Kathy-and-Cleo
Member Since 2012
Cleo Condo 9/3/12
I hate being one of those people who only shows up with drama, but here I am
Things had been going along fairly quietly in Cleo-land, with mostly low to moderate blues at a 1.75U BID dose, ever since a dose reduction was earned 9/3/12 at 2U BID, so I had been not posting, though I've been using my spreadsheet religiously.
The last couple days, Cleo's BG have been all over the place, seeing some 300s, which is not normal for her. Last weekend we were gone all day Sunday and her AM test was very low for her (113) and I didn't feel comfortable about shooting that number and leaving, so I skipped her shot. Predictably, she was quite high by the evening, but a shot brought her back down into normal range, with a little bobbling in the next few days. I thought we were past that, then we had these 300s out of nowhere the last couple days! The numbers creeping up this week had me thinking of going up to 1.75F, which I did this morning. Then, this evening her PMPS was only 125, but I went ahead and shot 1.75 (even, not a fat 1.75) and she's pretty low already at +3. I knew when I saw the +2 was already at 85 that she might have a roller coaster in mind for me tonight.
Oh, also important to know - we've been having a serious flea infestation, so on vet advice we did a tablet of Capstar with dinner tonight, as well as re-applying Frontline Plus (it was last administered 2 weeks ago). Vet indicated Capstar should not have an interaction with the insulin, nor should Frontline...
Hopefully that was all informative, and not just rambling!
Anyhow, here's where we're at:
PMPS: 125
+2: 85
+3: 49 - gave 1 tsp. HC food, will retest in 30 and keep a close eye on her in the meantime
I hate being one of those people who only shows up with drama, but here I am
Things had been going along fairly quietly in Cleo-land, with mostly low to moderate blues at a 1.75U BID dose, ever since a dose reduction was earned 9/3/12 at 2U BID, so I had been not posting, though I've been using my spreadsheet religiously.
The last couple days, Cleo's BG have been all over the place, seeing some 300s, which is not normal for her. Last weekend we were gone all day Sunday and her AM test was very low for her (113) and I didn't feel comfortable about shooting that number and leaving, so I skipped her shot. Predictably, she was quite high by the evening, but a shot brought her back down into normal range, with a little bobbling in the next few days. I thought we were past that, then we had these 300s out of nowhere the last couple days! The numbers creeping up this week had me thinking of going up to 1.75F, which I did this morning. Then, this evening her PMPS was only 125, but I went ahead and shot 1.75 (even, not a fat 1.75) and she's pretty low already at +3. I knew when I saw the +2 was already at 85 that she might have a roller coaster in mind for me tonight.
Oh, also important to know - we've been having a serious flea infestation, so on vet advice we did a tablet of Capstar with dinner tonight, as well as re-applying Frontline Plus (it was last administered 2 weeks ago). Vet indicated Capstar should not have an interaction with the insulin, nor should Frontline...
Hopefully that was all informative, and not just rambling!
Anyhow, here's where we're at:
PMPS: 125
+2: 85
+3: 49 - gave 1 tsp. HC food, will retest in 30 and keep a close eye on her in the meantime