? 9/15 Callie's AMBG was 188 after missing 3 shots. Positive pancreatitis test. With her being so sick

Status
Not open for further replies.

Glennie

Member Since 2016
I'm not sure what to do. I always shoot 188, but with her BG staying fairly low with no insulin and being sick, I'm not sure. She did get Ondansetron and Cerenia and bupe this am.

I should get the call about pancreatitis test today. She still won't eat on her own, but I'm syringing 1/2 FF and 1/2 chicken bone broth in--just 15 cc so far, but hoping I can it a good feeding schedule going today with the meds helping.

So any thoughts on the insulin. I don't think I can handle a hypo today on top of everything else, but I also don't want to cause her any problems either.
 
Any ideas. I know I've hogged everyone's time with Callie this past week (or whenever something is going on here), but here I am again.
 
Tanya and Ducia, how much did you feed Ducia each day after her DKA? I'm trying to figure how much to syringe feed Callie. I don't want to blow up her tummy, but I want to feed her enough. She's only 7 1/2 lbs. now.
 
Vet did call with positive pancreatitis diagnosis. At least we know.
Knowing is a good first step. The recipe for treatment includes pain meds, antinausea meds, appy stimulant (maybe) and sometimes subQ fluids. It can take a while for an episode to subside. Upside is that there are many people here who have a lot of experience with it. :)
 
Vet did call with positive pancreatitis diagnosis. At least we know.
Did they run the SPEC FPL? If so, what was the number?

Gizmo's numbers were really strange with this last panc flare. At least he was eating but he was definitely in pain and feeling off. Take a look at his SS - starting around 09/07. He didn't have any peaks/lows hardly at all. He just stayed flat. He has done this a couple of times but this was by far the hardest panc flare in a looong time. Gizmo hasn't ever had DKA so from that aspect I can't help but I do think you need to give some insulin. I will defer to others and see what they say.

@tiffmaxee

ETA - Did they give you any appy stimulant? I would at least get it to have on hand (going into the weekend). If you can keep her from throwing up I would be inclined to give her a dose. Sometimes it is just getting them eating again that will help them turn the corner. Once she is eating - plenty of water in the food (think soup) - as much as she will tolerate.
 
Knowing is a good first step. The recipe for treatment includes, pain meds, antinausea meds, appy stimulant (maybe) and sometimes subQ fluids. It can take a while for an episode to subside. Upside is that there are many people here who have a lot of experience with it. :)[/QUOTE
Thanks, Kris. And I will be calling upon that expertise, I'm sure. :bighug:
 
I didn't get the tag but just dropped by and saw this. You want to make sure that you get more than 1/2 and ideally 3/4 of the normal amount of food into her to prevent fatty liver potential. The combo of ondansetron and cerenia should help the nausea but if after a day she still isn't eating on her own I would add an appetite stimulant. I prefer cyproheptadine which is a human medication that worked well for both of my Angels. Just a sliver worked but ECID. Others use mirtazapine which is a pet medication. Zyrtec original strength 1/3-1/4 a pill once or twice a day worked for Max as well. Pain might be causing inappetence too so you might want to see if buprenorphine helps and perhaps some sub-q fluids provided there aren't any heart issues. Gerbers baby food 2nd all meat worked for my cats even when cat food was turned down.

What test was given? I'm hoping the SpecfPL and not the SNAP. Whether really high or moderately I never found coincided with Max's symptoms.

Provivded you can get enough food into I would give at least a reduced dose unless you are too far off schedule or can't monitor closely.
 
Did they run the SPEC FPL? If so, what was the number?

Gizmo's numbers were really strange with this last panc flare. At least he was eating but he was definitely in pain and feeling off. Take a look at his SS - starting around 09/07. He didn't have any peaks/lows hardly at all. He just stayed flat. He has done this a couple of times but this was by far the hardest panc flare in a looong time. Gizmo hasn't ever had DKA so from that aspect I can't help but I do think you need to give some insulin. I will defer to others and see what they say.

@tiffmaxee

ETA - Did they give you any appy stimulant? I would at least get it to have on hand (going into the weekend). If you can keep her from throwing up I would be inclined to give her a dose. Sometimes it is just getting them eating again that will help them turn the corner. Once she is eating - plenty of water in the food (think soup) - as much as she will tolerate.
It's too bad he had such a bad flare. Hope he's much better. So you were dealing with a pancreatitis and the hurricane? Wow! Gizmo's numbers WERE flat. Glad he's never had DKA. Hoping we can stop that from happening with Callie.

I don't know if they ran the SPEC FPL. I'm sorry. He did say it was severe, but no actual numbers. I always forget to ask that. I am going to try to post blood lab panels when I can figure out where to post them on her SS.

I'm going to pick up the appy stimulant this afternoon. It's the one that everyone says to use the other one. Of course! I need to go back to read about it. I have to go pick up all the meds this afternoon. I am so thankful he's giving me what she needs. No vomiting today. So thankful! Thanks, Lizzie, for your input.
 
Last edited:
I didn't get the tag but just dropped by and saw this. You want to make sure that you get more than 1/2 and ideally 3/4 of the normal amount of food into her to prevent fatty liver potential. The combo of ondansetron and cerenia should help the nausea but if after a day she still isn't eating on her own I would add an appetite stimulant. I prefer cyproheptadine which is a human medication that worked well for both of my Angels. Just a sliver worked but ECID. Others use mirtazapine which is a pet medication. Zyrtec original strength 1/3-1/4 a pill once or twice a day worked for Max as well. Pain might be causing inappetence too so you might want to see if buprenorphine helps and perhaps some sub-q fluids provided there aren't any heart issues. Gerbers baby food 2nd all meat worked for my cats even when cat food was turned down.

What test was given? I'm hoping the SpecfPL and not the SNAP. Whether really high or moderately I never found coincided with Max's symptoms.

Provivded you can get enough food into I would give at least a reduced dose unless you are too far off schedule or can't monitor closely.

Thanks for popping in, Elise. I appreciate your input. I'm picking up meds this afternoon from the vet, but wouldn't you know the appy stim is the mirtazapine. I think I'm going to try Fortiflora first, but I need to get in gear on getting that. If I can't get it and she needs it (She obviously needs something) I'll go ahead and try the mirt as long as she's not vomiting. (Med list: Cerenia, Ondasetron, Mirtazapine, and Buprenorphine). Maybe if I write them enough I can learn how to say and spell them! Learning a whole new language here.

I haven't heard of Zyrtec being used on inappetance. That's interesting, and we have that on hand for the kids' allergies.

She is on buprenorphine. So I'm hoping that's making her more comfortable. She has had sub-q fluids twice in the past two days. None today yet, but I have gotten 50cc of soupy food into her so far today. She is so unhappy with me!!!! She won't get near the food on her own even the baby food or her very favorite treat, a tsp of canned milk. I'm using chicken bone broth with FF one feeding and then the liver shake for the next feeding and then alternating. I haven't tried the Gerber 2nd all meat food, but I'll get some of that. :bighug:

Her BG at what should have been +4 was 186. I decided not to shoot. I hope that was the right decision for her.

I don't know which test was done. Is the SPEC test not as accurate? Or what is the difference?

Thanks again! :bighug:
 
If you are getting mirtazapine, see if you can get it subdermal. That format is supposed to be much better st limiting any side effects. I hope it works for you.

The Snap test just says yes/no, the Spec gives a number.

I would have done at least a half dose. Neko only had short attacks and I gave full dose, just syringed higher % low carb food. You have to be careful you aren't giving her regular food via syringe, as some kitties develop an aversion to that. Offer her something to eat on her own that is completely different. I had a hepatic lipidosis foster go off chicken completely.
 
Sorry to hear about the pancreatitis diagnosis, but at least you know what you are dealing with. My GA kitty had chronic pancreatitis for at least 2 1/2 years...I had it diagnosed shortly after his FD diagnosis. His values were off the charts, but I was fortunate in that he only had a few episodes that required meds. Usually with the cerenia and bupe ( I used the injectable form) and a few times some SubQ he improved within a few days. A few times I had to syringe feed him for a short period ot time.I also gave him lots of home made chicken broth for extra fluids. Luckily he would lap up the chicken broth even when he wouldn't eat. I never had to use the appetite stimulants, but many other members have found them useful.

Sending healing energy for Callie and some :bighug::bighug: for you.
 
Ah, I am so sorry that Callie has P'titis and hope she is good as new soon and eats better for you. Have you tried sprinkling flortiFlora on her food to get her to eat? That stuff is like kitty crack and was the only way I got Bubba to eat his last GI episode.
 
I've been reading for years that Zyrtec works as an appy stim and had the opportunity to see for myself when Max was sneezing. It worked for him but maybe not quite as well as cyproheptadine did. Mirt was meowazpine for Tiffany so I never tried it for Max. I hope the meds help. :bighug:
 
Sorry - I hadn't noticed that you'd started a new thread, so I put my last comments in your previous one.

Mirtazapine was a wonder drug for Girlie. Getting her to eat at the beginning was a monumental task, but Mirtazapine (as a compounded liquid), was a game changer. She's not ravenous (unless she's diving), but she eats!

More healing vines and a funny pic for you to make you smile (channeling Beenie here): :bighug::bighug::bighug:

a good day.jpg
 
I have given Gizmo appy stimulants 3x's. First two were Mirtz, once in 2016 and once about a month ago. He gets real vocal on it and is super loving and purry and EATS. Those side affects last about 2 1/2 days and decrease in severity as the time progresses. I accidentally gave him Cyproheptadine (should have been Cerenia) and it really, really doped him up. He was pretty out of it. He was also a little feisty and also vocal on it too.

Both were pill form.

BTW Mirtazapine (Remeron) is a human drug. It is an anti-depressant. Very powerful and it made me very, very tired (sleeping 12-14 hours at a time) and very, very hungry. I was prescribed it for post partum depression. It is also prescribed for migraines in some cases.

If I have to give Gizmo appy stimulants again I will give the Mirtz. (JMO)
 
Sorry to hear about the pancreatitis diagnosis, but at least you know what you are dealing with. My GA kitty had chronic pancreatitis for at least 2 1/2 years...I had it diagnosed shortly after his FD diagnosis. His values were off the charts, but I was fortunate in that he only had a few episodes that required meds. Usually with the cerenia and bupe ( I used the injectable form) and a few times some SubQ he improved within a few days. A few times I had to syringe feed him for a short period ot time.I also gave him lots of home made chicken broth for extra fluids. Luckily he would lap up the chicken broth even when he wouldn't eat. I never had to use the appetite stimulants, but many other members have found them useful.

Sending healing energy for Callie and some :bighug::bighug: for you.

Thanks, Mary Ann. I'm sorry about it also, but as you said I know what I'm dealing with, and now I can get what I need for her.

We were having a pretty good day getting fluids down, but she vomited an hour ago. So feeling pretty discouraged now. So how sick was he for those 2 1/2 years? I'm thinking if she is this sick for a few more days she won't make it.
 
I have given Gizmo appy stimulants 3x's. First two were Mirtz, once in 2016 and once about a month ago. He gets real vocal on it and is super loving and purry and EATS. Those side affects last about 2 1/2 days and decrease in severity as the time progresses. I accidentally gave him Cyproheptadine (should have been Cerenia) and it really, really doped him up. He was pretty out of it. He was also a little feisty and also vocal on it too.

Both were pill form.

BTW Mirtazapine (Remeron) is a human drug. It is an anti-depressant. Very powerful and it made me very, very tired (sleeping 12-14 hours at a time) and very, very hungry. I was prescribed it for post partum depression. It is also prescribed for migraines in some cases.

If I have to give Gizmo appy stimulants again I will give the Mirtz. (JMO)

Lizzie, he gave me the pill form of mirtz so it's good to know it worked well for Gizmo. With her vomiting a bit ago, we will definitely be holding on that for a while. I would really like a Callie purr about now so that sounds good. Thanks! :bighug:
 
Sorry - I hadn't noticed that you'd started a new thread, so I put my last comments in your previous one.

Mirtazapine was a wonder drug for Girlie. Getting her to eat at the beginning was a monumental task, but Mirtazapine (as a compounded liquid), was a game changer. She's not ravenous (unless she's diving), but she eats!

More healing vines and a funny pic for you to make you smile (channeling Beenie here): :bighug::bighug::bighug:

View attachment 31034
Cute picture, Darrah, and so true!:bighug:
 
Ah, I am so sorry that Callie has P'titis and hope she is good as new soon and eats better for you. Have you tried sprinkling flortiFlora on her food to get her to eat? That stuff is like kitty crack and was the only way I got Bubba to eat his last GI episode.
Bobbie, I just ordered it this afternoon. It won't be here till Monday, but I have mirtz in the meantime. I won't give it to her though unless the vomiting is under control. She's a pretty sick little girl. Time for more meds though. Thanks for letting me know Bubba likes it so well! :bighug:
 
So how sick was he for those 2 1/2 years? I'm thinking if she is this sick for a few more days she won't make it.


In spite of his off the chart fPLI readings he only had about 4 serious pancreatic episodes and was able to recover back to eating on his own within 2-3 days with the cerenia, Bupe and fluids. He was a major food hog so if I saw him leaving even a morsel I was on high alert and would be ready to start treatment. One of the other approaches for pancreatitis is a short run of steroids such as prednisolone. Unfortunately my guy was a Cushing's kitty and I could not use any type of steroid even for a short time.
 
In spite of his off the chart fPLI readings he only had about 4 serious pancreatic episodes and was able to recover back to eating on his own within 2-3 days with the cerenia, Bupe and fluids. He was a major food hog so if I saw him leaving even a morsel I was on high alert and would be ready to start treatment. One of the other approaches for pancreatitis is a short run of steroids such as prednisolone. Unfortunately my guy was a Cushing's kitty and I could not use any type of steroid even for a short time.
Four serious episodes is still a lot though, and I'm glad for you that he recovered within those 2-3 days. It's so good you were aware and could start treatment early. Callie went too long being sick. Poor tiny thing is so pitiful right now. Thanks, Mary Ann! Hugs!
 
You did everything possible for her while you were waiting for the test results. Now you have a direction and can get a good treatment plan in place.

images
CALLIE


:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Mary Ann, for your encouraging words. I just hope and pray she can get recover from this.

The picture of the kitty is adorable. I'll bet that little one gets whatever he/she wants, huh?

I know what you mean about being so aware of a kitty's problems. Our Zeke had a problem with a plugged urethra. After the first time when I didn't have a clue as to what was wrong with him, I knew he was getting sick because his coat looked funny. He was such a cat! :bighug:
 
I can't stay up. I'm typing with one eye closed. Tagging @Wendy&Neko and @Yong for you.

Did you read the strip at exactly the right time? Most strips are usually 15 seconds. Do read the label to double check. I ask because ketone strips will darken with time.

Ketones are a result of not enough insulin (the BG numbers do not necessarily have to be high), not enough food, and an infection (or something else going on, as Callie does).

The link for ketone information is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/

If the test was accurate, put a call into the vet now. While you are waiting for the vet, get as much food and fluids into Callie as possible. Syringe feed soupy food. As much as Callie can tolerate. Ketones are life threatening and are difficult to treat at home. Ketoacidosis needs 24 hour veterinary care involving IV fluids.
 
I can't stay up. I'm typing with one eye closed. Tagging @Wendy&Neko and @Yong for you.

Did you read the strip at exactly the right time? Most strips are usually 15 seconds. Do read the label to double check. I ask because ketone strips will darken with time.

Ketones are a result of not enough insulin (the BG numbers do not necessarily have to be high), not enough food, and an infection (or something else going on, as Callie does).

The link for ketone information is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/

If the test was accurate, put a call into the vet now. While you are waiting for the vet, get as much food and fluids into Callie as possible. Syringe feed soupy food. As much as Callie can tolerate. Ketones are life threatening and are difficult to treat at home. Ketoacidosis needs 24 hour veterinary care involving IV fluids.
Yes, exactly 15 seconds. I couldn't get food down to give insulin. This morning I didn't give insulin because her BG was 188, and I wasn't sure if she'd keep the food down. I got about 90cc down today, but she vomited again tonight. Did give insulin but too late.
 
I agree...she needs to see a vet and get fluids. They need to check her electrolytes. This doesn't mean she has DKA...right now her ketones are elevated if you read the strip at the exact time.

Better to be safe than sorry but also remember we've seen many cases of DKA here and getting treatment right away has been integral to saving the kitty. Might be time to talk about a feeding tube as well.
 
Might be worthwhile to try and get some fluids in her until you can contact a Vet. You can try tuna water or unflavoured Pedialyte (few drops given every 10 minutes for an hour) or ice chips. *paws crossed* she isn't DKA. Let us know what the Vet says. :bighug:
 
Might be worthwhile to try and get some fluids in her until you can contact a Vet. You can try tuna water or unflavoured Pedialyte (few drops given every 10 minutes for an hour) or ice chips. *paws crossed* she isn't DKA. Let us know what the Vet says. :bighug:
Just remember you have to be careful about tuna water. The can might say "tuna in water" but check the actual ingredients. If it includes vegetable broth, avoid it as it has onions which can cause problems in cats.
 
I hope you check in and let us know how Callie is. Don't give up hope. Gizmo has had two really bad episodes. Both required hospitalization. The 2nd one I wasn't sure he was going to survive (pretty much where you are at right now). He did. And though he is still having flare ups I have managed to keep him eating and maintaining/gaining weight, and managing the pain and nausea and lots and lots of water in his food. :bighug::bighug:
 
I am so sad to say we had to get Callie put to sleep this morning. I can't believe it. It is so surreal that my sweet little girl is gone. I am heartbroken and totally devastated. The house feels empty without her even though we still have 5 kitties and 1 dog. She was always waiting for me when I was gone for even an hour, she was the one sleeping on our bedroom chair when we went to bed, and she was the one that came in for the nighttime loveys. I'm checking the clock to see if it's time for her shot. I keep looking for her and thinking I catch a glimpse of her, and I miss those eyes following me everywhere.

The pancreatitis was severe, and she developed DKA. She was suffering terribly. I've been going over and over things I could have done differently that would have made a difference for Callie. The anti-nausea meds did work off and on, but the mirtz didn't help at all. I guess it was too late for that. I was syringing food and fluids in (and thanks for all the suggestions. I tried them all, and I so appreciate you taking the time to post them.), but this morning when I tried to get close to her with a feeding syringe she started whimpering and crying. I couldn't stand it.

We were left with the option of doing a feeding tube, hospitalization, and IV fluids, and they didn't know if that would work. It came down to not being able to afford all of it. I hate that!
I feel like we let Callie down. She didn't deserve this, and I am so sorry.

I don't want this not working with Callie to discourage anyone else from trying for their kitty.

I want to tell everyone thank you for all your help and support. Because of you all I was able to have Callie for 9 more months, and while I needed that to be years and not months, it wasn't to be. But I am thankful for those 9 months.

I will try to write something about Callie when I can later so everyone can know what a special girl she was. I didn't do that when we were first on here, and I should have.

Also I have some supplies I would like to get to someone that has a need. I will post that stuff as soon as I can. Thanks again and hugs to all.
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry (((Glennie))) for your loss of your sweet Callie. She will be waiting to meet you at The Rainbow Bridge one day. That is very generous of you to donate her supplies.
Fly Free Beautiful Callie :rb_icon:
 
images
(((GLENNIE))


I am so so so sorry that Callie has crossed the Bridge. Please do not blame yourself...you did everything possible to give Callie time and quality. In the end you gave Callie the greatest but saddest gift of love any petparent can give and let her be free from pain and suffering.

I feel your pain and my heart breaks for you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

il_570xN.394947635_ilzc.jpg
 
{{{Glennie}}}

It is so hard to see our beloved pets suffering, but just as hard to release them from it. Callie will always be with you, watching over you from the Bridge.

Fly free, Sweet Callie, and land softly.
:rb_icon:
 
I'm so sad for you. It's never easy to lose one but especially hard when it happens so fast. You did all you could and gave her that last gift we never want to give. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top