9/14 Shadow PMPS 101 +2~88 +5~96 v+6.5~84

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79012

yesterday
AMPS 103
+2.5 88
+4.5 80
+8 83
PMPS 85
+2 53
+2.5 49 fed 1 Tb 5% friskies
+2.75 61
+3 65
+3.5 66
+4 76
+5 80 fed 5% meal with b12
+11 gave 7 pieces of purebites turkey snack
AMPS 104


Last nights shot was a huge struggle AGAIN! :shock:
She screeched and moved around and my DH had a difficult time holding her down.
I am not for certain I got all of the insulin in, did have that droplet on the needle as I pulled out.
Since we earned a reduction, it will be hard to say if I missed some of it or it's just the lower dose.
This morning, she started growling as usual and I got my dd to hold her front paws instead of her body. It went better that way.
Maybe it was the surprise of the change up and maybe she's overreacting to being held down.
I was also lucky and quick altho' there was a drop on the needle again.
Sienne said maybe Shadow knew she was going to drop and that may be why she's been getting uncooperative.
She usually eats while I do it but just growls at me. She 's been stopping the eating and just sitting there waiting to fight.


I've never had a cold come back and hit for a second time so I've either gotten something new , compounded by severe allergies
or my cold came back.
Very congested.
Meant to get my flu shot yesterday but I'm glad I didn't now because I usually get a touch of it after the shot.
I have a compromised immunity and catch everything so I avoid sick people as best I can.

I have to work again today for maybe 4 hrs.
Tomorrow we go to Albuquerque for haircuts and my birthday choice for lunch with fatherinlaw and wife.
I picked red lobster. Love the ultimate feast.
Trying not to be gone all day since Shadow won't use the feeder ( Mannie lessons??)
It's 1hour 45 minutes each way, hour for hair, at least an hour for lunch and there is always at least one errand stop so gone for 6 + hours.

I'm glad we got the reduction here before this trip.
Healing prayers for all who need them!

gonna lay back down for a bit. . .
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow AMPS 104

Hi guys .. pretty start to the day! Sorry to hear you are sick, again, poor thing can't catch a break! And happy birthday to you as well! Mocha struggled at shot times with us too, and I had to usually end up holding her against my chest, with her face over my shoulder and her side exposed so peter could put in the shot .. this was of course, after chasing her down .. every time .. ohmygod_smile have a great weekend!
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow AMPS 104

Morning Rhiannon ~O) ~O) ~O)

I am glad that the shot went a little but better this morning. What a hassle that must be when she fights you like that. Well, hopefully she will get over it, be more cooperative. paws crossed for you. I feel for those of you that struggle with this. Mannie is so cooperative that i feel very lucky!

WEARS he isn't giving "how to ignore the auto feeder" lessons. :lol: :lol: I'm not convinced.... I find it odd/interesting that he used it so well for a while, now he totally ignores it. What a hassle, as I had gotten it for the purpose of being able to feed while I was gone, without having the other kitty hear eat it all before it was time for Mannie to do so. Worked great (he hard it, made a beeline for it, gobbled it up).... for a while... OK Shadow - use your feeder!

I hope you feel better soon too. No fun not to. Enjoy your birthday lunch out - sounds really good!
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow AMPS 104

Hi Rhiannon, sorry you caught the cold, too, that's going around. I still have it, and it can rebound if we don't get enough rest and take care of ourselves, which is a hard thing to do with so many things to do. So sorry about the shot again, but glad DD was there to help. That's still a very nice AMPS even for not quite getting it all in her. l love Red Lobster aand have not been there in a while. Happy Birthday again for your celebration dinner. Feel better vines for you and scritches and calming vines to Shadow for her next shot.
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow AMPS 104

Get well soon Rhiannon. Hope you enjoy your birthday lunch tomorrow!
Nice to see Shadow doing so well with the bg numbers but sorry for the fight during the jab. She really hates the jabs? How about the pricking? I think our kitties are very smart to know what is going on. We can never out smart them to stab them with the needle when they are eating. I always let Rosy finish her meal, take her to a table & praise her. She will crouch down & let me do the jab. It is a bit painful but she will tolerate it because there is always a small treat to follow. That's also the reason why I never have any fur shot. ECID, try it out with Shadow, she might surprise you with how well she will put up with that little needle.
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow AMPS 104

Very lovely #s this morning! I'm sorry to hear that you're having a difficult time with getting a shot into her. I hope that she calms down enough for you to shoot without a problem. I also hope that you make a full and speedy recovery very soon.
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow AMPS 104 +3~88

I'm sorry to hear you're still sick. I hope you make a quick recovery. Hopefully you can figure out a way to give Shadow her shot where she quits fighting you. I know Furball hates to be restrained in any way. She will hiss and growl and bite if I try to hold her. Sometimes I wish we could read our kitties minds.
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow AMPS 104 +3~88 +5~93 PMPS 101

Shadow was hungrier tonite and therefore I was able to do the shot by myself. She still growled while eating but I managed.
Wish we could keep it this way. :YMSIGH:

Now if she can stay in the higher greens until tomorrow evening when I'm back home. ABQ tomorrow.
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow AMPS 104 +3~88 +5~93 PMPS 101

Hi Rhiannon:)

Pretty nice numbers considering the possible partial fur shot this morning. Sorry to hear that you're still not feeling well. Sending you get well vines so you have a nice time at your b-day dinner. Shadow, it's time for you to surf safely for your beans so they can enjoy a nice time out and about:)
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow PMPS 101 +2~88

Maybe she doesnt like too many peeps around her when shooting?? Try by yourself--I do Moonie alone she hates a crowd! Yes I did get your PM & am assessing it--Thanks for caring..cant do much right now..
Beautiful numbers tonite--Shadow is going in a good direction!!! WHOO HOOO!
Hugs & Love from us! Have a good Ni Ni!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TOMORROW!! I LOVE RED LOBSTER TOO-ULTIMATE FEAST ROCKS! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow PMPS 101 +2~88 +5~96

Shadow is doing beautifully on her reduction. I hope those great numbers continue.

Good luck on the shots. I sometimes put Neko on my lap and do her there. She eats too quickly for me to shoot while she is at the food bowl I wonder if Shadow is a cat that feels a sting from Lantus. As she gets smaller doses maybe it'll be easier.

Have fun in ABQ and hope that cold gets better soon.
 
Re: 9/14 Shadow PMPS 101 +2~88 +5~96

Shadow reacts from the second the needle goes in. I don't think the sting is it.
She's feeling the needle, and I check the bevel every time to make sure it's right.
I've decided she's just thin skinned all around. Needs lots of calm and no changes.
I 'll have to try some of the rescue remedy and see if it helps her.
Maybe if I put it on our dogs too, then she'll smell it on them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top