9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50 +2.5:86 +4:79

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56

Wow, you didn't even get a food bump up at +1. Glad Marje brought her sleeping bag! And glad you are such a pro with the testing - I know River is in good hands.
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56

I gave him 2 tsp. of MC at +1. And never fear, I plan to test and feed every hour or half hour, depending on whatever kind of ride we're on tonight.
He's right beside me and feeling good.

Marje, best wishes for Gracie's insulin. I'm still smiling about her disdain.
Amy, thank you for your confidence; I'll try to live up to it after my +10 goof-up.
Go Winnipeg!
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47

47 @ 1.5. I just gave him 2 tsp of HC.
He's looking and acting fine, so that's good.
I figured he needed a small HC intervention as the night she is young.
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47

See, this is the kind of cycle we were talking about when you were afraid you should have tried to let River go below 50 for a reduction a little while ago. When the cat is determined to have a reduction, it will show you!
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47

Amy, I was thinking exactly this as I was coming up the stairs with my latest course of cat tapas.
About your good advice on not going for a reduction too quickly, as that can backfire, but letting it happen naturally.
It's amazing how doing a few nights like this can help with attitude :-D

I have to scoot over and see how Papaya's doing.
Go Winnipeg!
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47

I'm doing the kitty tapas too - 18% carbs and she's still sliding down.

Bombers already lost 25 to 7, to Edmonton who had a 2-9 record :roll: Particularly painful since I used to be a Calgary girl and the Calgary line is that your two favorite teams are Calgary and whoever's playing Edmonton . . . but thanks anyways.

Keep the kitty tapas coming!
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50

Yeah, I have to, as he's only 50 at +2.
Did I mention that I'm from Calgary?
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50

Good job catching and feeding that +1.5. I'd lather rinse repeat after that +2.

Did you both know Gracie was born in Toronto? Yes, my LBG is a Canadian!
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50

I have yet to decrypt what LBG means, but I assume it stands for Love Bug. That suits her to a T!
The great thing about having a Canadian under your roof is that you get extra holidays: a different Thanksgiving, Boxing Day, Victoria Day...

I just fed another 2 tsp of HC and will definitely test at the .5 mark. It's too early to assume anything, and you see what my assumption of this afternoon got me.
So can I take off these patience pants now? They're really beginning to dig in all the wrong places.
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50

Funny-Cats-You-Forgot-to-Put-Pants-On-300x220.jpg
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50

I'm glad somebody cleared up that LBG thing, I've been wondering. I like the Love Bug idea though.

I should clarify - I'm Manitoba born, Calgary is my Dad's hometown but I lived there as an adult for quite a few years on my own, his family is all from Colorado . . . and Papaya is Taiwanese. I think that means we should get quite a few days off work party_cat

You've done very well in your patience pants, and see where it has gotten you? To a reduction you can feel sure about!
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50 +2.5:86

+2.5 and he's at 86, so I'm going to hold off on the feeding and test in an hour.
Something I like about being awake at this time is that I have an excuse to listen to The Signal on CBC Radio 2.

I like the Love Bug idea too, but Little Brown Girl is cool as well.
I call my cat Luciole Little Miss Bad, but that's because when Amy Winehouse died, her soul transmigrated into Luciole's body.

You definitely get whatever holidays you like, and Lunar New Year is the shizz.

So as far as a dose reduction goes, I'm giving 3 currently. Can I go to 2.5? Please say yes because I don't have a snowball's chance of getting the quarter unit right, and haven't been able to find decent calipers yet, and they sure won't materialize overnight, unless the Caliper Fairy drops by.
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50 +2.5:86

I think it's fine to wait an hour but remember that HC will wear off in probably less than two hours. You might see him come back down.

I wouldn't reduce by .5u. If you do and he fails the reduction, you'd only increase by .25u so you're going to have to draw that dose sooner or later. If you don't have calipers yet, practice counting drops.
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50 +2.5:86

What markings do your syringes have? Half-unit markings? I'm sure some of the doses we're giving may not be scientifically, accurately, down to the precise decimals we record them with, but you can usually find a way to decide on something consistent that you can shoot - like if you are doing 2.75, look at where 2.5 would be and try to pick a place between that and 3 for the so-called 2.75. Maybe it means that the top of the plunger is just the tiniest bit above the line for three, or whatever. When I decide something like that for a dose I make a little diagram and keep it handy for the first few times I shoot so I can remember what I'm doing.

I wouldn't go down by more than the 0.25 unit that the protocol calls for (unless someone else knows something I don't, which is very possible :lol: ) A tiny change in dose can make a big difference for a cat and if you drop it by 0.5 it really might not be enough insulin. Then you'll just have to go back up.
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50 +2.5:86

Thanks Marje, I am definitely planning on this still being early in the cycle. I just want to give him a break from eating every half hour, because he might really need to later.

Can I ask you to elaborate on counting drops, or is there anything you know of that I can read? Sorry to be so demanding, but I'd better get this right. Previously, I've skinnied up dosages by turning the plunger on the syringe like a screw, and easing a few drops out of the tip.

Amy, this is helpful. That's how I've eyeballed it up till now, so my conception of it is good. I believe in micro-dosing, even though I don't feel confident that I'm doing it properly. With the old way of doing things, which kept River sick all the time, my vet would have me increase or decrease by half units. That got us nowhere, so I'm truly game for whatever I can do to help him heal.
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50 +2.5:86

Lara

Yes...since we have a brief break, I'm going to grab dinner and then I will give you info on dosing by drops.
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50 +2.5:86

Congratulations on the reduction, Lara.
I know you wanted this.
I hope you can do the quarter unit!
You mentioned before you have eye issue and have trouble focusing.
Until you get calipers, how about asking someone who can eyeball quarter to do an example syringe of 2.75 unit with some colored liquid, and you use it to measure yours?
 
Re: 9/14 River PMPS:58 +1:56 +1.5:47 +2:50 +2.5:86

I figure about 12 drops per 1u. The calipers helped a lot with giving a consistent dose. You and River are doing a great job tonight (especially :-D ).
Liz
 
You're doing great! Hopefully you're past the scariest part since it looks like he often has a nadir around +4 if he's not clearing a bounce, but it's good to be vigilant for a while yet to be sure of what he's doing. Hopefully he'll surf in the 70s now. I was just looking at your spreadsheet exactly when that 79 popped into existence!
 
You go, Lara!!!! River seems to want your attention...like all night attention! Wishing you a no-drama evening and wishing River a fantastic surfing night!
 
Hey, having somebody else out there who is awake and doing this crazy poke-the-cat-feed-the-cat-repeat is a help. And thank you for the virtual borscht :-D
 
While everyone gets a different number of drops per unit, typically it's ten. So you want to draw up 1u and then slowly push the plunger until a drop forms on the bevel. When it starts to roll off the bevel, that's one drop. Try to get them consistent.
 
OK, Papaya is tucked in to bed and I think I'd better be too or I am not going to make any sense at all. Marje knows I'm signing off so I'm sure she'll check on you in a bit, but it seems like you have things under control anyway. Good job tonight, Lara!
 
Doing fine. 76 @ +6. A bit of LC, and then Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.
Thank you to everyone for your help and encouragement.

So for me trying to subtract1/4 of a unit, I'm going to draw 3 units, and then push out 3 drops.
That's how I am going to try to measure 2.75 u tomorrow - does that sound like a plan?

Thanks again everyone!
 
Also...remember if he bounces, you can shoot through the bounce in the morning and reduce tomorrow night. Or you can take the reduction in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top