9/16 Tiggy PMPS 79 +1 79 + 2 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo
Playing at smack mommies feet again this morning. Had his breakfast now so hopefully will go for his morning snooze and give my toes a break!

OK so its been 4 days now at the same dose. Nadirs are under 100 but pre shots vary and can be under and over 200. So time to increase by 0.25IU tomorrow morning I think?

My question is regarding the protocol, there seems to be no info on holding the dose? Its just continually increase, or decrease if you get under 40/50. So even if his pre shots and nadirs go green, as long as he doesnt go under 50 I would keep increasing? In theory I could be going up and down 0.25IU every 3-5 days. Just want to be sure I am reading this right.

thanks!
 
Re: 9/16 Tiggy AMPS 274 dose question

First, when nadirs are largely under 200, you hold the dose for 5 days.

There is info on holding the dose in the TR for Lantus and Lev rendition of the protocol:
Phase 3: Holding the dose

Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.
 
Re: 9/16 Tiggy AMPS 274 dose question

Ok but on the forums version of the protocol it doesnt mention holding the dose. I want to be sure I am following that one, so is that intentional? ie the forums one says you keep increasing?
 
Re: 9/16 Tiggy AMPS 274 dose question

If your cat is consistently in normal numbers, you don't increase the dose. That may not be stated directly but it's the case. If a cat is in normal numbers for 7 days, the dose is reduced, not increased. Not all reductions occur when a cat's number drop below 50 (or 40 for a long term diabetic).
Reducing the dose:

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top