? 9/16 Phoenix +7 BG 260 , + 9 BG 63

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I really need some advice as to what to do. Phoenix's numbers have been great the last few days. However, I am having to monitor him almost every hour.

Yesterday morning at +3 his BG was 216. I checked his BG again at +6 and it was 83. I had to keep feeding him fancy feast mc and hc all day to keep his BG up. His numbers look great.

Last night, at 10 p.m., Phoenix's BG was 319 at +3. I went to bed but still set the alarm for 1:30 a.m. At that time +7 his BG was 260. I went back to bed and set the alarm again for 4:30 a.m. I got up and checked his BG again at that time +9 and his BG was 63. I have fed him another half can of fancy feast hc.

Now it is +10 and his BG is 84. I hope his BG stays up so I won't have to feed him again.

Phoenix is on an all meat diet but in all yesterday, I have had to feed him two and a half cans of fancy feast to keep his BG up. This is along with his regular meals. He does eat it all and has a great appetite.

I love his numbers but the constant monitoring and ear pricking concern me. I have an errand to run this afternoon but I am scared to leave him for very long because his BG drops so fast. Do you think Phoenix will gradually get used to these low numbers and level off? Also, Phoenix had pancreatititis in the past. Will the carbs in the fancy feast affect this?

I would really appreciate any advice you can give me. Thank you
 
Hi Susan,

Interestingly he seems to head up till +4 and then drops. Almost like he is on Levemir rather than Lantus.
If you find that you have to prop him up with MC and HC, would you like to try a 0.25U reduction and see if that can keep in good yet safe numbers?
 
Hi Susan,

Interestingly he seems to head up till +4 and then drops. Almost like he is on Levemir rather than Lantus.
If you find that you have to prop him up with MC and HC, would you like to try a 0.25U reduction and see if that can keep in good yet safe numbers?
Hello Bhooma,
Right now, I am considering holding Phoenix at this dose. Every time I have lowered his insulin in the past, he has shot right back up to the high 200 - 300 range. This is the very first time that Phoenix has stayed low.

If you think it would be okay to hold his current dose for 3 or 4 days, I am going to try it. It is terrifying to see him drop so low.

One of the reasons I would like to try and keep him low is the change in his behavior. Phoenix has been a lot more active and alert. While it is bad for my nerves, I believe it is good for him.

Let me know what you think. I will follow whatever advice you give me. By the way, did Bandit come down from her high numbers? As you can see, Phoenix did.
 
If you think it would be okay to hold his current dose for 3 or 4 days, I am going to try it. It is terrifying to see him drop so low.
He hasn't earned a reduction and it's okay if you have use the occasional MC & HC to keep them at a good dose. If you can monitor him, it's okay to hold.
If you find that you have to keep propping him up with higher carbs, it makes sense to reduce.
 
He hasn't earned a reduction and it's okay if you have use the occasional MC & HC to keep them at a good dose. If you can monitor him, it's okay to hold.
If you find that you have to keep propping him up with higher carbs, it makes sense to reduce.
Thank you Bhooma,
I will hold the dose for a few more days. If I have to keep giving him carbs, I will reduce his dose. Thank you for your excellent advice. I needed to make sure that I was doing the right thing. Have a nice evening!!
 
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I really need some advice as to what to do. Phoenix's numbers have been great the last few days. However, I am having to monitor him almost every hour.

Yesterday morning at +3 his BG was 216. I checked his BG again at +6 and it was 83. I had to keep feeding him fancy feast mc and hc all day to keep his BG up. His numbers look great.

Last night, at 10 p.m., Phoenix's BG was 319 at +3. I went to bed but still set the alarm for 1:30 a.m. At that time +7 his BG was 260. I went back to bed and set the alarm again for 4:30 a.m. I got up and checked his BG again at that time +9 and his BG was 63. I have fed him another half can of fancy feast hc.

Now it is +10 and his BG is 84. I hope his BG stays up so I won't have to feed him again.

Phoenix is on an all meat diet but in all yesterday, I have had to feed him two and a half cans of fancy feast to keep his BG up. This is along with his regular meals. He does eat it all and has a great appetite.

I love his numbers but the constant monitoring and ear pricking concern me. I have an errand to run this afternoon but I am scared to leave him for very long because his BG drops so fast. Do you think Phoenix will gradually get used to these low numbers and level off? Also, Phoenix had pancreatititis in the past. Will the carbs in the fancy feast affect this?

I would really appreciate any advice you can give me. Thank you
Levemir might be the thing to flatten him out.
 
Back
Top