9/15 ~~Harley PMPS 294

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Got up early to get some extra stuff done and caught my boy in the litter box. Ketone stick came out a trace. Don't know if they are real or fake but I am not taking the chance. It is back to gruel every hour to get him to pee more.

He is acting fine, crying for food as usual but running around bugging his sister so I guess I should not be too worried. I will increase the dose to 7.75 this AM.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24922
 
Re: 9/15 ~~Harley AMPS 220

Number has come down nicely since +9 @300. Did shoot 7.75 and gave gruel (watered down cat food)for breakfast to see if he would pee again. I really wonder if these ketones are real. He has gone so long without them that I would hate to start this over again.

Pattie
 
Re: 9/15 ~~Harley AMPS 220

Wow, you really did get up at the crack of dawn. Hope you were able to get everything done that you needed to do.

AMPS is a nice number this morning.


Have a great day Patty and good luck w/the dose increase.
 
Re: 9/15 ~~Harley AMPS 220

glad you increased the dose. did your vet happen to say if there's any chance of getting a false positive when testing the blood (versus urine) for ketones?
one of those precision xtra meters that test for ketones in the blood would be handy if the results aren't skewed by steroid use.

i did a quick search looking for prices. you might be able to come up with a better price somewhere else.

walmart has the meter and 50 strips for $47: http://www.walmart.com/ip/14562318?sourceid=1500000000000007346330&ci_src=14110944&ci_sku=14562318
diabetes supplies 4 less - meter kit $12.99 http://www.diabetessupplies4less.com/5759998371.html
50 strips $19.99 http://www.diabetessupplies4less.com/9381599695.html

good thing harley likes gruel! the added water will help...
 
Re: 9/15 ~~Harley AMPS 220

I'd second Jill's suggestion for picking up a Precision Xtra. You might not want to use it for everyday testing -- I think the strips, especially the strips for testing ketones are pricey, but at a time like this where you're getting trace readings, having a more exact reading would be helpful.
 
Re: 9/15 ~~Harley AMPS 220

Beautiful AMPS Harley!!! When you get a moment, will you be able to update SS Pattie please.thank you...
have you gotten any more tests so far this morning?
Good luck with the new dose...try to see if he will eat a little every so often....hope you have a good day today...doing a great job :thumbup
 
Re: 9/15 ~~Harley AMPS 220

I just put in an order for the Precision Xtra. Should be here in 7 days. This should really help at these times. Ketones really send me over the edge.

Pattie
 
Re: 9/15 ~~Harley AMPS 220

I'm glad you decided to get that meter. I think you'll feel better having more accurate info. If you are going to be talking to your vet or the vet at the U, could you ask about if the trace ketones could be a false positive from the steroids? I also think if you know that the meds are a likely cause, it helps to have a better sense of what's going on especially since Harley's numbers aren't what you'd expect with a ketone reading.
 
Re: 9/15 ~~Harley AMPS 220

Harley and Pattie said:
I just put in an order for the Precision Xtra. Should be here in 7 days. This should really help at these times. Ketones really send me over the edge.
ketones are scary... especially when you've been thru DKA with your kitty. the meter should offer some peace of mind...
 
Re: 9/15 ~~Harley AMPS 220

I forgot to let you all know about the message I got from Harley's primary vet on the IAA test. I did not personally talk to her but she went on that the test would not give very good information and that she would look for a secondary cause for needing more insulin...i.e. IBD, pancreatic flareup,etc., or that I needed to do a curve to see if I was giving too much insulin. The message cut off before she said yes or no.

The vet tech just called and I told her that the vet message was cut off and I still did not get a clear answer. She checked the vet notes and said that the answer was no - not a necessary test and went into the above reasons. I then said that I would have to find another vet that would do the test. Vet tech immediately said that she would have the vet call me.....Interesting!
 
It has been an interesting day. First off, Harley’s bg seemed to do well on the 7.75. I know it is only 1 dose but I liked him staying in the 200’s. Looks like he is going up though. Don’t know about ketones though. I brought up the litter pans into my office so I could keep track and both Scooter and Laura used them with gusto. Harley on the other hand – nada.

If you read my post above, you know what I said to the vet tech about the test. Well, apparently she told the vet because I got a call from her a couple hours later. I made the point that although doing the IAA test and getting the results would not alter my care of Harley, it would give me the peace of mind as to what could be going on. It is also the ONLY test that has not been done on the guy. She agreed to do the test and it will be done next week, if the Health Department does not show up at one of my facilities.

So, a win for Harley.

Pattie
 
And a win for YOU too Pattie! Nice going! :thumbup
Very nice PMPS for Harley....it's so nice to see a different color, right? :mrgreen: A solid yellow cycle! yay!
Maybe some blues now Harley...(you know we won't be satisfied unless we see some blue, boy!) :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top