9/17 CALI AMPS 400 , +2.75 313, +5.25 288, PMPS 267, +2.75 119

carlascalico

Member Since 2020
9/17 CALI AMPS 400
Bandits mom, Bhooma ADMIN. please look and SS. I increased dosage too 1 unit LANTUS but still BOUNCING. this is definitely a wild roller coaster ride. Husband and I are perplexed as that pancreas is a pain in the behind and our brains.
How is Bandit. You advise and support but seldom comment on your own baby.
 
She’s bouncing from the green last night. Her body isn’t used to normal bg so she will bounce until her body adjusts to normal bg. A bounce can take 4-6 cycles to clear but some cats take less time. It’s totally normal.

When you get a green you need to test again in an hour to make sure she’s not going even lower, especially in the first half of the cycle. She needs to be able to stay up for two hours or surfing to know it’s safe to stop testing. She very well could have gone under 50 last night as the green was at +3 and she likely had not hit nadir. Did you leave food out? You don’t want her to have a symptomatic hypo. Had she tested under 50 a reduction would be needed. Make sense?
 
Please look here as it shows an example of an active cycle which is what you had last night and enough information that will keep you busy reading for weeks. It’s a lot to absorb so read gradually and keep asking questions.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/
Thanks tiffmaxee for input. I did leave food and feed again 9/16 @ +7 but unsuccessful in retest. She went REAL feral on us, so I fed, stayed with her and gave her 0.005 ml BUP. So of course I got my bounce this AMPS 9/17. Will post updates
 
9/17 PMPS 267, +2.75 119 mini meal LC pate, will test again in active cycle to catch & try to preclude another big bounce. She seems to drop rapidly in front part of AMPS Cycle, then levels off, the rises to PMPS. repeats first part of PM cycle big drop [about 40-50 points/hr], then starts to level off before big up to next AM. before my reset in August 1, 2020, at 1 unit she was doing the rollercoaster bounces. still struggling to capture her right dosage consistently. She does seem to like those higher BG #s and takes a number of days/cycles for her body to settle in to a dose. Fortunately all other symptoms are OK [NO KETONES, good appetite but not ravenous, weight holding consistently, etc]. I will get full labs next month when a mobile veterinarian is scheduled at my home.
 
That’s a big drop from pmps to +2.75. Did you feed at +2?
You seem to have gone long periods without testing or did you just not enter data on your spreadsheet? We don’t do resets here. Were you getting advice from another group?
 
Back
Top