9/15 Jean Luc pmps 498 +3.15 360

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79077#p854975

JL's AMPS is 70. I am holding and not sure what to do.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc AMPS 70 - need nelp

Ok Shannan. I'm back.

I can't stay online very long, so you need to take into account that there may not be anyone around to hang out with you this cycle when you decide what to do.

I suggest you stall until (+12.5), do NOT feed, re-test, and post the BG here, ok?

Please also remove the 911-Icon. You can keep the "Need Help" of course, and you can add a star-icon or a question-icon, but the 911 isn't really warranted because you're not in an emergency right now, ok? Thanks!

Jane

EDITED to add: This is your first green pre-shot. That's the reason I'm suggesting that you stall, withholding food, and wait to see if JL will give you a rising number. (If you can, have a quick refresher-read through the Sticky on Shooting/Handling Low Numbers, ok?) We want to catch the rise right when it starts (as the last insulin shot wears off). It's possible that JL is heading for a reduction, but we want to wait and see without affecting the cycle too much if we don't have to - given the lovely greens he had yesterday and the lack of bouncing in response (which is amazing!), we know JL is very capable of surprising us all, so you'll need to keep a close eye on him. :smile:
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc AMPS 70, +.25 66/68 - need help

Holding without food. JL doesn't seem to mind yet. His appetite has been greatly reduced. He does like the higher carb food like me.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc AMPS 70, +.25 66/68 - need help

snorton said:
Holding without food. JL doesn't seem to mind yet. His appetite has been greatly reduced. He does like the higher carb food like me.

:lol: Yes, the HC can be pretty tasty! How long until you've stalled for 30 minutes?

Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc AMPS 70, +.25 66/68 - need help

Alright. Then just post the (+12.5) BG here, ok?

Also, could you edit your subject line to read AMBG 70 - or (+12) 70 - since that 70 is not the actual pre-shot number? Thanks! I should have added that earlier, sorry I'm asking you to edit a second time!

Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc AMPS 70, +.25 66/68 - need help

Jane said:
Alright. Then just post the (+12.5) BG here, ok?

Also, could you edit your subject line to read AMBG 70 - or (+12) 70 - since that 70 is not the actual pre-shot number? Thanks! I should have added that earlier, sorry I'm asking you to edit a second time!

Jane

Ok, I see you posted the (+12.5). Still basically the same. I'd like to see a bit of a rise before you shoot (if you decide to do so), so I would re-test in about 20 minutes, alright?

Remember that you would have to shoot 12 hours after the upcoming shot - so if you cannot do that on account of your schedule (if, for instance, JL doesn't rise for another hour and a half and your shot schedule would shift by 2 hours or so), you do also have the option to skip. It's not ideal, but it's an option.

(Remember to edit your subject line as requested, please! Thanks!!)

Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12 70, +12.25 66/68 +12.5 71 need help

In lieu of skipping, can i give him 1/2 of the 1.75U. He is now at 81 @ 12.75.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12 70, +12.25 68 +12.5 71 12.75 81 need h

You *could* give him a token/BCS dose. I would still wait until (+13) to see if he makes it, say, into the 90s.

Even if you shoot a reduced dose this one time, it would still most likely be your lowest pre-shot so far, and may be your first *green* pre-shot. And since there's a good chance the once-off reduction may not affect *this* cycle, and there's a good chance JL will do what he has planned *regardless* of what you shoot *this* cycle, you may well see some excitement in the next few hours, meaning you'd still need to watch this cycle carefully.

Are you ok waiting until (+13) to see if he's risen enough? And would you be ok shooting, knowing there may not be anyone here with you? (I have to sign off in about half an hour and at the moment I don't see anyone else around. You have no data on shooting this low. So you should ONLY shoot if you're happy to handle this even if no one is around.)

Hugs
Jane

P.S. Hi Dale :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12 (70) +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) need help

Shannan, You shouldn't give 1/2 the dose, but the Big Chicken Shot option is to give 10% to 25% of the dose, and that won't save you from having to watch this current cycle carefully, but it might* protect the shed better than skipping (the jury's still out on that one).

I don't see enough of a rise to justify giving a shot right now if Jane felt you should stall when he was at 70. If you shoot at +13 or later will you be able to move your shot scheduled forward an hour or more?
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12 (70) +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) need help

Hi, Jane. It's 2:40 a.m. here, and I'm sorry, but I can't help Shannan shoot low. Otherwise, I'll be up all night. She might be dealing with low numbers at 5 am to 9 am my time!

Ann (and Maggie) gets up at 3:00 to shoot Maggie, I think, unless she has moved her shot time. Do you want me to try to contact her?
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12 (70) +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) need help

I can wait until +13. JL is doing fine. Just chillin' on his post.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12 (70) +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) need help

Ok Dale, no problem :smile: Thanks for popping in though. I can PM Ann/Maggie, thanks for that idea. IF Shannan decides to shoot, I'd feel better if there's someone around just in case.

Shannan, post the (+13) and we'll see where we are. Dale is right, a BCS/token dose wouldn't be half the current dose, but less (about a quarter, or even just 10% as Dale says). Whatever you decide, you'll have to keep your eye on this cycle. And IF you decide to shoot, you need to be aware that there may be no one around to help guide you.

Think it over and tell me what you think, ok?
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71) need help

9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71) skip this am. Will give him food and let him be for now. Let us see what happens. I may miss some jumps because I need more sleep.


Edited - He isn't very hungry this am. Glad I decided to skip. I don't think he will drop to low this way. May be high this pm, but we have been there before. By the way, he is now making the bathroom cabinets doors slam open and close. Is that revolt or celebration?

Thanks Jane, Dale, others ...
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71) need help

It's fine, Shannan. This is the safest option considering your current circumstance, and that makes it a justifiable choice. No worries.

I would get another test some time between now and what would then be (+14), though, to be safe and to have the data on what happens, and to know whether you need to keep testing this cycle, ok?

Many of us have skipped shots now and then, when we weren't data-ready! Don't feel too bad. JL is doing great! Barring another low-BG surprise at the next-pre-shot test, on account of this skipped shot you *can* go back to your regular shot time.

Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71)

Ok, but please test him at +14 at least. The shed might be enough for you to see him come down a little, right, Jane? If so, you'll need to watch him at least every hour or so until you think he's safe. Go ahead and post each number if you can.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71)

max&emmasmommie said:
Ok, but please test him at +14 at least. The shed might be enough for you to see him come down a little, right, Jane? If so, you'll need to watch him at least every hour or so until you think he's safe. Go ahead and post each number if you can.

Absolutely, Dale!
Jane
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71)

I have to go to bed! Shannan, good luck this morning. I think you made the right decision.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71)

Will do my best. JL banging around now. Not sure if you all saw my edit.

Have a great Saturday.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71)

Talk about kitties hearing their own tune and not us hoomans'! What are you doing, Jean Luc? @-)
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70)

+14 = 70
JL is now eating breakfast.. Good grief he is beating his own drums this am.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70)

Just to clarify a point... There is no "rule" for how much to reduce if you're giving a BCS dose. In many cases, it depends on how much insulin is in your current dose. (For example, if your current dose is 0.25u, you may end up giving a BCS dose of 0.1u.)
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.5 (71) +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70)

Wow...that was a beautiful surf! What did you decide to do after the +14?
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476)

He decided to bounce to 476 sometime between +14 and +17. Still did not eat all of breakfast.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476)

Good grief that's a heck of a bounce!! C'mon back down from there Jean Luc!
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476)

Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaang. That is a heck of a bounce!
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476)

He apparently does not like moderation. I am extremely frustrated.

It has been a tough few days.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476)

Sorry about the bounce there! It really looked like Jean Luc was going to surf away with those great greens. Hope he breaks the bounce soon.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476)

Shannan,
Did you retest that 476 to verify the bounce? That's huge. Did he finally decide to eat?
Carl
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +12.75(81) +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476)

He ate ~1/8 can ff turkey about 20 minutes ago. Tested again +19.5 =hi.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi

Wow. I don't know of anything you can do at this point other than ride it out until PMPS, unless you could totally rearrange your shot schedule. If you were to dose now, then this would be your new "normal" shot time for AMPS. And your new PMPS time would be 12 hours from now. I'm assuming that isn't a good option?

Carl
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi

You are correct not a good option. Guess I was a dumb hooooooooman this am. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi

I don't think you were dumb at all! Shooting into that low of a number isn't an easy thing. You had no way of knowing he was going to hit the spring board like that, especially after that beautiful surf. Don't be too hard on yourself.

I think the lowest I ever shot into was a 95 or so, and that was just .5 unit. Mostly likely I wouldn't have shot into that 70 either.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi

No Shannan, not the least bit "dumb" this morning. You did the right thing stalling, but JL didn't want to cooperate by rising, and I would have skipped too. The rate at which he climbed is unreal!
You're right, Jean Luc doesn't appear to like any sort of moderation, and your frustration is totally understandable. Yesterday's numbers were beautiful, and I didn't think "this" would happen, at least not that much and that quickly. The way he's acting today has to be due to the big swings. I'm not diabetic, so I have no idea what it feels like to go from really high to really low and back again, but it must mess them up and make them feel bad?
I'd give him (and yourself) a break, maybe test at +11 and PMPS to see what sort of numbers you get. Then climb back up on the horse at PMPS and put today in your "rearview mirror". Overall, yesterday was a good day.

Carl
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi

I guess the way to look at this is that it's good information for the next time.

With JL surfing and with the benefit of perfect hindsight, you could have shot. One of the things to always consider is that it takes as least an hour for Lantus onset to begin AND you will be feeding. Both of these factors may contribute to a rise in numbers. However, it's not a guarantee that numbers will go up.

The other factor that needs to be taken into consideration is your comfort level. If you weren't comfortable shooting this low, then you have to think about a BCS dose or skipping.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi

Thank you. I guess I was overly optimistic and removed the training wheels too soon!! JL apparently is more like me than I realize. I am the only person I know that can fall off my bike while standing still. Long, Long, story..... :shock:

Good thing. Only a few more hours until he has another ride.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi

I am the only person I know that can fall off my bike while standing still.
:lol: I saw a guy who it turned out was "DUI" do that at a red light on a motorcycle once. Forgot to put his foot down and just fell over. Glad he did, because he could have gotten really hurt or caused someone else to wreck. But watching him fall over? I thought it was funny as hell. :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi +23 h

JL is still in freak out mode. I knew he would be high so I tested with my Alphatrk for +23. It read 605. Gee whez

Was planning to give him 1.75. All ok with that? Don't see need to test again. This number is crazy wild.

Carl - no Dui here when I performed my circus act. It caused quite a stir with neighbor lady doing u-turn to inquire and DH vehemently declaring "get up, get up". I then got rewarded with very sore knees, legs, and then the pain relieving beverage.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi +23 h

Wellllllll, you should test. I know it's painful, though.

Just to recap so the next time this happens, and there will be a next time, you'll know what to look for as a means of guiding your decision making:
  • This morning, JL was well into an 8+ hour surf vs. an AMBG that was a dropping number.
  • Looking at his SS, he's seen quite a bit of red so it is pretty safe to say that his liver isn't used to being in normal numbers.
  • Taking the above two points into account along with his response to having seen some lower numbers, I think we can assume that JL is a bouncy kitty!
  • Always remember the data already in your SS -- when Lantus onset occurs for YOUR cat and when the nadir typically falls. Numbers are likely to rise until onset begins. You'll also be feeding and knowing what kind of food spike you get should also be a factor to consider.
  • Always get a +1 and +2 if you are shooting low. These numbers will give you some advance notice if it's going to be an active cycle.
  • Consider your comfort level and plans for the day if you are thinking about shooting low. Do you have supplies (i.e., strips and HC food)? Will you be home to monitor? If you stall, can your schedule accommodate being off schedule?
  • There is no "rule" about how much to shoot if you opt to give a BCS dose. A great deal depends on your cat and what the current dose is.
Also, remember there is information regarding handling low pre-shot numbers in the stickies. Since you shoot in the early hours of the AM, there aren't a lot of people around.

I forgot to add, if you are in a situation like this again, if your schedule allows, it's a good time to think about shooting early. An early shot when you're seeing a bounce like this will act like a dose increase and help the bounce to clear. However, if your schedule can't accommodate the early shot, then it won't work.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi +23 h

Sigh!! Ok then on poke.

JL just became a member of the clean plate club. He at 3/4 can ff turkey after his long afternoon nap. Food consumption does seem related to his BG (duh).
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc pmps 498

Uncle. Zing from Sienne. Pmps was 498. JL is full of surprises today.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc +13 (71) +14(70) +17 (476) +19.5 =hi +23 h

Hi Shannan.

I just dropped by to say hang in there!!

JR's showing you that ECID by bouncing like crazy. Admittedly-I'm a newbie, but I wouldn't have shot a 70 in a cat that does not have a regular cycle either! You would have no way of knowing that he was going to spring up that high after a skipped shot, especially if he wasn't eating much. Hindsight, now you have data for the future. You will be more prepared for when this happens again (because it will). So chalk it up to a learning experience. I agree with Carl, put this morning in your rearview mirror.

On another note, are you testing periodically for ketones? I use KetoDiastix or Ketostix to test urine samples. I don't want to sound like a broken record or lecturer, but thought I'd throw it out there just in case.

Hoping for a better cycle for you and JR tonight!!!
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc pmps 498

snorton said:
Uncle. Zing from Sienne. Pmps was 498. JL is full of surprises today.

Well, 498 is better than six-oh-something. ;-)

Hope the bounce clears quickly,

Carl
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc pmps 498

Me too. I think I deserve a nap time like JL. He gets room service, full belly, and now the zzzzzz's. What a life!
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc pmps 498

What I should have added to my summary is that when you got that first number indicating a BIG bounce, if your schedule would have permitted, you could have shot.

Sometimes, people will note that if it's past +2, you should just skip. The only reason for that observation is that most people's schedule will not allow for being too far off their usual shot time.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc pmps 498

Thank you and no worries. My weekday schedule is pretty strict so I didn't feel I could change it whatever I decided. He is now at 360. A nice drop for +3 and such a crazy day.
 
Re: 9/15 Jean Luc pmps 498

Thank you and no worries. My weekday schedule is pretty strict so I didn't feel I could change it whatever I decided. He is now at 360. A nice drop for +3 and such a crazy day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top