9/17 Nelli AMPS 233 +2.5 231 +8.5 140 +10 PMPS 94 +3 136

Good luck with the vet, hope all goes well.

Is it for the noise she's making after having her breakfast? sorry post was a bit cryptic for me.:confused:
 
Thanks Gill!
Not just the grinding... I can’t figure it out but she goes through this all of a sudden recently every time after she eats?
 
It looks as though something her mouth is bothering her, hope the vet can get a good look in there. I think it is wise for you to have a vet look at her especially if this is something that has started up recently.

Is she otherwise ok? eating normally?
 
It looks as though something her mouth is bothering her, hope the vet can get a good look in there. I think it is wise for you to have a vet look at her especially if this is something that has started up recently.

Is she otherwise ok? eating normally?
Otherwise... ok!?!
Eating normal. Activity...
 
@Gill & George Vet has given her injection of Valium so he can look deeper and more completely in mouth. Does not see any lesions though?
Dang... I “trust?” they will find cause.
 
Last edited:
I had a cat that did that...needed some teeth pulled. Good luck at the new vet!
That’s what I initially was thinking as well. Extraction. She does have stinky breath more so than usual lately. I have a second video which shows her sticking her tongue way out and really licking her lips constantly?
This one show sticking her tongue out as though she’s gagging?
 
This one show sticking her tongue out as though she’s gagging?

Yep, same here. He had an infection going on with the bad teeth. He never stopped eating which threw me off for a bit... on what was wrong. I thought he had something stuck in there but it was just the swelling, draining, soreness that made it feel funny I guess. Took him in, had the dental done and no issue after.
 
It is hard to tell, as they don't say they have a tooth ache and the changes in behaviour are sooooo subtle! Then you find out. My civvie just has a dental with 3 extractions...she is 6 years old, ate with gusto except every now and again. She had some gagging and throwing up. I thought hair balls. Nope...cavities and some had re absorbed. Felt terrible afterwards when I found out. We saw only one little cavity on physical.
 
Thanks for posting those videos. I hope it goes well and I hope they got some digital X-rays....did they do a dental while they had her anesthetized?

I’m sorry for her distress but she is so beautiful!!!!
 
Last edited:
Luci had some bad teeth last year - when we came home from Florida. Prior to that she had her tongue sticking out all the time...just a little. We had no idea she had bad teeth. The vet extracted 3 teeth...after that her tongue has never come/stayed out like that again. She couldn't tell us she had decaying teeth - and of course wouldn't let anyone look - until they put her under anesthesia. Cats won't say 'ahhhhhhh'....

Hope you get it figured out and treated. :bighug:
 
@Sue and Luci interesting to hear Luci tongue! Nell has been doing this too for last few days.
I had her senior (full on) blood panel taken at vet today in anticipation of her having dental work (obviously anesthesized).
They send it out (yeah!?!)- looking forward to the results!
Will post in SS when received ;)
 
Based upon this day, Nelli’s day today, I am wondering if I should shoot PM which comes up in 15minutes. For sure, I guess, it will have to do with her test number? I like to get prepared with her food and filled syringe before I test – would appreciate some advice if anyone would be available in the near future :-) thanks!
 
I would shoot, she's probably going to be high. If she has just been sedated, not full anesthesia, no reason not to feed and shoot. I used to do full shot after anesthesia, just small amounts of food over time, as full on anesthesia can impact the GI system and you don't want it coming back up.

Are you pretty sure she will eat?
 
I agree on both.
We have a dental appointment on 10/8 with Dr. Peak who she’s been to before (3+ years ago)... a DMV DAVDC.
I had blood drawn (least I was thinking!?!!) in anticipation for Dental procedure-
 
I would shoot, she's probably going to be high. If she has just been sedated, not full anesthesia, no reason not to feed and shoot. I used to do full shot after anesthesia, just small amounts of food over time, as full on anesthesia can impact the GI system and you don't want it coming back up.

Are you pretty sure she will eat?
@Wendy&Neko she ate at 4:30. Only fed about 3 tho of her food Rad Cat. She gobbled it up and... kept it down.
I am now going inside to let her out of jail (her carrier) test her feed her and shoot her as normal :-). Thanks
 
Krystina, are you working toward shooting Nelli at the same time - both a.m. and p.m. - I think I missed out on some of your threads (too busy for a while there)...and am uncertain as to why your shooting times are so different.
 
Oh boy, what a day. I agree that dental x-rays should have been done while she had some anesthesia.

Grinding of the teeth is one of the symptoms of a tooth ache. Bubba did it once with one of his bad teeth. But, he did not want to eat either........
 
I would shoot, she's probably going to be high. If she has just been sedated, not full anesthesia, no reason not to feed and shoot. I used to do full shot after anesthesia, just small amounts of food over time, as full on anesthesia can impact the GI system and you don't want it coming back up.

Are you pretty sure she will eat?
@Wendy&Neko she wasn’t high? Did not test high. Her SS reflected pretty darn low, lows after she got home from Vet which Caused me concern and worry about her going down further… It was suggested to me after first low number that I feed her a little to bring the number back up. You might not have see pan this reflected in SS as I was remiss on entering right away :(.
Oh what a day!
 
Oh boy, what a day. I agree that dental x-rays should have been done while she had some anesthesia.

Grinding of the teeth is one of the symptoms of a tooth ache. Bubba did it once with one of his bad teeth. But, he did not want to eat either........
@Bobbie And Bubba what a dang day... not over yet. Poor little girl, still “out in the Bahamas”- it seems like she was very anesthesia's up!!
What did I know at the time? I am not a vet and don’t think about not “just trusting them” or second-guessing their decisions :-(. Nellie has an appointment with a certified AVDC Vet on October 8 :):cat:. First dental appointment was with him 3 years ago :). Did have enough sense (!?!) to ask when she was at Vet today they do a blood work up. Necessary (obviously) before she is anesthesia for dental work...
Thanks for the shout out :), we :cat: appreciate it!
 
Krystina, are you working toward shooting Nelli at the same time - both a.m. and p.m. - I think I missed out on some of your threads (too busy for a while there)...and am uncertain as to why your shooting times are so different.
@Sue and Luci Nelli is now back on 12/12 schedule. She got a NS yesterday morning b/c we needed to get back on track-
 
If you shot at 5:53 a.m. and 6:39 p.m., then the PMPS column should say “94 @ 13” just because you were pretty close to an hour late with the shot. It would be really helpful to see that for each PS where you shoot late or early so we don’t have to take time to figure it out. :):)

Thank you :D:D:D
 
If you shot at 5:53 a.m. and 6:39 p.m., then the PMPS column should say “94 @ 13” just because you were pretty close to an hour late with the shot. It would be really helpful to see that for each PS where you shoot late or early so we don’t have to take time to figure it out. :):)

Thank you :D:D:D
Sorry. My bad.
 
I just viewed the video you posted. It looks like to me that she is trying to get food off a tooth that is bothering her. Oct. 8th can't come fast enough. I am so glad that she is eating without problems. If she stops eating, then she definitely has a toothache and call the vet and get seen ASAP!
 
Thanks Bobbie. It’s really weird this behavior after she eats with her mouth jesters. For example… Tonight when she ate dinner and two hours earlier when she ate a few tablespoons... she didn’t do it?! Which was out of the norm over past several meals?
I did much research before Nellie had her teeth cleaned, mouth examined - learned the importance of going to a dentist who anesthetizes the animals before dental work. Makes complete sense to me! This dentist is one of a handful in Florida who is certified by the American Veterinarian Dental College (AVDC)- unfortunately miles away from us,... the closest :-\ and first available appointment, 10/08
 
@Marje and Gracie recording exact time of PS... is important, I’m glad you see this ;):) thanks! And thanks for putting a column on our SS :bighug:
The reason this is important is because a late shot can act as a dose reduction and an early shot as a dose increase. If we are looking at her SS and see a BG that might concern us, it could be because of a late or early,shot thus our dosing advice might be different.

Since she was 50 mins late tonight, I just put +13 as most of us probably test ten minutes before we shoot anyway but call it on the hour.
 
Back
Top