Rachel and Jasper
Member Since 2022
Jasper's numbers dropped quite a bit after PMPS and I am wondering how frequently I should get up to check his BG tonight?
Yes I will do that and report back.
As long as he eats even a tsp of food after each test that is enough to keep him going.@Bandit's Mom He only ate a little LC and now about 20 minutes later his BG is 83 at +3, what is my next best move, should I maybe do a little high carb too. I am worried ge has a pretty small appetite and won't eat much if any of what i give him.
This is on the AT, right? Will he eat a little more LC? If not try some MC.Its been 20 more minutes abd he is at 68.
Iit is now 68, I fed a couple tsp of high carb.As long as he eats even a tsp of food after each test that is enough to keep him going.
This is on the AT, right? Will he eat a little more LC? If not try some MC.
OK. What is your HC%? Let's see where he is at +4.Iit is now 68, I fed a couple tsp of high carb.
I honestly don't know what % it is, it is friskys chunky beef in gravy extra gravy. I'm sorry what is AT? He is at 87 at +4. Should I test again in half hour or an hour? I will definitely be up with him anyways.OK. What is your HC%? Let's see where he is at +4.
I tried looking for it but could not find it on the food list:I honestly don't know what % it is, it is friskys chunky beef in gravy extra gravy.
Alphatrak2 meterI'm sorry what is AT?
Get a +5. You want to ensure that he stays over 68 once the carbs have worn off.He is at 87 at +4. Should I test again in half hour or an hour? I will definitely be up with him anyways.
@Bandit's Mom his bg is 101 at +5 oh yes we use and Alpha Trak. Should I test again in an hour?I tried looking for it but could not find it on the food list:
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
Alphatrak2 meter
Get a +5. You want to ensure that he stays over 68 once the carbs have worn off.
Not necessary.Should I wake up at all during the night to check on him?
An autofeeder would make your life easier but only if Jasper will be the one to eat from it!I can het an autofeeder if that seems like the way to go.
He would have to drop below 68 on an AT to earn a reduction. However, it looks like he has flipped a switch to regulation and wants to head down the dosing ladder. Considering that he is dropping so soon after the reduction.Should I reduce his dose at all in the morning?
Then go ahead and take the reduction. Better to be safe. You can always go back up if needed.@Bandit's Mom It seems like he would have definitely dropped below 68 if I had not stepped in with the high carb food though , I mean he dropped to 68 so its litterally one more point. I am afraid this will happen again if i dont reduce the dose, its incredibly hard on me to stay up like this as I have a chronic illness and am currently pregnant so I would prefer to be cautious.
@Bandit's Mom Ok so I can reduce to 1.75 units? I just am having a prettyhard time staying up for all these tests and losing so much sleep. He did bounce some to 295 this morning and has eaten less than his normal breakfast probably because he ate at night.Then go ahead and take the reduction. Better to be safe. You can always go back up if needed.
@tiffmaxee Is it a better idea to just hold it then? I am just nervous the same thing will happen again tonight or tomorrow.The higher depot has been in play but should be gone now. If you can see if that’s the case I would try and hold the dose. If you feel better decreasing then do so.
Thank you I have been really struggling with the amount of sleep I am losing.Your health is important. Take the reduction. You can go up if it doesn’t hold.