9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3.5(41);+4.5(68);+5.5(102)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy-and-Cleo

Member Since 2012
Cleo Condo 9/3/12

I hate being one of those people who only shows up with drama, but here I am :(

Things had been going along fairly quietly in Cleo-land, with mostly low to moderate blues at a 1.75U BID dose, ever since a dose reduction was earned 9/3/12 at 2U BID, so I had been not posting, though I've been using my spreadsheet religiously.

The last couple days, Cleo's BG have been all over the place, seeing some 300s, which is not normal for her. Last weekend we were gone all day Sunday and her AM test was very low for her (113) and I didn't feel comfortable about shooting that number and leaving, so I skipped her shot. Predictably, she was quite high by the evening, but a shot brought her back down into normal range, with a little bobbling in the next few days. I thought we were past that, then we had these 300s out of nowhere the last couple days! The numbers creeping up this week had me thinking of going up to 1.75F, which I did this morning. Then, this evening her PMPS was only 125, but I went ahead and shot 1.75 (even, not a fat 1.75) and she's pretty low already at +3. I knew when I saw the +2 was already at 85 that she might have a roller coaster in mind for me tonight.

Oh, also important to know - we've been having a serious flea infestation, so on vet advice we did a tablet of Capstar with dinner tonight, as well as re-applying Frontline Plus (it was last administered 2 weeks ago). Vet indicated Capstar should not have an interaction with the insulin, nor should Frontline...

Hopefully that was all informative, and not just rambling!

Anyhow, here's where we're at:

PMPS: 125
+2: 85
+3: 49 - gave 1 tsp. HC food, will retest in 30 and keep a close eye on her in the meantime
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2 (85); +3 (49)

I knew someone was missing around here. :mrgreen:
Good you came back, drama or not.
Blues and greens are good, and it sounds like you are managing them.
Good catch.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2 (85); +3 (49)

Hi, Congrats on the 49. Are you okay? What is the hour/quarter hour you are on now? +3.5?
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41)

PMPS: 125
+2: 85
+3: 49 - gave 1 tsp. HC food, will retest in 30 and keep a close eye on her in the meantime
+3.5: 41 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food and 1 tsp. vanilla ice cream

My balls of steel are in storage today. She usually hits nadir around +4 or +5, so I'm pretty confident she's still falling. With being at 41 at +3.5, I want to get her up instead of having her continue to drop, so I gave some ice cream now, rather than hoping the HC was enough to do it. Prior experience has taught me I'm lucky if the HC can even keep her even, let alone bringing her up...

And I'm ok for the moment Dale -- hand holding and a saner brain/set of eyes is always welcome though. I know when Cleo drops low I get stressed!
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41)

We all feel the stress. Even those who have done it repeatedly say they get nervous.
It's just the nature of the dance.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41)

I'm here. Keep posting. You can control this, of course, with no problem, and you know that, but I'll hang out with you! :smile:
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41)

max&emmasmommie said:
I'm here. Keep posting. You can control this, of course, with no problem, and you know that, but I'll hang out with you! :smile:

Thanks! I'll be posting again in about 10-15 min, after Cleo's +4 test.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41)

Oh, incidentally - thoughts on if I should be testing/feeding every 20 min or every 30? I know in the past I've done every 20, per the stickied instructions, but I believe one of the more experienced people (can't recall who at the moment) said that was sort of being overly aggressive with the food, because the sticky is intended as a guideline if there's noone here to help you... thoughts?
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41)

I'm a believer in the 30 minute routine. You need to let the food catch up to the meter, or it's easy to overcarb and cut short the surf time, IMHO.
Carl
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41)

Hmm, on the one hand . . on the other hand . . . I don't know the answer and you said he's hard to bring up. So, I would error on the side of caution, and test every 20 min until he starts back up at least by 10 points, what do you say? I've heard that food doesn't really hit for 30 minutes, but you gave him ice cream, too. So, maybe you will see results faster, and if you don't see them by 20, let's face it, he's earned his reduction so it doesn't matter how fast you bring him up within reason.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41)

I think that depends on how well you know your cat esp how sensitive Cleo is sensitive to the carb fed. But always better safe than sorry.
I am not an experienced but can share my way of dealing with the "low":
My way is to do test every 30-45 min because Rosy is slow to response to the fuds. I am not generous with the HC when she's around 49; using mixed tsp HC gravy with her usual tsp LC. But when she dived to around 30, that will be more of 2 tsp HC w chunks & tspof LC. Seldom do I use honey or karo. Hope that gives you an idea.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41)

I'm with Dale - *test* every 20 minutes (which does *not* mean one has to carb him each time - I'm with Carl on that one: Let the food make its impact before re-loading) until Cleo's a bit further away from dipping into the 30s, especially since this is a kitty who can be reluctant to rise even with carbs.

HI KATHY!! How nice to see you posting, I was wondering how you've been doing :mrgreen:

(Hi Dale, Hi Carl, Hi Helen :-D)

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53)

PMPS: 125
+2: 85
+3: 49 - gave 1 tsp. HC food, will retest in 30 and keep a close eye on her in the meantime
+3.5: 41 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food and 1 tsp. vanilla ice cream
+4: 53 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food to make sure she stays in 50s and doesn't drop back down

Thanks for the input you guys! Happily she rose a little bit, either from the initial HC, or from the HC/ice cream combo. Since she's still in the low 50s, I went ahead and gave her another 1 tsp. of HC to make sure she stays above 50.

I'm going to stick with the 30 min testing interval for the moment, I think it's less stress on both of us, and she was up a little. If she's dropped again at the next test, I'll move up to testing every 20 min. If she's above 50 again on the next test I will stick with the 30 min interval and not give anymore HC food for the moment, but will probably give a little bit of her regular LC food to help her stay even. Sound reasonable?
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53)

Does ice cream hit fast? If so, I think the 53 is the hc you fed at +3 and the ice cream from +3.5.
Carl

(Hi Jane:-) )
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53)

Kathy-and-Cleo said:
PMPS: 125
+2: 85
+3: 49 - gave 1 tsp. HC food, will retest in 30 and keep a close eye on her in the meantime
+3.5: 41 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food and 1 tsp. vanilla ice cream
+4: 53 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food to make sure she stays in 50s and doesn't drop back down

Thanks for the input you guys! Happily she rose a little bit, either from the initial HC, or from the HC/ice cream combo. Since she's still in the low 50s, I went ahead and gave her another 1 tsp. of HC to make sure she stays above 50.

I'm going to stick with the 30 min testing interval for the moment, I think it's less stress on both of us, and she was up a little. If she's dropped again at the next test, I'll move up to testing every 20 min. If she's above 50 again on the next test I will stick with the 30 min interval and not give anymore HC food for the moment, but will probably give a little bit of her regular LC food to help her stay even. Sound reasonable?
Yes, I think that's reasonable:-)
Carl
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53)

@Dale - Yep, 1 tsp at a time, except the time I did food and ice cream - she got 1 tsp of each, so that was a 2 tsp total feeding.

@Jane - Hi! Sorry to be so absentee and thanks for the checkin!

@Carl - I'm not sure how fast ice cream hits, it's usually my big weapon in the arsenal - Cleo hates all the syrup/honey/karo I've tried, but she loooooves ice cream, so it's easier to get into her. The challenge is keeping her out of it rather than vice versa. My past experience has been once I pull out the ice cream, her BG will rise within 1 to 2 tests, so I think it's pretty quick acting, at least for Cleo.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53)

Super! Great that she's up above 50, and yes, I prefer to keep Max up there with LC if possible.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53)

Hi Kathy

Yes, your plan sounds good. You *could* have withheld that last carbs-bumper-upper to see if the 2 Cleo got previously would do enough to keep the BG in the 50s. For next time, when your BOS are back out of storage :lol:

You're doing great!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53);+4.

PMPS: 125
+2: 85
+3: 49 - gave 1 tsp. HC food, will retest in 30 and keep a close eye on her in the meantime
+3.5: 41 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food and 1 tsp. vanilla ice cream
+4: 53 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food to make sure she stays in 50s and doesn't drop back down
+4.5: 68 - giving 1 tsp. LC (regular food) to hopefully keep her stabilized at a nice, healthy green!

Yep, Jane, you were completely right! She probably didn't need that last bit of HC at +4. Oh well! Giving a little tsp. of LC now to keep her at around this level hopefully. I'll test again in an hour.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53);+4.

you've got lots more company now so I'll say goodnight.

Hope it's smooth sailing from here.
If i stayed up any longer, I'd have to go eat ice cream. :lol:
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53);+4.

rhiannon and shadow said:
you've got lots more company now so I'll say goodnight.

Hope it's smooth sailing from here.
If i stayed up any longer, I'd have to go eat ice cream. :lol:

You say that like it's a bad thing! Good night Rhiannon, and thanks for the help!
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53);+4.

Pretty close Dale - actually about 20 min from now (doing a +5.5 at 12:15 AM PST) since my 68 was at +4.5
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3(49);+3.5(41);+4(53);+4.

Ok, my cat is at 59, so I'll be up for a while longer, and I check in with you in about 20 minutes.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3.5(41);+4.5(68);+5.5(102

PMPS: 125
+2: 85
+3: 49 - gave 1 tsp. HC food, will retest in 30 and keep a close eye on her in the meantime
+3.5: 41 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food and 1 tsp. vanilla ice cream
+4: 53 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food to make sure she stays in 50s and doesn't drop back down
+4.5: 68 - giving 1 tsp. LC (regular food) to hopefully keep her stabilized at a nice, healthy green!
+5.5: 102

Well, at least she's good for a little bit, even if now rising too fast for what I'd like to see. I'll be staying up for a little while yet to make sure she doesn't go crashing down randomly....

Make it's this crazy heat Dale, what do you think?
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3.5(41);+4.5(68);+5.5(102

Bringing the numbers low? Could be. Are you suffering over there in O'side, too? Del Mar was beautiful today, and there was a cool breeze, but yeah, up here in Esc. it's stifling! I'm glad Cleo's in a safe range. I will go to bed when I see that Max is too at about 1:00 am, I hope.
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3.5(41);+4.5(68);+5.5(102

Kathy,
I think she's good. You could leave out some LC after the next test and catch some zzzzzzzz's I think.
Carl
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3.5(41);+4.5(68);+5.5(102

It was more than a bit warm here today for most of the day!! About 95ish here, luckily for me I'm at the top of a hill and get a good coastal breeze most days. It's cooled off enough outside that we have all the windows open now and it's pretty nice.

My husband works in Vista and it was 107 at his work today :shock: -- "only" 95 at mine in Carlsbad though!
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3.5(41);+4.5(68);+5.5(102

@Carl - Thanks! I'm feeling pretty secure. I'll probably try to get one more test off her before calling it a night.

Unfortunately, with her there's no such thing as "leave food out" - if food is taken out for her, it's gone in 60 seconds (just like a car thief...).
 
Re: 9/14 - Cleo - PMPS 125;+2(85);+3.5(41);+4.5(68);+5.5(102

PMPS: 125
+2: 85
+3: 49 - gave 1 tsp. HC food, will retest in 30 and keep a close eye on her in the meantime
+3.5: 41 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food and 1 tsp. vanilla ice cream
+4: 53 - gave another 1 tsp. HC food to make sure she stays in 50s and doesn't drop back down
+4.5: 68 - giving 1 tsp. LC (regular food) to hopefully keep her stabilized at a nice, healthy green!
+5.5: 102
+6.5: 111

I think we're past the danger zone for the night. I'm going to go catch some zzzz's. I bet they will not be hard to capture!

Now to decide if this earns a dose reduction to 1.5F or 1.5... I had only given one dose at 1.75F, so I'm just not sure... Happy to take input for the AM dose!

Thanks all for the encouragement, as always. This is really the MOST supportive group of people I could ever hope to find! You guys rock :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top