Lisa & Leo
Member Since 2012
Hi all,
Yesterday's Condo
AMPS 486
+1.5 439
+3 371
+5 354
+10 423
PMPS 460
+5 358
Sorry I disappeared off the face of the planet for a few days. It's been a rough couple days and this is catching up with me emotionally and physically.
Leo has had bouts of diarrhea since he adopted us in January and got meds with his DX in early August. But that, and other symptoms, led the vet to suggest at the time he might also have EPI - Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency. The test and the treatment are expensive. Since several of the symptoms overlap with diabetes (including diarrhea secondarily according to her), we decided to delay testing to see if the symptoms cleared up with insulin treatment. The recurrent diarrhea has not. Nor have the delightful litterbox odors which (as my grandmother used to say) would knock a buzzard off a **** wagon. (Sorry for the language ... saying "sh*t" just takes the oomph out of the quote!) Classic midwestern USA.
As Sienne pointed out to me, I should get a B12/cobalamin test. He already gets B12 shots to help with the FIV, and which the vet suggested would help with the EPI if he had it. So he's been on B12 injections for 3 weeks. But I will ask about the other one.
Anyway, he goes for the test today, and also for some kitty xanax of some sort. He'll have to travel this weekend for at least 10-12 hours because I have no sitter yet for the weekend. Any advice on meds? I don't want him *out* or stupid. Just a step down on the anxiety scale.
More later. I doubt we get any results today, but he gets no insulin this morning nor any food until later. He's milling around on the table on my arms, between me and the computer, demanding his BG test and treat. :smile: Poor guy.
I also plan to raise his dose this evening. I'm still convinced the last reduction was a little too low, even though technically he earned it. He's settled into pinks and reds the last several cycles. So unless there are strong reasons I shouldn't, I'd like to do this.
Yesterday's Condo
AMPS 486
+1.5 439
+3 371
+5 354
+10 423
PMPS 460
+5 358
Sorry I disappeared off the face of the planet for a few days. It's been a rough couple days and this is catching up with me emotionally and physically.
Leo has had bouts of diarrhea since he adopted us in January and got meds with his DX in early August. But that, and other symptoms, led the vet to suggest at the time he might also have EPI - Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency. The test and the treatment are expensive. Since several of the symptoms overlap with diabetes (including diarrhea secondarily according to her), we decided to delay testing to see if the symptoms cleared up with insulin treatment. The recurrent diarrhea has not. Nor have the delightful litterbox odors which (as my grandmother used to say) would knock a buzzard off a **** wagon. (Sorry for the language ... saying "sh*t" just takes the oomph out of the quote!) Classic midwestern USA.
As Sienne pointed out to me, I should get a B12/cobalamin test. He already gets B12 shots to help with the FIV, and which the vet suggested would help with the EPI if he had it. So he's been on B12 injections for 3 weeks. But I will ask about the other one.
Anyway, he goes for the test today, and also for some kitty xanax of some sort. He'll have to travel this weekend for at least 10-12 hours because I have no sitter yet for the weekend. Any advice on meds? I don't want him *out* or stupid. Just a step down on the anxiety scale.
More later. I doubt we get any results today, but he gets no insulin this morning nor any food until later. He's milling around on the table on my arms, between me and the computer, demanding his BG test and treat. :smile: Poor guy.
I also plan to raise his dose this evening. I'm still convinced the last reduction was a little too low, even though technically he earned it. He's settled into pinks and reds the last several cycles. So unless there are strong reasons I shouldn't, I'd like to do this.