9/14 Obie amps 425 , +6 416

Status
Not open for further replies.

Obie

Member Since 2014
He must have bounced after midnight.
I'll test him in +4 to see where he is at.
At least he had a good yesterday.
 
Re: 9/14 Obie amps 425.

Question? Should I lower him back to 1.5u? At 1.75u he is seeing tons of green, but bouncing like ball.
I'm afraid if I lower him he might stay high, but he wasn't doing all that shabby when he was at 1.5u the last time.
 
Re: 9/14 Obie amps 425.

That's a really good question - I think I asked the same one way back when! We definitely want our kitties to see green numbers; those are the numbers where healing takes place. Unfortunately, our kitties aren't used to those green numbers, so that causes all the bouncing. Over time, they'll become more accustomed to the green numbers, so they (hopefully) won't bounce as much. (If you'll look at my ss, you'll see that Jersey pretty much bounced all the way into remission. Darned ol' cat.)

I was always told that we want our kitties to earn their reductions, so don't reduce unless they go under 50. From the TR protocol:

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

There are always exceptions to that "rule," but I'm guessing the experienced users will tell you to hold the 1.75 dose for now. Let's see what they have to say.

Have a great day!
Shelly
 
Re: 9/14 Obie amps 425.

Just looked at your chart. You got him into remission in less than 4 months!
It's wierd that My Obie spends more time in Green than the Blue. Must be the speed of his drops.
 
Re: 9/14 Obie amps 425.

Yep - we were extremely fortunate. I actually don't "count" the time we had her on Humulin since we dosed so inconsistently then. It took about two months on Lantus before she went OTJ. I just wish we would have started her on TR immediately after her diagnosis in November rather than trying a (terrible) food change first based on the vet's advice. :YMSIGH: Hindsight is 20/20, right?

Some kitties seem to like bypassing blues. They're divers, instead. That, of course, tends to make the bouncing even worse. I really do think bouncing is the most difficult part of this dance; it was for me, anyway.
 
Re: 9/14 Obie amps 425.

i wouldn't reduce him in advance. Let him go below 50 and then reduce. Whenever i see people reduce in advance it seems to me that it just causes a set-back and then it takes the cat even longer to recover and get back into good numbers. You WANT the opportunity to come up to shoot his full dose into normal numbers - that's the path to OTJ. Here is a recent post about doing this and how to be prepared for it: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121668&p=1266813#p1266813 Read it now and psyche yourself up for it!

i can already see the difference in the cycles on Obie's ss when you've shot a lower number.

You shot that 112 last night and he spent at least 6 hours in green numbers.
You shot the 104 on 9/6 and he got at least 7 hours in greens.

That's the goal - long stretches of normal numbers provide the opportunity for his pancreas to heal and begin sputtering back to life. At least that's the goal if you're hoping for OTJ.
 
Re: 9/14 Obie amps 425.

Thank you for Answering my question. It took forever it seems to get him to start and end in the blue.
i hope it's a sign of things to come. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top