9/14 Charms AMPS 184, +2 163,+4 99, +5 71 ? dropping BG's

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

I have forgotten to add info about Charms behavior besides the BG , all that blah blah about my situation! Well Charms has been doing great, except for being extremely gassy. Not sure why. He can certainly clear the room! He has been doing all the five P's. Sniffs the new kitten , not interested in playing with him yet. When he hit that all time low of 31 the other night he was extremely frisky. Why is that? I thought that was dangerously low. It sure did get my adrenaline going! (especially since I slept through the alarm for the previous hour) and did not catch the drop sooner.

Question- last nights numbers PMPS 250, +2 165, +3.5 126 , +5 65, +6 80
When he hit 65 at +5 I gave him a TBS of friskies pate LC I think it is about 10% because I was not sure how low to let him go. He had a reduction a few shots ago, now today he is heading down. How low do I let him go if he continues to drop. What is the protocol for these situations. Do you let them drop to earn deductions or do you always try to prevent a drop at a certain point. I know deductions should not be made too close. Please give me some instructions so I know when to give him LC food, HC food etc... I know I have read about this before but for some reason I cannot figure out a game plan here. Thank You- Sam
 
Re: 9/14 Charms AMPS 184, +2 163,+4 99, +5 71 ? dropping BG'

Hi Sam, good to hear the Charms is feeling good, other than the digestive issues that is. What is he eating now? Is saw you fed him Friskies today but is that his normal. I seem to remember you were feeding Young Again ZC?

I would have given a couple tsp of LC at the 65, you don't want him full if you need to feed him later. Regarding deductions, we don't don't do them in back to back cycles or even within a few cycles of each other. It's probably been long enough now that if Charms wants a deduction, he should get it.

I would give MC if there was a fast drop early in the cycle but otherwise save it for under 50. You want to prevent a bounce from a fast drop. The 65 was late enough you could have gone to LC. A part of what carb food to use depends on how carb sensitive Charms is. Some people can just use higher carb LC (8%) and others need to go to HC to bring their cat up. So you will have to experiment and take notes on how much you fed and when in the cycle. Looks like the MC last night was a bit much. Did you feed his +5 today with LC? It's a good place to surf. The general guidelines is that you'd like the cat to spend as much time in healing numbers (50-120) as possible. Too much food or too high carb and you overshoot the mark. You also don't want to give to many carbs to prevent a reduction or you may end up with an overfull depot. And with a higher dose, that's not a place you want to be.
 
Re: 9/14 Charms AMPS 184, +2 163,+4 99, +5 71 ? dropping BG'

Hi Sam. My Ozy hit a 31 once...that was his number when I got up one morning when I hadn't tested all night... very scary. We overdosed him on karo/HC and had him above 100 in an hour. It was good to see that the numbers can come up that fast but a little less would have been better.

And, yes, he gets very frisky when his numbers are that low. I guess he just feels good.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/14 Charms AMPS 184, +2 163,+4 99, +5 71 ? dropping BG'

Thanks Wendy for the help! I want to make sure I understand everything but first I want to answer your questions.
Charms and all my cats are eating YA zero carb. They are all free feeding including Charms. I keep the dishes full at all times as advised by the staff at Young Again.
When I test and shoot I have to give Charms something special, so I use a fancy feast zero carb can - flaked shrimp, or kitten turkey . I cannot use the freeze dried chicken treats like so many others here do because Charms almost choked on a piece once. Very scary experience. I know I could wet it but once you have had an experience like that wetting it is still scary. I also try to have boiled chicken available, but everyone comes running for that and I run out fast!
I have a 16 yr old cat, Oliver that I supplement with friskies pates, so I always have those available too, and that is what I used last night when he was dropping. When Charms dropped to the 31, two nights ago, I used a fancy feast gravy lovers that I keep on hand for just such an emergency as you have all taught me to do.
Today I did not give him any LC, and at +6 he went up on his own to 91. Charms is extremely carb sensitive , so during the day I am comfortable not giving him anything but at night I panic because I am afraid I will fall asleep and miss a drop like I did the other night when he got to 31, I was able to bring it up easy but still scared the heck out of me. Last night I meant to test once more after he started to rise , but woke up at four in a panic. (I am a morning person not a night person!)

Now to make sure I understand the protocol, If Charms has just had a reduction , then I want to use LC (because he is so carb senstive) if I see he is dropping too low (into the 50's), otherwise if it has been a couple of cycles since he has had a reduction then I need to wait until he gets under 50 to give him LC so he can earn a reduction. Is that correct? And if he has just had a reduction but dropping too fast then, I can give him a one time half dose shot to reduce the depot.
Let me know if that sounds right. - Sam

Donaleen- thanks for dropping by , glad to know that I am not the only one catching a low BG by accident!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top