9/18 Boris - amps 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patti and Merlin

Member Since 2009
ok - 1 hour after his +11 was 40 - and DH fed him his whole plate of food (sorry Libby - he ate before I saw the "just 1-2 tsp" advice) - Boris" +12 is 62.

Sooooo what does this mom do now????? :oops: I feel sooo embarrassed -

just keep testing - and........ :?:
 
Nahhhh...no need to be embarrassed. You're a pro at an entirely different scenario.

I'd re-test in 15 - 30 min. to see what the numbers are. When exactly did DH feed? A food spike generally happens at around an hour after eating.
 
how long could you stall this morning and still be able to shoot at +12 after that? In other words, how quickly do you need to be back on your 9:00/9:00 schedule?

If you're able to stall, then what we normally do is test about every 30 minutes until you see a decent rise, then shoot. Since Boris is brand new on Lantus, you (obviously) don't have the data yet to be able to shoot this low.

If stalling this morning would make a big mess of your schedule, then on to Plan B. For today, that would probably mean skipping and restarting tonight. Does Boris have a history of ketones?
 
1 1/4 can fancy feast lo carb. He eats this 2 times/day.

with the Vetsulin - we didn't notice a food spike per se but who knows. In the beginning with the vetsulin - he was very sensitive to doses initially. Sometimes he used only 0.25units/day but then he didn't always eat that great then either. Now he eats like crazy being on the Pred.

ok - we'll retest in 30 min

I'm off work until Wednesday so could readjust things as needed over the next few days. We're used to getting up "round the clock" for dosing with the vetsulin as we did with the pzi for Merlin. So whatever needs to be done - we'll do.

9 and 9 works best for us as Joe can always dose in the AM when I work and I'm home by 9pm when I work. Does this help?

And as far as I know - boris has no history of ketones. Never with us at least!
 
Re: 9/18 Boris - amps 62...update

so here's the latest on Boris
amps +12 = 62 no insulin since 9pm last nite - 12 hrs ago
+30minutes = 87
+1 = 108
+1.5= 115
+3 = 148
+4 = 184

so if I'm right - knowing how he has been on Vetsulin - at his next check - +5 - he will be >200 - do I shoot at this hour? if so do I give 1 unit or cut back? It would be 17 hours since his first/last lantus dose.

THANKS soooooo much for all your help!
 
It's your call if you shoot at what would be your +5. But, you then are 5 hours off schedule and it will be tough to migrate the time back to your preferred schedule by Wed. If it were me, I'd just skip the shot and get back on schedule for the PM shot.
 
Thank you!
I'm thinking I should decrease to 0.5 units or even 0.75 units? Does that seem right? If I read the protocol right with boris's preshot being @ 4o this AM it should be decreased by 0.25u?! ?????

His +5 is 197 ;-)
 
nice. :smile:

you should decrease the dose. What to decrease it to depends on you - do you want to be aggressive, or do you want to ease into things a little more. We can either say "oops, starting dose was too high, let's start over at 0.5" or we can say "great, Boris earned a reduction to 0.75." For lots of people it's more comfortable to ease into low numbers and shooting low. Others want to jump right in and try to get the cat tightly regulated as quickly as possible.

Keep in mind too that Boris is still building his shed. There's a good chance that those low numbers were a one time deal on this dose, and that he'll need to work up to 1 unit or more. Then again, he might not. Cats. :roll:
 
ok - here's how I'll rationalize it :?
I'll wait till 9pm to shoot tonite ... and go with 0.75u

we'll be needing to fill the shed - and we missed the dose this AM and by 9pm tonite it will be 24 hours since he had insulin - does that make sense -

hmmm - sound good????
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top