9/14- Lucky

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
I finally bumped back down to 1.2 from 1.3. I know it was suggested a couple of days ago but I just needed to make sure. After today, I'm pretty sure that it was the right thing. He spiked up at +6 and was lower at +12. It wasn't food because I always test him before he eats and I always test at least 2 hours after he has eaten.

AMPS: 401
+4: 248
+6: 275
+10: 370
PMPS: 344

He had a spike at +7 a couple of days ago and had a lower PMPS also. I know now that it does no good to go up so the only way to go is down, so we'll see if lowering the dose makes things better!
 
The mid cycle spike only really counts as a spike if it's dramatic - if your +6 is pink and then your +12 is blue, then something is wonky. If I'm seeing the same ones you are, where the difference is maybe 30 or 40 points and the numbers are all pink (so something around a 10% drop), that looks more flattish to me. If you are seeing really low numbers or really steep drops then I would keep an eye on it, but in the absense of those, it's probably not rebound.

If the lowered dose gets you blue and green numbers that is great, but if not, I would raise back up.

Honestly, his SS kind of makes you want to beat your head against the wall. You got some really nice numbers on 1u a while back, but then it evaporated into thin air. You've increased as far as 1.8 where you started to get some weirdness. The most recent good numbers look to me to be the recent 1.3s, but it's not super-great. I might try 1.4, but I'm not sure. I'm really starting to lean towards considering the Ls for a lot of cats, maybe it's just as much of a struggle, but it really seems like most peeps are struggling a lot to get good results with ProZinc. Well, I'm really tired right now, probably shouldn't be giving too much advice. :mrgreen:
 
I'm glad I'm not the only one wanting to beat my head against the wall when looking at his SS!!!

So, I shot 1.2 last night and then after reading your post and getting a 424 AMPS, I shot 1.4 this morning. The only time I ever get a +6 that is higher (even as little as 20 points) is when the dose seems too high. Maybe since his dental his insulin needs have changed and I just haven't gone low enough to see what happens? Anyway, here's what we've got so far today:

AMPS 424
+4 230
+6 251


So, we got a nice drop at +6, not quite 50%, but I'm just afraid the dose is too high. I've done the up, up, up thing with dose and it didn't work out so well, so maybe I need to try to go down some and hold it for 4 days or so and see what happens. I'm just at a loss. I want to at least find a darn dose that seems to work well!!! I might just go back to 1.2 and hold for awhile and see what happens.

I'm starting to doubt the ProZinc for Lucky but the Vet doesn't like to give Lantus, which is what I initially wanted. Oh and yes! I have noticed the really flat numbers with the higher doses. He'll either get a decent drop and they'll go flat or there won't be much of a drop at all and they'll stay flat. But all in all, very flat.
 
That test might prove to be a really good one to have.....it will be interesting to see if that is a spike that curves back down drastically at preshot. I think it was Joanna that told me, that a typical rebound pattern would have a spike in the +9 range--and then the preshot comes back down dramatically.

It will be interesting to see your preshot.
 
Well, ouch! Any chance it was a fur shot or he got into some food he shouldn't have or he has an infection? That is a pretty drastic early number for not a large change in dose, and one that has given you pretty decent numbers....
 
I wonder where he was at the +2 and +3 range---could there have been an early big drop before +4?
 
No, no food except for the food that I physically give him. After that, all food is taken up. I gave him FF Classic Beef at +6.5.

Infection? Not sure about that one. He just had a dental so surely it wouldn't be in his mouth. Other than that, I don't know?

No, no fur shot. I can feel the needle go in and then I feel his fur pretty good to make sure it's not wet at all. He's a short hair too, so that helps.

I'm thinking the dose was too high. I've been thinking that for awhile now but wanted to do a little test by shooting the 1.4 before dropping back down. His AMPS was so high, too :(


It's possible that there was a big drop before the +4 but there's just no way to know :sad:

I'll report back at his PMPS and go from there. It'll be in about 2 hours. I have a feeling I'll be going back to 1.2 and holding to see what we get with that but I want to get other opinions first.
 
Of course it doesn't help matters that it's starting to thunder, argh. He's been hiding downstairs all day anyway, what he used to do before he was diagnosed. I can tell he doesn't feel well. I may end up shooting a bit early. Maybe an hour. I'll check him first.

But yeah, the more I think about it, the more the 1.2 makes sense.

Sue, well, you know it's thundering, duh! It's been soooo yucky today.
 
kse said:
I think it was Joanna that told me, that a typical rebound pattern would have a spike in the +9 range--and then the preshot comes back down dramatically.

Yeah, I have said that, and now I've been away from the trenches so long I'm starting to wonder where I actually got that from & did I make it up? :oops: I know that's the rebound pattern - spike up after the low and then come down later, but I'm not sure the timing like that is necessarily textbook. A lot of times they just stay high into the next cycle. Well, I dunno. It seems like a rebound pattern to me.

:dizcat
 
Another quick update. I just checked him at 10.5 (2 hours since last check) and he's now at 386 from 484. Almost 100 point drop in 2 hours.

What to make of this? Can I confidently assume that the dose is too high?
 
In the 3 months that you and Lucky have been dancing, if there's one thing you have learned it is that you can't "confidently assume" anything when it comes to our sugarcats! ;-)
That said, it does look like rebound, and dropping to 1.2 would probably be a good plan. If he keeps dropping in the next hour or however long till shot time though, make sure he's rising before shooting.

Carl
 
Yes, too high! That is a typical rebound pattern---I would reduce. Glad you caught the high test at +8.5! Good Job!
 
You know, if you look at yesterday and look at today, the only test I was missing was the 8.5. I'm wondering if he didn't have the same thing happen on 1.3 yesterday, I just didn't see it because I didn't get that one test?

Well, his PMPS was 341 and I went ahead and shot 1.2. I'll get a +4 tonight, shoot 1.2 tomorrow and get more data during the day. I figure I'll hold the 1.2 for at least 5 days before thinking about changing anything. I've been so impatient up till now and I want to get this right. I think being patient and slow will get better results faster then freaking out and jumping all over the place lol Yeah, I admit it. haha

Thanks everyone....bear with me, I'm still learning :mrgreen:
 
Don't fret....We aren't going anywhere! We are all still learning!

Good Job today. Hopefully, the 1.2 will be a good dose. Be prepared for a couple of high flat cycles--that might not happen, but due to the probable rebound today it is very possible.

Hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top