9/18 & 9/19 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Very Active Member
PMPS Sep. 17 229 3.2 U

9/18 AMPS 398 3.2U
+4 305
+6 243
PMPS 240 3.2 U

9/19
AMPS 400 3.2U
+4 296
+6 270
PMPS 251 3.2U
 
I noticed the vet is looking at allergies. Wonder if that might explain his good reactions to a dose and then the more bizarre reactions? There is an interesting thread by Anyname on health, Angela, with Marilyn and Lana discussing allergies to food and other things. And the difficulty regulating the kitties. Might be worth a read...

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=52174
 
psssst, hay henry this iz bob. i olny haf a minit wyle my bean iz gettin anudder beir...
henry, wut the meow? the bess cullers iz bloo an grene - u no that! a few daze a go, u wur all gud cullers an now ugly red and pink? pink is for gurls, henry. big boyz liek us look bess in bloo and grene.
doan mak the mom bean worry allthetyme.
oh, got too go, hear cumz my dad bean.
'member henry- bloos and grenez!
sugar-free paw salutes!
bob
 
Hi all, Big Hen says thanx for the encouragement, Bob; mom gets all stressed over pinks and reds, she likes purty ocean colors like blue and green!
I don't know why his am numbers have increased Sue and Joanna.
Hes just finished the antibiotic and tested for ketones a few days ago. His appetite is good and he seems to feel well, playing a lot.
I will try to find that link on health about allergies and discuss with my vet. She probably is going to want to do a RAST test on him. I am wondering what I will feed him if he is that is low carb? My mother's cat had similar bumps she scratched around her ears and some hair loss on back of her ears ans she was allergic to a lot of things including eggs. The only proteins she wasn't allergic to were rabbit and chicken. She will not eat the food she is supposed to eat.
 
I was sent here to check out the situation because my cat has consistently higher AM numbers. But the spreadsheet is wayyy too confusing. :-| Any way to explain it in an easier to comprehend way?
 
Christina,
In this thread, Angela explains briefly why she shoots on a wonky schedule. If you look at Henry's SS, you will notice that his AMPS is always higher than his PMPS. It used to be an even bigger difference. So what she started doing is changing the time between his shots.

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=51226&p=551670#p551670


I think she left the AM shot at the normal time, but she started giving him his PM shot 2 hours later than normal. What that does is that it acts as a dose increase with respect to the next morning's shot. Henry is getting two shots only 10 hours apart instead of 12.
In theory, what that should do is push down his AMPS reading, which it has done. What is weird to me is that I would think that it would push him PMPS number "up", since there's 14 hours between his morning shot and his evening shot. But it doesn't seem to have done that. In fact, a few times, I think Angela has had to wait even longer to shoot at night because Henry is too low to shoot his regular dose. So it actually is working to lower both his AM and his PM numbers.

It's what you are thinking about doing, except instead of changing the amount of the insulin for each shot, she's just changing the timing of the shot. Either way, in theory, acts as a dose increase on the number you are trying to get a lower reading on.

Hope that helps. I'm sure Angela can explain it better than I did.

Carl
 
carlinsc said:
I think she left the AM shot at the normal time, but she started giving him his PM shot 2 hours later than normal. What that does is that it acts as a dose increase with respect to the next morning's shot. Henry is getting two shots only 10 hours apart instead of 12.
In theory, what that should do is push down his AMPS reading, which it has done. What is weird to me is that I would think that it would push him PMPS number "up", since there's 14 hours between his morning shot and his evening shot. But it doesn't seem to have done that. In fact, a few times, I think Angela has had to wait even longer to shoot at night because Henry is too low to shoot his regular dose. So it actually is working to lower both his AM and his PM numbers.

Just to clarify, the PM shot is at +14 so that's like a dose decrease for that shot, and the AM shot is around +10, so that's like a dose increase for that shot. I think that's what you are saying Carl, just in a different way.

I think a slightly higher PM dose relative to the AM dose might help bring down the AMPS. Since the PM shot is late and like a dose decrease, in theory it should take a higher dose to get the same nadir in the night cycle as in the day cycle.

It's a mystery to me why Henry doesn't rise more during the day and gets that 14 hour, or even longer sometimes, duration off the AM shot, while overnight he may stay in good numbers past nadir, but then is shooting up by +10. He's a mystery cat! It is really cool IMO how Angela has gotten better numbers by shifting the shot schedule that way, but frustrating that his numbers sometimes seem to be creeping up and he keeps needing a higher & higher dose to get the same results (what's UP with that anyway?!?).

I suggested the changes to the SS to make it clearer (guess that backfired, LOL). The times before the PS column are the time when she gave the shot (if I remember right what we did).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top