron
Sleep and be thankful for this uneventful but learning packed day
Looks like a good plan :) if he needs a snack at +10, you can refer back to what we did today and make the judgement from there.

And I'm not sure if you are happy with your shot time or not but you can move it up by 15 minute increments every cycle OR 30 minutes every other cycle (i.e. don't move your shot time more than 30 minutes in 24 hours).
 
And I'm not sure if you are happy with your shot time or not but you can move it up by 15 minute increments every cycle OR 30 minutes every other cycle (i.e. don't move your shot time more than 30 minutes in 24 hours).
The 1.25 hr delay from the other day I think actually worked in our favor. It pushed his AM dose after the vet's opening hours in case of emergency and FDMB is a little more active in case I need help like today.
Definitely noted for the future though if I decide to move it back up. Currently unemployed which is why I'm home and able to monitor at anytime, but that will eventually have to change.
 
If going down at +10 and still over 150, which I expect you will be, you don’t need to feed. There is a phenomenon called a Lantus double dip, where some cats do a small dip at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main part of the cycle. Perfectly normal and fine to shoot.
 
If going down at +10 and still over 150, which I expect you will be, you don’t need to feed. There is a phenomenon called a Lantus double dip, where some cats do a small dip at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main part of the cycle. Perfectly normal and fine to shoot.
+8 is 143 so already below 150
he's quite hangry now so getting his +10 is going to be a challenge for me. sighh.
would you still say to hold food until PM shot?
 
Great, I just got a new shipment of purebites!
WHOOPS I accidentally ordered shrimp instead of chicken. And I'm worried about stomach sensitivity with seafood so trying to stick to chicken.
Any suggestions for other no carb treats? I like purebites but I noticed half the bag was basically dust. Looked at some reviews online and people are saying they got dust bags or it was rancid.
 
Life Essentials is a good brand and not dust. I have purchased chicken before. You can likely get it at a pet store locally. I just bought a bag of salmon the other day.
 
Last edited:
I use Chicken purebites. Someone on here said to order the dog treat bag to save money (after all, it’s just chicken!). The pieces are bigger so I just break off a chunk when I need it. I ordered from chewy and haven’t had a problem with the pieces being dust.
 
WOW okay everything happened so fast. I ran out of treats for the last 2 tests and he was HANGRYYYY. For his PMPS test, I accidentally hit a vein but it wouldn't stop bleeding after several minutes and pressure so I was just freaking out trying to get it to stop spraying. Gave food, always have a hard time getting him to take famotidine. I guess it has a weird taste? Stopping him after a soupy 1 can FF so I can give him another soupy half with ondansetron at PM+2 before I go to sleep. Shot 0.5u.

WHAT A DAY

Thank you everyone for the help. I'm so relieved today was as uneventful as it was and I learned so much about shooting green and snacking with higher carbs.
 
Nice PMPS. Update your ss when you can.
1hr until I get the PM+2
Planning to give soupy 2tsp to a half can LC with ondansetron, really as much as he'll eat without effort on my end. He didn't eat as much as usual today since we were concerned about him filling up too quickly. But he is underweight so I want him to eat when he can. Also doesn't drink water on his own hence the soupy main meals.
I think this will also let me rest easy tonight since it's his first full day of greens and blues...
 
Gave food, always have a hard time getting him to take famotidine. I guess it has a weird taste?
Yes! Some of us use gelcaps and put the foul tasting meds in there if you can't get them to eat them in pill pockets or other disguise. A size 3, 4, or 5 gelcap is good for a cat, the larger the number the smaller the gel cap. You can also buy meat flavoured ones for pets. :)
 
Another thing you can do for treats is buy chicken breasts, and bake or boil them (or whatever meat he can eat). Slice into small treat size bits and freeze what you don't need right away.
 
Yes, seems right to me. A couple reasons why. First, he's not used to those lovely greens he saw this morning and is bouncing. Two, you lowered the dose. Any luck on a ketones test yet?
 
Back
Top